Customer Reviews for

The Bone Season

Average Rating 4
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block

First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block some time out in your schedule right now to devour this novel. Please don't go in thinking you can just breeze through, skim, speed-read, or any other techniques you might use to quickly finish a book. The ...
First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block some time out in your schedule right now to devour this novel. Please don't go in thinking you can just breeze through, skim, speed-read, or any other techniques you might use to quickly finish a book. The Bone Season has maps, glossaries and appendices, people!

In all honesty, I started The Bone Season a couple of times, testing the water (if you will) before I dove right in. I had flashbacks to Mr. George R.R. Martin and a little series you might have heard of called A Song of Ice and Fire. With the memories of my near-obsession still fresh, I knew The Bone Season was destined to be just the same: a book where I would have to pay attention, and think, and learn new things and one that would invade my dreams.

As with A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1), The Bone Season is the first book of an intended series (a seven book series, actually) and as such, has the unique problem of having to familiarize the reader with the world, the characters and the situation quickly. Some may call this an info-dump, but there's really no way around it.

So, we are thrown into the world of Scion, voyants, mime-lords, and dreamwalkers with an alarming alacrity. But, don't let that put you off, Steph's Stackers, you have to put your head down, use your glossary (you'll thank me for that tip later) and go with the flow. Trust is key here, all will be explained and revealed, just go with it.

So, our heroine, Paige, is a dreamwalker, a type of voyant that can reach out into other people's mind over fairly long distances. Her talent (and those of many others) is forbidden by law and it's lights out for her if she is busted using it. Will this stop our plucky heroine? Um, no - what would the fun be in that?

Paige, at the start of the novel is working for an underground mob-like organization that uses her talent (and the various skills of others like her) to make friends and influence people in nefarious ways. She and her cohorts are like a gang of Mafioso Mind Control X-Men led by an unscrupulous Charles Xavier.

Mini-spoiler alert! This dysfunctional and magical home away from home doesn't last forever (you knew it wouldn't, right?) and through a slip-up, Paige is shanghaied to a different world that is considerably more dangerous than her previous one.

So, just when you had been studying the map and glossary and you were, like: "Cool, I've totally got this whole thing down." Um, no you don't. The party just starting, friends! We are introduced to a new cast of complex characters (Rephaim and Emin and more, oh my!) and Paige's very life (and the lives of her friends) is at stake at every turn. Drama? Danger? Intrigue? Yep. Yep. Yep.

It is in Paige's time at Oxford (yes, that Oxford, but...not really) that the pace of The Bone Season cranks up from an 7 out of 10 to an 11. Why has she been conscripted to this voyant army? Who is really the enemy? Is she a jerk just for participating? She hates her master on principle, but he seems pretty cool, but that makes her a jerk again, right? Is this all like M. Night Shyamalan's crazy movie, The Village, and the Emin are really just people with sticks making noises in the night?

At this point, the payoff for all of your earlier head-scratching comes in. Through a series of flashbacks, we learn more about Paige's previous life and more about the origin of her abilities. It is here that you can see the promise of the future installments. Many story threads are delicately teased out making you wanting to know more.

I don't want to ruin it for you, but let me just say that plots are hatched, friendships are betrayed, alliances are made and broken, battles (small and large) are fought, kisses are kissed and lessons are learned...in the most amazing way.

The Bone Season has all of the hallmarks of the start to a great series and will be buzzed about for many years to come.

posted by KimballSK on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

DNFed

I only read the sample.

Apparently, tons of blogs and everything else are saying how much they loved the book blahblah. I really can't understand why everyone loves this because, frankly, I'd rather be doing math than read this book, and it's not like I'm a math whizz ...
I only read the sample.

Apparently, tons of blogs and everything else are saying how much they loved the book blahblah. I really can't understand why everyone loves this because, frankly, I'd rather be doing math than read this book, and it's not like I'm a math whizz either. Actually, reading a sample of this book is a lot like doing a hard math problem, but at least with math it makes sense.

Sooo much of this book is so confusing, why even bother trying to figure it out when I really don't care? The story is way too random for me to care about. The only reason why I even tried is because of how hyped up it was -- even comparing the author to J.K. Rowling -- because, what? She has a seven book series? Because she's a British author? What? But it's not the author's fault that it was hyped up so much.

Anyway, I'm sure this will be a totally random review for most and that's fine with me. If you like it, cool with me. It's just not my kind of thing.

posted by 16956112 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block

    First off, The Bone Season takes commitment. Go ahead and block some time out in your schedule right now to devour this novel. Please don't go in thinking you can just breeze through, skim, speed-read, or any other techniques you might use to quickly finish a book. The Bone Season has maps, glossaries and appendices, people!

