Customer Reviews for

The Bone Season (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block

First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block some time out in your schedule right now to devour this novel. Please don't go in thinking you can just breeze through, skim, speed-read, or any other techniques you might use to quickly finish a book. The ...
First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block some time out in your schedule right now to devour this novel. Please don't go in thinking you can just breeze through, skim, speed-read, or any other techniques you might use to quickly finish a book. The Bone Season has maps, glossaries and appendices, people!

In all honesty, I started The Bone Season a couple of times, testing the water (if you will) before I dove right in. I had flashbacks to Mr. George R.R. Martin and a little series you might have heard of called A Song of Ice and Fire. With the memories of my near-obsession still fresh, I knew The Bone Season was destined to be just the same: a book where I would have to pay attention, and think, and learn new things and one that would invade my dreams.

As with A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1), The Bone Season is the first book of an intended series (a seven book series, actually) and as such, has the unique problem of having to familiarize the reader with the world, the characters and the situation quickly. Some may call this an info-dump, but there's really no way around it.

So, we are thrown into the world of Scion, voyants, mime-lords, and dreamwalkers with an alarming alacrity. But, don't let that put you off, Steph's Stackers, you have to put your head down, use your glossary (you'll thank me for that tip later) and go with the flow. Trust is key here, all will be explained and revealed, just go with it.

So, our heroine, Paige, is a dreamwalker, a type of voyant that can reach out into other people's mind over fairly long distances. Her talent (and those of many others) is forbidden by law and it's lights out for her if she is busted using it. Will this stop our plucky heroine? Um, no - what would the fun be in that?

Paige, at the start of the novel is working for an underground mob-like organization that uses her talent (and the various skills of others like her) to make friends and influence people in nefarious ways. She and her cohorts are like a gang of Mafioso Mind Control X-Men led by an unscrupulous Charles Xavier.

Mini-spoiler alert! This dysfunctional and magical home away from home doesn't last forever (you knew it wouldn't, right?) and through a slip-up, Paige is shanghaied to a different world that is considerably more dangerous than her previous one.

So, just when you had been studying the map and glossary and you were, like: "Cool, I've totally got this whole thing down." Um, no you don't. The party just starting, friends! We are introduced to a new cast of complex characters (Rephaim and Emin and more, oh my!) and Paige's very life (and the lives of her friends) is at stake at every turn. Drama? Danger? Intrigue? Yep. Yep. Yep.

It is in Paige's time at Oxford (yes, that Oxford, but...not really) that the pace of The Bone Season cranks up from an 7 out of 10 to an 11. Why has she been conscripted to this voyant army? Who is really the enemy? Is she a jerk just for participating? She hates her master on principle, but he seems pretty cool, but that makes her a jerk again, right? Is this all like M. Night Shyamalan's crazy movie, The Village, and the Emin are really just people with sticks making noises in the night?

At this point, the payoff for all of your earlier head-scratching comes in. Through a series of flashbacks, we learn more about Paige's previous life and more about the origin of her abilities. It is here that you can see the promise of the future installments. Many story threads are delicately teased out making you wanting to know more.

I don't want to ruin it for you, but let me just say that plots are hatched, friendships are betrayed, alliances are made and broken, battles (small and large) are fought, kisses are kissed and lessons are learned...in the most amazing way.

The Bone Season has all of the hallmarks of the start to a great series and will be buzzed about for many years to come.

posted by KimballSK on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

DNFed

I only read the sample.

Apparently, tons of blogs and everything else are saying how much they loved the book blahblah. I really can't understand why everyone loves this because, frankly, I'd rather be doing math than read this book, and it's not like I'm a math whizz ...
I only read the sample.

Apparently, tons of blogs and everything else are saying how much they loved the book blahblah. I really can't understand why everyone loves this because, frankly, I'd rather be doing math than read this book, and it's not like I'm a math whizz either. Actually, reading a sample of this book is a lot like doing a hard math problem, but at least with math it makes sense.

