Customer Reviews for

The Book Stops Here (Bibliophile Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    I love Brooklyn, she cares about old books. I also love her boyf

    I love Brooklyn, she cares about old books. I also love her boyfriend Derek. Who is like a secret agent 007. She cares about other people & seems to find dead bodies. This was so good I stayed up late to finidh it. I can't wait for next one to come out. I will tell everyone about how good this book was.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    Brooklyn seems to stumble over murder victims wherever she goes.

    Brooklyn seems to stumble over murder victims wherever she goes. With the yummy Derek by her side, she has a knack for solving these murders, regardless of the twists and turns the clues may take. I love her relationship with Derek and I'm so glad that Ms. Carlisle doesn't add unneeded drama to it. They are devoted to one another and that makes it such a refreshing change from being subjected to relationship ups and downs, misunderstanding and jealousy. Her descriptions of Minka are side-splitting! Brooklyn has a fabulous sense of humor.
    Hope this series goes on forever!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    I am a huge fan of Kate Carlisle and have read all her Bibliophi

    I am a huge fan of Kate Carlisle and have read all her Bibliophile mysteries.  I especially admire Carlisle for being adventurous
    and developing a lead character and family from a new age community in wine country.  Each one of the Bibliophile mystery
    characters has a rich, colorful background and style.  Even the characters meant to antagonize are just as fun to watch.

    With this in mind I began “The Book Stops Here” in earnest as it combines two of my favorite things – TV and books.  Of course
    Carlisle did not disappoint.  She has the genre of “Cozy Mysteries” down pat.

    This book had a new angle because there were several mystery plots going at once.  This makes the reader constantly try to
    put everything together.  I was led down many paths that were incorrect in the end.  And this was my first book of hers that
    completely surprised me with the guilty party.  Which was revealed during a party of course! 

    I think the thing I liked the best was our lead character finally learned a few self-defense skills and she was able to take care
    of herself in the end.  This detail has been necessary for the last few books. 

    As always, this book is filled tidbits from the fascinating Bibliophile world of book repairs and valuations.  It is a wonderful
    and creative foundation to base mysteries. 

    Without spilling the plot, you will enjoy the variety of  mysteries happening at the same time, the burden of the red coat, the
    Mae West details, behind the scenes at an Antique Roadshow tapings and of course the cupcakes, kittens and love affair. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2014

    I always know when I pick up a book by Kate Carlisle that she is

    I always know when I pick up a book by Kate Carlisle that she is going to pull me into the world that is Brooklyn Wainwright. The comfortable tone, the humor, the excitement, the adventure and the mystery is all packed into a wonderfully crafted whodunit that kept me turning the pages to see where this fast-paced and action-filled drama leads me. The author did a great job in teasing me with a bevy of suspect with some surprising twists that I did not see coming that had me saying “wow.” Good job Kate! Brooklyn and Derek are back and the introduction of a new character is a bonus that I hope we get to see more of in future stories. This is one of the best books in this fabulously entertaining series and I can’t wait to see what awaits Brooklyn and her friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Very well done!  I highly recommend this book to anyone that enj

    Very well done!  I highly recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a good mystery.  What is terrific about Kate Carlisle's writing style is that she does a good job at keeping the reader's attention.  The supporting characters were funny and I could relate to a lot of them.  The relationship between Brooklyn and Derek seems so perfect!  Naturally, a man with a sexy accent is irresistible.  I cannot wait for the next book in this series!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Piper

    Enjoy the girl he will be good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Sky to Cris

    Grabs the knife -r u crazy dont do tht i still love u Cris-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Cris

    Why i cant do nothing right i broke your heart and i cant get piper so why

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Bookbinding expert Brooklyn Wainwright is offered a phenomenal o