    In all honesty, I started The Bone Season a couple of times, testing the water (if you will) before I dove right in. I had flashbacks to Mr. George R.R. Martin and a little series you might have heard of called A Song of Ice and Fire. With the memories of my near-obsession still fresh, I knew The Bone Season was destined to be just the same: a book where I would have to pay attention, and think, and learn new things and one that would invade my dreams.

    As with A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1), The Bone Season is the first book of an intended series (a seven book series, actually) and as such, has the unique problem of having to familiarize the reader with the world, the characters and the situation quickly. Some may call this an info-dump, but there's really no way around it.

    So, we are thrown into the world of Scion, voyants, mime-lords, and dreamwalkers with an alarming alacrity. But, don't let that put you off, Steph's Stackers, you have to put your head down, use your glossary (you'll thank me for that tip later) and go with the flow. Trust is key here, all will be explained and revealed, just go with it.

    So, our heroine, Paige, is a dreamwalker, a type of voyant that can reach out into other people's mind over fairly long distances. Her talent (and those of many others) is forbidden by law and it's lights out for her if she is busted using it. Will this stop our plucky heroine? Um, no - what would the fun be in that?

    Paige, at the start of the novel is working for an underground mob-like organization that uses her talent (and the various skills of others like her) to make friends and influence people in nefarious ways. She and her cohorts are like a gang of Mafioso Mind Control X-Men led by an unscrupulous Charles Xavier.

    Mini-spoiler alert! This dysfunctional and magical home away from home doesn't last forever (you knew it wouldn't, right?) and through a slip-up, Paige is shanghaied to a different world that is considerably more dangerous than her previous one.

    So, just when you had been studying the map and glossary and you were, like: "Cool, I've totally got this whole thing down." Um, no you don't. The party just starting, friends! We are introduced to a new cast of complex characters (Rephaim and Emin and more, oh my!) and Paige's very life (and the lives of her friends) is at stake at every turn. Drama? Danger? Intrigue? Yep. Yep. Yep.

    It is in Paige's time at Oxford (yes, that Oxford, but...not really) that the pace of The Bone Season cranks up from an 7 out of 10 to an 11. Why has she been conscripted to this voyant army? Who is really the enemy? Is she a jerk just for participating? She hates her master on principle, but he seems pretty cool, but that makes her a jerk again, right? Is this all like M. Night Shyamalan's crazy movie, The Village, and the Emin are really just people with sticks making noises in the night?

    At this point, the payoff for all of your earlier head-scratching comes in. Through a series of flashbacks, we learn more about Paige's previous life and more about the origin of her abilities. It is here that you can see the promise of the future installments. Many story threads are delicately teased out making you wanting to know more.

    I don't want to ruin it for you, but let me just say that plots are hatched, friendships are betrayed, alliances are made and broken, battles (small and large) are fought, kisses are kissed and lessons are learned...in the most amazing way.

    The Bone Season has all of the hallmarks of the start to a great series and will be buzzed about for many years to come.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    I won a signed ARC copy from Tor. At first, it was highly intimi

    I won a signed ARC copy from Tor. At first, it was highly intimidating. The size, the maps, the flowcharts, the glossary! Yes, the glossary!

    I started reading the first few chapters and felt very overwhelmed with the language. It used old street/gangster slang combined with made-up slang. In the beginning it made my head spin! I nearly stopped reading because of it. The glossary helped, yes. But having to reference it made it daunting, to say the least. But I got used to it, eventually. I still had to reference certain words, even towards the end, just to be sure I was correct. This did throw off the pacing, in my opinion.




    Shannon’s world building is in-depth, sucking you into the London underground, but drawing an alternative reality, one in which requires all the maps at the beginning in order to keep straight. I’ve always loved alternate history, and Shannon does well with this aspect. Yes, it’s in the future, but the history is different. Set in England 2059, which really isn’t all that distant, the past history of the nation/world is marginally different, but still incorporates certain historical points and people that we can relate to, so we are not too removed from the story.




    But the story…




    The story drew me in. The conflict, the emotion, the action. All of it left me craving more with each turn of the page. Getting inside Paige’s head, Shannon’s first person POV, was definitely worth it. She knows how to instill the necessary emotion in Paige and the reader, while keeping everyone else at a safe distance.




    Despite the complexity of the world and the language, I definitely would recommend giving this book a try. See for yourself.




    For me, I can’t wait to read more.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    Loved it!