Sooo much of this book is so confusing, why even bother trying to figure it out when I really don't care? The story is way too random for me to care about. The only reason why I even tried is because of how hyped up it was -- even comparing the author to J.K. Rowling -- because, what? She has a seven book series? Because she's a British author? What? But it's not the author's fault that it was hyped up so much.

Anyway, I'm sure this will be a totally random review for most and that's fine with me. If you like it, cool with me. It's just not my kind of thing.

posted by 16956112 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    DNFed

    I only read the sample.

    Apparently, tons of blogs and everything else are saying how much they loved the book blahblah. I really can't understand why everyone loves this because, frankly, I'd rather be doing math than read this book, and it's not like I'm a math whizz either. Actually, reading a sample of this book is a lot like doing a hard math problem, but at least with math it makes sense.

    Sooo much of this book is so confusing, why even bother trying to figure it out when I really don't care? The story is way too random for me to care about. The only reason why I even tried is because of how hyped up it was -- even comparing the author to J.K. Rowling -- because, what? She has a seven book series? Because she's a British author? What? But it's not the author's fault that it was hyped up so much.

    Anyway, I'm sure this will be a totally random review for most and that's fine with me. If you like it, cool with me. It's just not my kind of thing.

    29 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block

    First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block some time out in your schedule right now to devour this novel. Please don't go in thinking you can just breeze through, skim, speed-read, or any other techniques you might use to quickly finish a book. The Bone Season has maps, glossaries and appendices, people!

    In all honesty, I started The Bone Season a couple of times, testing the water (if you will) before I dove right in. I had flashbacks to Mr. George R.R. Martin and a little series you might have heard of called A Song of Ice and Fire. With the memories of my near-obsession still fresh, I knew The Bone Season was destined to be just the same: a book where I would have to pay attention, and think, and learn new things and one that would invade my dreams.

    As with A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1), The Bone Season is the first book of an intended series (a seven book series, actually) and as such, has the unique problem of having to familiarize the reader with the world, the characters and the situation quickly. Some may call this an info-dump, but there's really no way around it.

    So, we are thrown into the world of Scion, voyants, mime-lords, and dreamwalkers with an alarming alacrity. But, don't let that put you off, Steph's Stackers, you have to put your head down, use your glossary (you'll thank me for that tip later) and go with the flow. Trust is key here, all will be explained and revealed, just go with it.

    So, our heroine, Paige, is a dreamwalker, a type of voyant that can reach out into other people's mind over fairly long distances. Her talent (and those of many others) is forbidden by law and it's lights out for her if she is busted using it. Will this stop our plucky heroine? Um, no - what would the fun be in that?

    Paige, at the start of the novel is working for an underground mob-like organization that uses her talent (and the various skills of others like her) to make friends and influence people in nefarious ways. She and her cohorts are like a gang of Mafioso Mind Control X-Men led by an unscrupulous Charles Xavier.

    Mini-spoiler alert! This dysfunctional and magical home away from home doesn't last forever (you knew it wouldn't, right?) and through a slip-up, Paige is shanghaied to a different world that is considerably more dangerous than her previous one.

    So, just when you had been studying the map and glossary and you were, like: "Cool, I've totally got this whole thing down." Um, no you don't. The party just starting, friends! We are introduced to a new cast of complex characters (Rephaim and Emin and more, oh my!) and Paige's very life (and the lives of her friends) is at stake at every turn. Drama? Danger? Intrigue? Yep. Yep. Yep.

    It is in Paige's time at Oxford (yes, that Oxford, but...not really) that the pace of The Bone Season cranks up from an 7 out of 10 to an 11. Why has she been conscripted to this voyant army? Who is really the enemy? Is she a jerk just for participating? She hates her master on principle, but he seems pretty cool, but that makes her a jerk again, right? Is this all like M. Night Shyamalan's crazy movie, The Village, and the Emin are really just people with sticks making noises in the night?