    Bookbinding expert Brooklyn Wainwright is offered a phenomenal opportunity to appear as the rare book expert on the TV show, This Old Attic. Nervous and excited, she sits with the first guest and examines a rare copy of The Secret Garden. The owner of the book, Vera, tells her that she purchased the book at a garage sale for $3.00. Imagine her surprise when Brooklyn advises her that although there are a few minor repairs needed, the book is valued at $20,000 to $25,000. After the segment ends, Vera meets up with Brooklyn and asks her to consider repairing the book, especially if the repairs increase the value and gives her the book to hold. But after the episode airs on a news segment, Brooklyn is accosted by an extremely irate man screaming that he wants the book back since he was cheated. Then when Brooklyn goes to Vera's flower shop to give her the repair quote, she stumbles over Vera's dead body. As if one murder and angry stalker isn't enough, Randolph Rayburn, host of This Old Attic, confides in Brooklyn that there have been incidents that lead him to believe he is also being stalked. When one of these incidents endangers Brooklyn, British boyfriend and security expert Derek, steps in to personally act as Brooklyn's bodyguard. I love this series and enjoy reading about the increasing love relationship between Brooklyn and Derek. In this book, there is not just one mystery but two for Brooklyn to solve and keep the reader guessing to the very end. In addition to trying to solve these two cases (murder and stalking), Brooklyn finds a new friend and deals with her archnemesis, Minska. I can't wait to see what happens in the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Brooklyn Wainwright is at it again ¿ and this time she's thrown

    Brooklyn Wainwright is at it again – and this time she's thrown into the middle of two mysteries. With characteristic wit, author Kate Carlisle has written yet another fun mystery that keeps pages turning till the very end.

    In The Book Stops Here, the latest in the Bibliophile Mystery series, protagonist Brooklyn Wainwright has been asked to appear on a national antique appraisal show that has traveled to her neck of the woods. “This Old Attic” will be filming in San Francisco for several weeks and they want her to act as the rare-book expert/appraiser. Nothing makes Brooklyn happier than talking about books so she happily agrees and is thrilled when the first book she gets is a first-edition of The Secret Garden. While taping the segment for the show, Brooklyn tells the book’s owner, Vera Stoddard, that the book is worth at least twenty thousand dollars! Vera is speechless, thrilled almost to tears. Having just bought the book a few days earlier for three dollars at a local garage sale, Vera can’t believe her good fortune.

    When a teaser airs for the show, Vera’s book is the lead and it gets the attention of a big, burly brute who wants the book. Accosting Brooklyn in the studio parking lot, he insists the book belongs to him and he will kill anyone who stands between him and the book. When Vera winds up dead on the floor of her flower shop, it seems like it will be easy to find the killer. Alas, things are never as easy as they initially seem and that holds true for searching for Vera’s killer.

    At the same time, Randolph Rayburn, the host of the show, is convinced that he has a stalker. Other employees at the studio think Randolph merely has an overactive imagination, but when strange things start happening, escalating in their severity, people start taking him seriously. Could the murder have something to do with Randolph’s stalker? Brooklyn needs to find out what’s going on, and fast(!) because most of the attacks seem mistakenly directed at her.

    I haven’t read any of the other books in this series, but that didn’t keep me from quickly getting up to speed with Brooklyn, her hunky beau Derek, old friends and her new friend Alex, as well as her talent for restoring books. The author’s love of bookbinding and her experience in television come through clearly in the writing, making everything vivid and realistic. The story was face-paced and quite enjoyable. If you love cozy mysteries, check out this series.

    Quill says: A satisfying cozy read that left me anxious for the next book in the Bibliophile mystery series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Great

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    Brooklyn Wainwright has added a new gig to her resume. As a book

    Brooklyn Wainwright has added a new gig to her resume. As a book appraiser for This Old Attic. With her James Bond lookalike boyfriend, Derek, she figures out not one but two crimes centered on this TV show. And gets mighty banged up in the process. Who knew old books could be so dangerous. Dangerous enough to hurt a snake, it appears. This book, as the rest in this marvelous series, is a brilliant romp in the world of bookbinding. So much can be gleaned from these books dealing with restoring books. I have loved every word and love Brooklyn and Derek and hope I can come back as her in my next life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    This is the first book I have read in the series and really enjo

    This is the first book I have read in the series and really enjoyed it! Loved Brooklyn and Derek as well as the rest of the characters, but after reading other reviews I want to read some of the earlier books in the series to learn all about Brooklyn's family and the commune where she was raised. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a great read,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Kate Carlisle's Brooklyn Wainwright books are books about books.