    Two to three chapters in I was sure that I would not like this book. I wasn't so much concerned about being able to grasp the different world and lingo, as I was about the subject matter itself: the spirit world. I hate stories about spirits and ghosts and general paranormal stuff. So I almost put the book down. THANK GOODNESS I DIDN'T! This friggin book takes a serious turn for the amazing after the first few chapters! It took me into world that I have never read of or imagined before. The whole spirit world/ghost subject matter I was concerned with in the beginning almost pretty much becomes secondary to the main world she creates. A world of beings and creatures I have never heard of anywhere else in literature. And THAT world is fricken fantastic! This author has a very great imagination and is very talented in putting that imagination to paper and making it come alive. It had it all! Great action, tension, suspense, and romance. I am definitely looking forward to the next book. And as far as the confusing lingo in the beginning, just stick with it. Everything comes together a few chapters in. All in all, I highly recommend this book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Great!

    This book is great I'd make sure you're over 15ish so you can truely undedstand it but this book is in my top ten now!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    LOVE

    This book is so amazing i love that its confusing it gets your mind thinking and i love that in a book. I cant wait for the other books to come out. Such a great read.,

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Must read

    I bought this book because of the comparison between this author and Rowling. I barely got through the first few chapters and seriously thought about giving up. I'm so glad I stuck with it. It turned out to be action packed and I found it very easy to slip into this different world. Looking forward to the next book un the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I will admit that I haven't read many books this year, despite t

    I will admit that I haven't read many books this year, despite the fact that I was reading at least one book a week in 2012. I don't really know why, but it gets harder and harder to find a book that makes me want to sit down and read. As a 15 year old, there are so many other activities that attract my attention, and I normally end up doing anything but reading. After receiving a gift card for Christmas, however, I purchased my first book since reading The Shadow of the Wind last May and my love of reading has returned.

    Although the first few chapters were slow, it wasn't long before I was fully immersed in the plot. It really reminded me why I used to love reading; you experience emotions that you don't normally get the chance to experience. You become involved in conflicts that would never happen in our world today. You fall in love with not only the story, but the characters themselves. I desperately want to travel, to see the world and experience things that I haven't yet experienced, and this book gave me the brief (yet satisfying) opportunity to do so. 

    I am not going to write anything about what happens in this story, as I fear that I will give something away, however I will say that I would recommend The Bone Season to anyone that loves fantasy or science fiction (obviously) as it is an incredible story - once you get past the first few chapters. I am so happy that it is going to be made into a movie (I cannot wait to see Arcturus and Nick on screen), and that the second in the series is on it's way. This is definitely joining my list of favourites!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2013

    Rather than bog you down with a complete synopsis of this book I

    Rather than bog you down with a complete synopsis of this book I will merely tell you how much I truly enjoyed this read. I can safely say that as 2013 comes to an end The Bone Season was hands down my favorite book of the year. As much as I adored this book I will admit that after being about 50 pages into it I considered putting it aside and moving on to something else. I cannot express how happy I am that I kept reading. For anyone who is considering giving this book a chance, DO IT! The first 50 or so pages are confusing...like really confusing. But do not let that stop you! The plot will start coming together very soon, and the story that is waiting for you in the next 300+ pages will more than make up for those first few moments of confusion. This book has a wonderful mix of suspense, sci-fi, romance, fantasy, etc. I am waiting on pins and needles for the second installment in this seven book series to come out. So for any readers who are feeling weary based on the negative reviews, I encourage you to find out for yourself how amazing The Bone Season actually is! (For references sake I am a 27 year old female)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    The Bone Season is the first book in a new epic series, a mix of

    The Bone Season is the first book in a new epic series, a mix of dystopian and fantasy, this is a thrilling, heart-pounding and nail-biting story that will leave you breathless and extremely desperate to get your hands on a copy of the next book The Mime Order.




    Set in the year 2059, the world is now ruled by Scion, people like Paige who have some kind of psychic ability are deemed "unnaturals" and are hunted down and/or tortured and killed.




    Paige belongs to one of the groups that are part of the Seven Seals the criminal underworld consisting of unnaturals/voyants with varied abilities that search out information by using their skills.




    Paige has a very rare power, she is able to break in to people's minds through their dreamscapes, her ability makes her a dreamwalker a very rare clairovoyant that accidentally has her killing two guards, she is subsequently caught and sent to the long ago abandoned city of Oxford, run by the Rephaim whom are otherworldly creatures, each  voyant is picked by a keeper to serve as their slaves, when Paige is chosen by Warden to be his slave and he her Master everyone is shocked as he has never had a human slave before, but his plans are to train her and help her to develop her ability, but she soon discovers that Warden is nothing like any of the other Masters, and if she has any hope of escaping she needs to learn to trust him, he may just be her best bet in achieving that.