    At this point, the payoff for all of your earlier head-scratching comes in. Through a series of flashbacks, we learn more about Paige's previous life and more about the origin of her abilities. It is here that you can see the promise of the future installments. Many story threads are delicately teased out making you wanting to know more.

    I don't want to ruin it for you, but let me just say that plots are hatched, friendships are betrayed, alliances are made and broken, battles (small and large) are fought, kisses are kissed and lessons are learned...in the most amazing way.

    The Bone Season has all of the hallmarks of the start to a great series and will be buzzed about for many years to come.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2013

    Wonderful Addition to YA How do I begin? Let me start by saying

    Wonderful Addition to YA

    How do I begin? Let me start by saying that often times some of my favorite reads are the hardest to review and put down on paper (eh, paper/type/computer...you get it). Samantha Shannon has hit a home-run with her first published work of fiction, The Bone Season (Scion #1). This is the first in a seven book series that is set to debut Fall of 2013 and if the remaining books follow suit, this will be a knock-out series already with film rights optioned by The Imaginarium Studios, a film company led by Andy Serkis (The Lord of the Rings; The Hobbit) and Jonathan Cavendish (producer of Bridget Jones's Diary). Definitely a budding author and series to keep your eye on!

    While I do feel that The Bone Season started out a little slower than I typically like, Shannon definitely made up for any lost momentum in the second half. I could not put this book down. I absolutely fell in love with stubborn heroine, Paige and her actions and reactions all felt completely organic throughout the entire ride - and what a ride this was! Action packed! The novel played out like an on screen production and I can easily see this translating to the big screen. Shannon's writing style is fast-paced, the content is original and well thought out and her characters are well developed with plenty of depth. Of course, as the true master of dreamscapes, she has sprinkled in twists and gut wrenching turns and leaves you with an ending that has you wanting more...so much more! This is one of those reads that you really wish did not have to come to an end. This is one to put on your wish lists and watch out for!

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I won a signed ARC copy from Tor. At first, it was highly intimi

    I won a signed ARC copy from Tor. At first, it was highly intimidating. The size, the maps, the flowcharts, the glossary! Yes, the glossary!

    I started reading the first few chapters and felt very overwhelmed with the language. It used old street/gangster slang combined with made-up slang. In the beginning it made my head spin! I nearly stopped reading because of it. The glossary helped, yes. But having to reference it made it daunting, to say the least. But I got used to it, eventually. I still had to reference certain words, even towards the end, just to be sure I was correct. This did throw off the pacing, in my opinion.




    Shannon’s world building is in-depth, sucking you into the London underground, but drawing an alternative reality, one in which requires all the maps at the beginning in order to keep straight. I’ve always loved alternate history, and Shannon does well with this aspect. Yes, it’s in the future, but the history is different. Set in England 2059, which really isn’t all that distant, the past history of the nation/world is marginally different, but still incorporates certain historical points and people that we can relate to, so we are not too removed from the story.




    But the story…




    The story drew me in. The conflict, the emotion, the action. All of it left me craving more with each turn of the page. Getting inside Paige’s head, Shannon’s first person POV, was definitely worth it. She knows how to instill the necessary emotion in Paige and the reader, while keeping everyone else at a safe distance.




    Despite the complexity of the world and the language, I definitely would recommend giving this book a try. See for yourself.




    For me, I can’t wait to read more.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    Two to three chapters in I was sure that I would not like this book. I wasn't so much concerned about being able to grasp the different world and lingo, as I was about the subject matter itself: the spirit world. I hate stories about spirits and ghosts and general paranormal stuff. So I almost put the book down. THANK GOODNESS I DIDN'T! This friggin book takes a serious turn for the amazing after the first few chapters! It took me into world that I have never read of or imagined before. The whole spirit world/ghost subject matter I was concerned with in the beginning almost pretty much becomes secondary to the main world she creates. A world of beings and creatures I have never heard of anywhere else in literature. And THAT world is fricken fantastic! This author has a very great imagination and is very talented in putting that imagination to paper and making it come alive. It had it all! Great action, tension, suspense, and romance. I am definitely looking forward to the next book. And as far as the confusing lingo in the beginning, just stick with it. Everything comes together a few chapters in. All in all, I highly recommend this book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Great!

