Customer Reviews for

The Book Of Riley ~ A Zombie Tale

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Awesome

    >>This was one of the most entertaining zombie genre books I have read- and I have read quite a few! Following the story from the animals perspective is not only creative; but it also adds so much humor to it. The dynamic between the animals and their humans is brilliant. If I had not already been a fan of Tufo, this book would have sealed the deal! Originally a short story, it is only about 80 pages- just enough to tell the story and hook you right in!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    OMG - EXCELLENT!!!

    Telling a zombie apocalypse from a pet's point of view might sound farfetched but in typical Mark Tufo fashion it is anything but! The animals understand better what is going on and provide their human pack members (owners) with moments of clarity into the impending disaster. This book is excellent and creative. Character develoment is perfect too. This book will make you cheer for the underdog (pun intended).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    Awesome story! This is not only a great zombie story but very or

    Awesome story! This is not only a great zombie story but very original in that it's told from the perspective of a "dog" Riley and her pals! This is a short story about 50ish pgs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Zombie Apocalypse from the POV of a Dog I have actually wondere

    Zombie Apocalypse from the POV of a Dog

    I have actually wondered about how the animal companions of the people trying to survive the zombie apocalypse survive or what the zombies think of such creatures. Tufo delivers a unique take on what some might say and overcrowded genre. This story is told from the point of view of a American Bulldog with a companion Yorkshire Terrier, reminds me of the old Bug Bunny cartoons with the big bull dog walking down the street with the much smaller dog running circles around him desperately wanting approval. They have also befriended an unlikely creature, a cat. The dialog between the three animals was enough to make me choke on my breakfast it was so hilarious. I really appreciated Tufo’s translation of the items in the world from a dog’s point of view, stinging metal bees, wet meat, viewing holes, two leggers, ect. In his typical fashion Tufo has the Talbot family get mentioned, I can’t think of a non Talbot story were they are not mentioned. If you are looking for something a bit different, but with all the gore you expect from a zombie story and twisted humor, you must listen to The Book of Riley: A Zombie Tale.

    Please find this complete review and many others at audiobookreviewer dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    The Very Best

    Ive read MANY zombie books and The Riley Books are awsome!!! As with all Mark Tufo books ,you get to know his characters and to love and care for them..Marks style of writing is at the top and you will not be able to put them down until youv'e read them ALL !!! I am waiting for the next in the Riley Series and the Zombie Fallout Series ! ! Hurry please !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Best Zombie book since Mark's previous Zombie book

    When i started reading this, i liked it but i was distraught at Mark's portrayal of Riley's more intelligent, better looking, and all around better 'person' Patches the cat. But after emailing him and finding out he had a Patches of his own and totally understood the superiority of cats, i LOVED it. Riley is great, Patches is, of course, great, and Ben-Ben is....well, he's a doofus but a lovable, devoted, and brave doofus. The way Mark weaves the personalities, abilities, and ingenuity of his characters is masterful. His situations are riveting and characters well developed. He is totally able to get into the mind of both the two-legged people and four-legged people caught in a world turned upside down. I would recommend this to anyone, everyone - even if you're not a cat or dog person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    This is a great take on the zombie genre, and I can hardly wait

    This is a great take on the zombie genre, and I can hardly wait until the next one comes out. Though it's only 80 pages, it sucks you in and makes you want more. I highly recommend this book, along with his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2012

    Get this one quick!

    In typical Tufo fashion, he wins again. I confess I was skeptical. I wondered how could any book be as good as the Zombie Fallout series. Well I was wrong. I am hooked again. A story from the view point of the family dog during a zombie apocalypse-sounds nuts right? WRONG! I fell in love with this rag tag group of refugees. And I can only say two things: Buy this today! and....Book two needs to be longer than book one! LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!! Good job Tufo!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Another great zombie read!

    The zombie apocalipse from a dogs point of view. Amazing idea! Cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    What an awesome story!!

    Leave it to Mark Tufo, a very imaginative author, to not only continue his stories of Zombies, but to continue them from the point of view of the animals. After reading this story you will forever be hooked. Never a dull moment. The love, the rivalry and the friendship grows between Ben-Ben, Riley and Patches as they struggle to survive and to keep their master alive (a teenage girl with her infant brother). If you loved Zombie Fallout, you'll absolutely love this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Great read

    Your probably wondering if you should buy this right? Well think no more. This book is a fun and exciting read that is short and sweet. perfect for a rainy day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Loved the book!

    WOW! I really enjoyed reading this book. In fact, I came back looking for another book of Riley. Very clever story idea; it was gory, amusing, and original. Mark Tufo is fast becoming my favorite author! Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Loved it!

    I've loved everything I've read from this author, and this is no exception. Mark also seems like a heck of a nice guy, who happily answers questions directly and has random giveaways on his Facebook page.

    I just wish his stories were longer since they always leave me wanting more! Can not wait until the next installment of this series is out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    Tufo does it again!

    This was great, loved the pet point of view! Can't wait until the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I know why i love my dog

    Great quick read. Pack above all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    What animals think of the zombies and their humans, incredible!

    What animals think of the zombies and their humans, incredible! had me laughing out loud and a moments of panic - Loved it! its a quick read that leaves you wanting more...and more is promised by Mark Tufo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Something different

    Funny to get an animals point of view when zombies are involved!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1