    Kate Carlisle's Brooklyn Wainwright books are books about books. Does it get any better. In this installment Brooklyn works for an Antiques Roadshow-type television show. And like any series' heroine who stumbles on dead bodies more often than is normal, mayhem ensues. The host is being stalked and Brooklyn's evaluation of an edition of THE SECRET GARDEN may or may not be the cause of a murder and threats to Brooklyn herself. It's all good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Another delightful adventure with Brooklyn that did not disappoi

    Another delightful adventure with Brooklyn that did not disappoint. I always look forward to the Bibliophile series, knowing that the story line will be entertaining and the characters are fun to follow. ~Amber L.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    In the latest book, Brooklyn has a job working as a book apprais

    In the latest book, Brooklyn has a job working as a book appraiser for This Old Attic, a TV show where people bring things that they own that they think may be valuable. At the beginning of the book, Brooklyn is appraising a copy of A Secret Garden. The detailed description of the book is amazing and really gives the reader a stunning visual of what the book looks like. There are also other books that are appraised including a Geneva Bible, but A Secret Garden is central to the plot of the story and really stuck with me. There are two mysteries that take place in the book simultaneously. The mysteries evolved throughout the book and kept me interested. I also enjoyed the character development and the interaction between Brooklyn and the other characters, especially Derek and their new neighbor Alex. The story kept me interested until the end and I liked the behind-the-scenes look at the TV show. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy a great mystery, cozy or otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2014

    Wow, another GREAT adventure with Brooklyn Wainwright! I have be

    Wow, another GREAT adventure with Brooklyn Wainwright! I have been a Kate Carlisle fan from the very first book in the
    Bibliophile Mystery series "Homicide in Hardcover". Every book in this series has an enticing quality that lures the reader in and then won't let them go. From Brooklyn's parents to her neighbors to her position as an antique book restorer, the life this young woman (Brooklyn) lives is a story in itself. The author has the "it" factor in telling the story and keeping the reader engaged until the very end. I am a lover of mystery stories and I can always rely on Kate Carlisle to deliver a wonderful story that always helps me pass the time away. I look forward to the next wonderful read from this author, she has the "Midas Touch' for penning some of the most wonderful, engaging reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Received this book to review as part of the Book Nerd Review Cre

    Received this book to review as part of the Book Nerd Review Crew - I am new to the Bibliophile series, this being the first book in the series I have read, and I absolutely loved it. I was glad to see that it worked as a stand alone mystery. I also liked that while some background was given about other mysteries in the series, no spoilers were dropped which is often the case in bringing readers up to speed in a series.

    What I really liked about this book was the fact that there were two mysteries going on at the same time. While I solved one about 3/4 of the way in, the second solution was kept hidden from me until the bitter end. Very well plotted with a surprising ending which was well written.

    I enjoyed the story (especially the behind the scenes look at an Antiques Roadshow type program) and the characters so much that I am now going back to book one in the series and read it from the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Super entertaining! And I just love reading about a nice lady th

    Super entertaining! And I just love reading about a nice lady that is lucky enough to have a man like Derek in here life. Wonderful mystery with tons of twists and turns. Super  mystery that I would recommend to anyone especially cozy lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    I could hardly wait until my copy of Kate Carlisle¿s latest inst

    I could hardly wait until my copy of Kate Carlisle’s latest installment in her Bibliophile Mystery series arrived. But mingled with my anticipation was a teensy bit of trepidation – in her ninth volume, would she be able to find a new and entertaining way to involve Brooklyn in murder and mayhem?  I should have known better than to doubt – it is a charming tale set against a backdrop straight from Public TV with a twist!
    We’re all familiar with the amazed delight when unsuspecting owners of treasures appear on Antiques Roadshow and are told that granny’s hand-me-down is actually a valuable treasure.  But have we ever wondered what happens when they return home?  In the world of Brooklyn Wainwright, bookbinder and guest rare book expert and appraiser on a San Francisco based version of This Old Attic, that garage sale treasure can become a motive for murder.  An especially dangerous motive since the now-deceased owner had left the book with Brooklyn for some minor repairs!  Throw in a mysterious stalker whose attacks on the show’s new handsome host go awry and involve Brooklyn in the cross-fire, two thugs named Lug Nut and Grizzly, a tie-in to Mae West, and you have a page-turner you can’t put down until the very end.
    Sexy boyfriend and security firm owner Derek Stone plays a large role in this story, as he insists on providing 24/7 protection for Brooklyn (among other things).  But Brooklyn is also evolving as a strong character and, thanks to a new neighbor introduced into the ongoing cast of series “regulars”, she learns key self-defense skills so she is not just a “damsel-in-distress” character.  I also loved it that the author paid tribute to long-time series-running characters by involving them in small scenarios, but didn’t overburden the action by trying to write them into every plot line.  It kept the story fresh and focused on sorting out the various mysteries.
    I can’t wait for the next adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4