    This book is great I'd make sure you're over 15ish so you can truely undedstand it but this book is in my top ten now!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    LOVE

    This book is so amazing i love that its confusing it gets your mind thinking and i love that in a book. I cant wait for the other books to come out. Such a great read.,

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    If you can get past the lingo she uses and the vague background

    If you can get past the lingo she uses and the vague background on other characters, it's eventually explained. Main character is a little shallow, but I feel like she'll probably grow as the series progresses. I liked the idea and the world they live in, I just feel like it could have been explained better. I'll keep reading the series! There was quite a bit of action and I liked the way she writes. 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Over-Hyped. Lacks clarity.

    When I heard about the series and the comparisons to the legendary J.K.Rowling, I was outright thrilled, albeit slightly skeptical. Will a 21 year old be able to recreate magic the way J.K.Rowling is known to do so effortlessly? I bought the book and was really excited to find out. And I am sad to say I was terribly disappointed.

    Shannon does a very good job of maintaining a respectably fast pace throughout the book, but that is where the list of positives ends. Her world, although intricate, is extremely convoluted. The powers that she attributes to her characters seem to exist as a mere convenience, to generate action scenes when required and to be used to get them out of tough spots. Paige the protagonist seems silly at best, attracting trouble without any rhyme or reason for the most part (there is a scene where she almost gets a close friend killed just because she is too stubborn to obey the ruled of curfew). The concept of 'pick your battles' doesn't seem to apply to her because she is just that 'special' and 'gifted'. The hatred towards her keeper, who is nothing but kind and supportive, seems extremely forced and so does the romance.

    The unnecessary information dump throughout the book interferes with the smooth flow. Since we are comparing her to J.K Rowling, may I say that the Harry Potter world was equally, if not considerably more, complex. But we never had to deal with drowning in information that isn't even all that necessary for the current plot.

    There are scenes in the book that left me wanting to strangle Paige for her stupidity. During the best of times, she came across as an insubordinate, petulant child who wants things just because she wants them, and at the worst, she was the most selfishly irresponsible person to be the protagonist of such a novel. The inconsistencies in the main theme are staggering. Paige keeps whining about being a prisoner in Sheol-I while at the same time she admits that her old life was pretty much the same. She keeps talking about escaping without even considering the repercussions. Her mime-lord Jaxon is painted as the worst person ever but she somehow seems to love him and wants to protect him at all costs from the Rephs. And just when I am buying into the idea, she tries to escape to the mime lord's syndicate while there is a tracking device (that she knows of) implanted in her. I could keep going but it would take forever.

    We are also supposed to buy that the Rephs are the bad guys. I get it. They torture and enslave clairvoyants help them to keep the Emim at bay. But apparently the Emim entered the human world in the first place through a portal opened up by an excess of clairvoyant activity. So in that case, is it that evil of them to enlist the help of humans to keep the Emim from feeding on the flesh of the said humans? I don't like their ways, but I need a little more to completely hate their existence. Had Shannon structured the story around overthrowing the evil-queen Nashira instead of on just wanting to get everyone the heck out of there, It would have made a lot more sense.

