Customer Reviews for

The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(146)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great as always

Another fabulous Scarpetta novel from the master. Highly recommended.

posted by 8447236 on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Not her besr

I have been a fan of her books but this one was a disappointment. The plot took forever to start and was very disconnected to the rest of the book. Think I will find another author to read instead of Cornwell for a while.

posted by BillRochMI on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Last book by Cornwell for me. I haven't read a book by Patricia

    Last book by Cornwell for me.
    I haven't read a book by Patricia Cornwell in some time, so I decided to take a chance on this one after reading the first few pages in the store. Boy was I wrong! Like several other reviews, I find the characters need a serious attitude adjustment, particularly Scarpetta. She is arrogant, self centered, and a few other adjectives I would prefer not to include. I don't understand why she continues to put up with Marino either. Maybe they are made for each other? I was so disappointed and even bored with this book, I quit reading half wal thru. Maybe when I have nothing else to read I'll pick it back up. Don't waste your money.

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Awful.

    I actually despise these characters now. Last Cornwell book for me.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    don't waste your money

    Very disappointing! I've been a PC fan since the beginning but her last book wasn't great and this was worse.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    The absolute worst

    Cornwell Entertainment must be a group of undiscovered wannabes now writing Ms. Cornwell's books in committee. I loved the Scarpetta series initially but from what I have read in the last few years I get the feeling that our dear Ms. Cornwell no longer does her own writing. The style is formulaic and the narrative line very disjointed, almost as if she were attempting to patch together the efforts of a number of different writers. The title is a misnomer as the dinosaur dig played a very minor role in the plot. The forensic aspects play a big part but do little to advance a thinly patched-together plot. I found it substantially less than riveting, easy to put down and a major disappointment. I will waste my money no longer buying Ms. Cornwell's books. She lacks the exciting and creative inspiration that served her so well in the past. This book is by far the worst she has written.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    The worst of the series....

    I have read all the Kay Svarpetta series. This was terrible and did not meet up to the others. Very disappointed

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    Kay Scarpetta seems weak and lost. There seemed to be pages of

    Kay Scarpetta seems weak and lost. There seemed to be pages of boring innocuous dialog that lead nowhere. The villain was introduced or I should say thrown in in the last 30 pages. A bit out of nowhere also. I will not be reading any other Patricia Cornwell books. Very disappointing! I miss the edgy early Scarpetta books! Couldn't put them down! I had to force myself to finish this book! Just a snooze!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Not one of her best

    The book was full of conversations that really added nothing to the story. It drug on and on then wrapped up quickly. I wouldn't recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    A big disappointment

    Having read many of her books I was really looking forward to this one. However I found it very drawn out and her story line is the "same ol" - This will be my last book about Dr Kay Scarpatta.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Not one of the best

    This book felt choppy and disoriented compared to other Scarpetta novels. Very little about solving a crime. More about the personalities of the characters. It is not something i would have spent money on if i had known. Hoping for better in the next novel..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Not worth the time

    It was very slow and disjointed, almost like the author was just putting in the time. Characters and conversations were unrealistic and boring. I kept wanting to yell at Kay to SAY something, don't just think! So disappointing, I probably won't buy another in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Not one of her better efforts

    I'm a disappointed diehard Cornwell fan with this book. Took a long time to develop was kind of hard to follow and pretty boring in general. I usually read one of her books in a few days and it actually took me 3 weeks to slug through this one. If you must read it, I'd wait for the paperback or better yet save your money and get it from the library!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    I love Patricia Cornwell but this was the worst book I think I h

    I love Patricia Cornwell but this was the worst book I think I have ever read.  I was really disappointed in it.  If there was a rating below one star then I would definitely give it .  I'm wondering if she is getting burned out.  Would not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Pastor

    ....u may kiss the bride.....or hu.mp her.......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I stopped reading this series several years ago, but I was looki

    I stopped reading this series several years ago, but I was looking for 1 more book on a trip to the Library, saw it and picked it up to see how it went. I wish I hadn't, I have read 125 pages that that is it for me. It doesn't flow, the continuing characters are awful , whine, and are bitter and nasty including Kay. I don't like any of them or care what happens to them. Please, retire them all and perhaps Ms. Cornwell should retire as well. Like others, I am wondering if she is really writing any of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Another disappointment.  Starting with Port Mortuary her books a

    Another disappointment.  Starting with Port Mortuary her books are no longer the exciting, interesting stories that I looked forward to.  Those five star rating had to come from her publicist.  It is so disappointing but perhaps Cromwell's recent civil court case took something out of her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    This may well be my last Cornwell book. The storyline is boring

    This may well be my last Cornwell book. The storyline is boring and expected, not much of a surprise in it. It is like 5 different people wrote parts and cobbled them together for the ending. Still haven't figured out what the dinosaur dig had to do with anything else. She makes Scarpetta sound like a narcissist, talking about her bone structure and how intelligent she is. If you look at the reviews, most of the 5 star reviews are bogus. I am extremely disappointed in Cornwell. Hopefully she will read the reviews and listen to her fans and get back to her early style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Not her best work

    This will probably be the last Cornwell book that I buy. The last two have struggled to hold my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2