Customer Reviews for

The Bone Bed (Kay Scarpetta Series #20)

Average Rating 3.5
( 315 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(32)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great as always

Another fabulous Scarpetta novel from the master. Highly recommended.

posted by 8447236 on October 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Not her besr

I have been a fan of her books but this one was a disappointment. The plot took forever to start and was very disconnected to the rest of the book. Think I will find another author to read instead of Cornwell for a while.

posted by BillRochMI on October 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    I have always liked Patricia Cornwell's books. I have been disap

    I have always liked Patricia Cornwell's books. I have been disappointed in her last two books. The storyline doesn't seem to stay on track making it very difficult to figure out where she is trying to lead us in her book. There has been too much focus on Kay Scarpetta's niece "Lucy" and all the insight into her personality which distracts from the storyline tremendously. I could not concentrate on the story and all the peices didn't fit well for me. The Bone Bed storyline didn't flow together. I am wondering if Kay Scarpetta needs to take a leave of absence for awhile. The characters didn't seem to be "working together" in this mystery thriller and there was too much focus in their own individual problems. I

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Very disappointing..her last book wasn't that good either..it&qu

    Very disappointing..her last book wasn't that good either..it"s like someone else is writing the Kay Scarpetta series now...

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Not that good

    A lot of words but not much going on. I love this series but really this one was not worth the money.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    I recently began this audiobook and am having a hard time listen

    I recently began this audiobook and am having a hard time listening to it. I have either read or listened to alot of Cornwell's book but am having a hard time with this one. It seems like there is alot of high school jealousy talk - it is taking forever to get to the plot! Will give it a couple more chapters, if doesn't get any better, back to the library it goes!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Not a Strong Effort

    This book seemed like it was written in a hurry. The Scarpetta character may be near the end of the run. Too many roles have to be explored and described, and the science is very broad ranging, and therefore a little monotaneous.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Kay

    Not the best book ever. i really would not recommend this if i were you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Very dissapointing

    I've always enjoyed these novels but the last few have such dark and negative undercurrents they are not enjoyable to read. The writing is unorganized and half the time you have to guess what is going on. Thoughts are left half finished and when everything is finally explained later in the book you have to back and read it again to figure it out. Marino is depresssing. Something is definitely missing here and I doubt I will be reading any future novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Same old, same old

    I had to force myself to finish this book. Seems like Ms. Cornwell is running out of ideas. There was too much explaining of established relationships and little of the intrigue that usually keeps me wanting to read. I won't be rushing out to get the next Scarpetta book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    So so.

    I've read all of the Scarpetta books and this one just didn't hold my interest like past books. This series is starting to get a little tired. I finally started to get into it about 150 pages in and did finish it, but found it to be completely forgettable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Last Cornwell

    Very difficult to read. Not up to past books. Disjointed. This was my last Cornwell book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Just okay.

    This book missed the mark. Long winded on things that were of no consequence and short on story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Not impressed

    Had trouble following the intermingling plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Not was good or fast moving as other Patricia Cornwell books.

    I have always loved the Kay Scarpetta books and I think I've read them all. This book, however, moves much more slowly with unnecessary description and far too much observation by Scarpetta about how men observe her and think about her. It seems a bit self absorbed which I don't recall in other books. The mystery is interesting but I found myself skipping over entire paragraphs of description and/or romantic
    feelings of virtual strangers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Who did the editing?

    Good story but desparately needed an editor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    couldnt stay awake while reading this soupy mess

    couldnt stay awake while reading this soupy mess

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Disappointed

    One of my least favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Rating "The Bone Bed"

    I thought the writing was very confusing. I couldn't tell the main purpose of the book and the who, what, and why of the dead body ended up boring me. The dead body is supposed to be an archeologist and yet there was really no story about any archeology.

    BarbaraSClaman,
    Disappointed Reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Zack

    Woe fail...?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I have been a Cornwell fan for years, but this book was very dis

    I have been a Cornwell fan for years, but this book was very disappointing. Very slow start to the plot which was vague at best. The whole book seemed disconnected from the plot and the characters. The issue with Marino was briefly touched on and little to no follow up through the rest of the book. Very poorly written - almost as if someone else wrote it. Again, very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I have real all the Kay Scarpetta mysteries and I have enjoyed m

    I have real all the Kay Scarpetta mysteries and I have enjoyed most of them .The bone bed is possibly the worst. Painfully long with the mystery taking about a third of the book to develop. Embarassing story line of Kay and Benton acting like jealous teenagers. Having followed Kay in this series. her naive behavior in the end is hard to believe. The explanation of the murderer's behavior is not satisfactorily given. And how the bone bed and the poor dead paleontologist figure in this story is beyond me. This is the last Cornwell book I purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2