    Shannon is undoubtedly talented and had there not been so much hype, I might not have been so harsh on her. She shows a lot of potential and this book could have been much better under a more responsible and less money-minded publisher, rushing in to cash in on her youth. She has six more books to help her grow and find her voice, but I'm afraid, I for one won't be embarking on that journey

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Must read

    I bought this book because of the comparison between this author and Rowling. I barely got through the first few chapters and seriously thought about giving up. I'm so glad I stuck with it. It turned out to be action packed and I found it very easy to slip into this different world. Looking forward to the next book un the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    I haven't completely finished, but I just though I'd pop by and

    I haven't completely finished, but I just though I'd pop by and say that my main problem with it is the style of writing. I find it very similar to that of many distopian YA books, but it feels vey impersonal, so I don't feel like a really KNOW the character. If I'm reading her inner dialogue I should be seeing more emotions beside the inner rage that comes along with all these types of heroine characters in these books.  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Solu I Solid book

    Gets slow at times though

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Half Way Through - will not finish

    Ugh! I fell for the hype! Cannot finish this book. It drags on and on...you get the picture. In theory, this book should have been right up my alley. I love sci-fi, futuristic stories.

    After spending 2 days trying to get into The Bone Season, I give up. Made it page 148 and that is all of my life that I am investing into this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I will admit that I haven't read many books this year, despite t

    I will admit that I haven't read many books this year, despite the fact that I was reading at least one book a week in 2012. I don't really know why, but it gets harder and harder to find a book that makes me want to sit down and read. As a 15 year old, there are so many other activities that attract my attention, and I normally end up doing anything but reading. After receiving a gift card for Christmas, however, I purchased my first book since reading The Shadow of the Wind last May and my love of reading has returned.

    Although the first few chapters were slow, it wasn't long before I was fully immersed in the plot. It really reminded me why I used to love reading; you experience emotions that you don't normally get the chance to experience. You become involved in conflicts that would never happen in our world today. You fall in love with not only the story, but the characters themselves. I desperately want to travel, to see the world and experience things that I haven't yet experienced, and this book gave me the brief (yet satisfying) opportunity to do so. 

    I am not going to write anything about what happens in this story, as I fear that I will give something away, however I will say that I would recommend The Bone Season to anyone that loves fantasy or science fiction (obviously) as it is an incredible story - once you get past the first few chapters. I am so happy that it is going to be made into a movie (I cannot wait to see Arcturus and Nick on screen), and that the second in the series is on it's way. This is definitely joining my list of favourites!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Rather than bog you down with a complete synopsis of this book I

    Rather than bog you down with a complete synopsis of this book I will merely tell you how much I truly enjoyed this read. I can safely say that as 2013 comes to an end The Bone Season was hands down my favorite book of the year. As much as I adored this book I will admit that after being about 50 pages into it I considered putting it aside and moving on to something else. I cannot express how happy I am that I kept reading. For anyone who is considering giving this book a chance, DO IT! The first 50 or so pages are confusing...like really confusing. But do not let that stop you! The plot will start coming together very soon, and the story that is waiting for you in the next 300+ pages will more than make up for those first few moments of confusion. This book has a wonderful mix of suspense, sci-fi, romance, fantasy, etc. I am waiting on pins and needles for the second installment in this seven book series to come out. So for any readers who are feeling weary based on the negative reviews, I encourage you to find out for yourself how amazing The Bone Season actually is! (For references sake I am a 27 year old female)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Overrated

    Highly overrated, cliche after cliche. Don,t fall for the hype that is the next Hunger Games, there is no comparison .

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A little confusing

    Since I only read a sneak preview, the story line seems pretty interesting, just a little confusing. Like being plopped down in the middle of a city, and trying to find your way out with street signs in a foreign language. So instead of easing your way into Paige's life story, you hit the ground running at a fast pace. Either you will like it a few pages in, or just give up because all the distractions and not enough explanations.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Terrible book!

    I hated the concept of this book. It also seems like the author just kept writing after the story should have stopped.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    What.

    I can not understand why this book would be compaired to the jK Rowling series I downloaed the sample, and have no desire to keep reading so glad it was a free sample!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Borderline Good not great Would have given 2.5 if possible

    Borderline Good not great
    Would have given 2.5 if possible

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8