Customer Reviews for

The Bombshell Manual of Style

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    Fun & Fabulous Read.

    I loved The Bombshell Manual of Style, a completely fun book given to me by my bombshell friend. Like her, I totally related to the book and found it highly entertaining. The manual gives tips on style, beauty, travel, recipes, and basically the behavior of the fun-loving girl that truly enjoys being herself no matter what. It's for the girl who enjoys her life and her very essence seems to attract like a magnet all the things she truly desires. I've read it several times and each time I enjoy it even more. The Bombshell Manual of Style will help you find your inner and outer bombshell, best of all, to be you in all you do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    One of my favorite books

    I love The Bombshell Manual of Style. I have read it numerous times. When I read this book the first time, I looked around me and realized how much I had in common with it. I love old hollywood glamour and think it is also a way to escape the harshness of today's reality. I love bombshell style and that whole era, there is a beauty about it that is ethereal. It does not try to make you BE Marilyn or Lana, it simply lets you apply what you want to your life, a little bombshell glamour to make life a little rosier. Beautiful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Definately a Bombshell...

    Finally, a book that's written for the confident woman. Don't buy this expecting it to turn you into a bombshell, but rather, buy it for those little tweaks, or just for some simplistic reading. This book embraces women's feminity, and suggest combining it with complete confidence. Women of all ages can enjoy Stovar's wit and humor... especially in the tantrums section;) Two thumbs up :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    For Every Bombshell at Heart

    I was first struck by the similarities between myself and the various descriptions of bombshells. I believe in my dreams. I don't cultivate a blase attitude towards life. I owned quite a few of the perfumes and cosmetic items that were mentioned in the book. I own a lot of the books that the 'bombshell' owns. I also have had a dream for quite a while of going to the Madonna Inn at San Luis Obispo and staying in the Love Nest room! And most of all I'm intelligent. What I liked most about the book is that it is one of the few books to acknowledge the liberating power and power in general of a woman embracing her sexuality and sensuality. I have never felt quite right about the modern trend of encouraging women to have an unsexy, skin and bones pre-pubescent body, or discouraging women from showcasing any hint of sexuality at work by donning frigid suits and other attire. This book just echoed my sentiments! I loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    This book makes me happy . It is fun and all about bombshells .

    This book makes me happy . It is fun and all about bombshells . It doubles as a great coffee book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Epitome of Lovely.

    This is such a fun book.<BR/><BR/>I admit it's not for every woman, but maybe a small part of every woman, and bigger parts of most women. This book lets you embrace everything that is lovely, juicy, voluptuous, sassy, unique, mysterious, and WOMANLY about you. It's full of little tidbits about the bombshells before yourself, often those women that make you sigh when you see them on the silver screen. Chances are, if you want to read this book, you're already a bombshell, but this can give the developing bombshell some guidance and tips to make her life more fun, glamourous, and enjoyable. But what I love most of all about this book is that there is no black-and-white definition of a bombshell. This lovely book just encourages you to be YOU. No--it encourages you to REVEL in you.<BR/><BR/>For the slightly younger set, check out my recommendation to the left. This is, in my opinion, the equivalent to this book for young ladies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2005

    Embrace your inner bombshell!!

    What a great book for any overly feminine female. The world is in need of more high-maintenance, yet smart women who refuse to play down their inner bombshell and still gain respect...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2004

    A Supurb Book

    A wonderful book that goes into extreme detail about the bombshell life. It is one of my favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    Great Illustrations, But Disappointing Text

    This book would be great for old movie buffs as most of the content was devoted to a discussion of the roles that bombshells have played in the movies. I'm not sure what the publisher meant by 'fun and ever-so-practical little book,' because I found it to be neither. The illustrations are great so I'm thinking about cutting them out and putting them to better use.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    One of The Best Books I've Ever Read

    This was one of the most outstanding books I have ever read. I am a blonde bombshell myself, and it was great reading about the qualities that make me....well, me! It was so great to know that some people actually respect the intelligence of a bombshell as well as her looks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    Just a Bomb!

    I am a bombshell and love books that encourage and train in being femmy. This book was a huge letdown. I find it humorous that the book tells us not to follow in the shadow of others but then every lesson is based on a movie star. Do yourselves a favor girls and skip this book. If you want to be a bombshell, you are probably doing what it says to do already.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    The Bombshell's a hit!

    I loved it! A manual of tried-and-true tips for everyone who wants to be a little bit more Bombshell. Full of great fashion and style advice. It's fun to read and wonderfully illustrated with sexy watercolors, how adorable. The authors tell you how Brigitte Bardot , Marilyn Monroe, Dorothy Dandridge and other glamorous women got their va-va-va-voom and how you can, too. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Fantastic

    Who wouldn't want to be a better woman? Read this book and go from just wanting inner poise to making it a reality. A fantastic read for all women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1