    The small bit of romance shared between these two at the end of the book has me anxiously awaiting what can only be one of my most anticipated books for the rest of this year, the world, imagery and characters combine to make this an extremely unforgettable novel.




    I'm eager to see where the rest of this series goes, at the planned length of seven books there is sure to hopefully be some more Warden appearances,  and even perhaps some more romance, and of course let's not forget Samantha's amazing storytelling.




    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Nothing what I expected..

    The first time I picked up this book, I got through one chapter and put it down. I decided to give it another go, and I am glad I did. If you enjoy novels like The Hunger Games, The Host, or even the Crewel series, you'll enjoy this one. Excellent read once you dive in, and very hard to put it down. I am very excited to read the next in the series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Fantastic!

    I couldn't put the book down! The plot was interesting and the characters were fully developed. It's been a while since I've read a good book and this one was worth reading! If you enjoyed Ender's Game and The Hunger Games, you will devour this book. However, I would suggest this book to older readers due to some of the violence and one mature situation. Overall, this was a five star book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Waiting to continue the journey!

    I absolutely LOVE this book. The story is so captivating. With action and love and history (not real but facinating). I've neglected a lot of sleep to find out what happens in the next chapter. I patiently await book # 2....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Overall this is an amazing book. I admit, like so many others, t

    Overall this is an amazing book.
    I admit, like so many others, that the beginning of the book was a bit daunting in regards to the slang used in the book. However once you get past that and actually delve head first into the story it just gets better from there -- and the dictionary at the end really does help.
    The story revolves around the Clairvoyants -- or "Unnaturals" -- that hold a secret part in our society. Their persecution, abduction, and imprisonment when ultimately caught. It is also the story of one particularly unique Clairvoyant who manages to bring a sense of hope for change among the imprisoned that she's held with. From beginning to end I found it exceptionally difficult to put the book down. I was looking for a series that could draw me in and keep me turning the pages.
    The Bone Season was just that book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Unique plot

    Loved this book. Cannot wait for the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    I started this novel time and time again, each time I felt more

    I started this novel time and time again, each time I felt more lost than the last, but I never wanted to give up. I didn't restart because I got bored, left it sitting for weeks on end and lost my page - I just felt I missed something. When I managed to pick it back up - roughly two and a half days ago - I devoured it. It took me a while to read through the glossary, keep track of the words she used, I even found myself flipping towards the front to decipher what types of clairvoyants Shannon discussed. While it may seem hard work if a reader thoroughly enjoys reading than he or she could look past having to flip back to maps, search glossaries or take time to move back to the front page. Once I got past all the page flipping and felt confident enough that I no longer needed to flip back and forth, I breezed through it. I spend many hours studying each type of clairvoyant terms and the definitions in the glossary just to be safe. It is an outstanding book and I found myself lost and thrust into Paige's world. It was amazing the challenges thrown to her not just by Warden but by challenges of those around her, even her Mime-Lord Jaxon. I felt sorry for Paige throughout most of the story with all she endures. I'd elaborate, but don't want to spoil anything for those reading it. I'm excited for Shannon's second book The Mime Order to be released.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Excellentally Excellent

    I do think the book is a little confusing at the beginning, but all books are right? No i think it is very good and i do see the similarity between this and the Harry Potter Series. I do think if you like Harry Potter you'll like this!!! I think you should definitely read it. Because it is just very entertaining, ya know? And Question: when is the next one coming???!! Cause i sorta NEED it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The Bone Season is the type of book that sweeps you into another

    The Bone Season is the type of book that sweeps you into another world and dances on your heart. I will say this now, it requires you to flip constantly to the glossary and the beginning of the book where there is a chart, yet I believe that is part of the magic. The book is based of off the "real" world yet it has made it its own with new words and ideas and such. This is the kind of book that leaves you wondering. It clues you in on the affairs of the heart and its cruelty and beauty. And it makes you believe in magic. I recommend this book for anyone who finds worth putting in the time to read an astounding book. The first few chapters will be trying, as some of the other reviews will state. Yet trust me oh my dear reader, Its worth it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    :)

    I loved it and cant wait for the rest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Excellent

    This story held my interest to the last page. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Loved this book!  Rich storytelling and great character developm

    Loved this book!  Rich storytelling and great character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4