Customer Reviews for

The Book Thief (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    I truely thought this was an unbelievably beautiful book. I neve

    I truely thought this was an unbelievably beautiful book. I never felt so close to fictional characters even though they were in a totally different world than mine. It's one of those books that just makes you look at life a little differently. It also made me start to think that books and words are more of a gift than they're anything else. I really recommend this book to middle schoolers (Like me) and hope everyone goes and sees the movie adaptation coming out this Friday, November 8th.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    I have always kept this book close to my heart and my mind sinc

    I have always kept this book close to my heart and my mind since I read it 4 or 5 years ago and I am so excited to see they are making a movie from the story. I saw the preview of the movie and can't wait. What a tremendous story of resolve and trying to find safety and love amidst Nazi Germany....Recommend it for everyone and will reread it again and again. Thank You

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Heartwarming, Heartbreaking, and Eyeopening - A must read!

    Seriously, The Book Thief is a book that everyone should read at least once in their life time. I don't care if it's not your genera or whatever, this book is life changing. It turns me into a sobbing mess every time I read it. But, don't get me wrong, it's not corny or cheesy, it's just amazingly beautiful. It's funny, heartwarming, heartbreaking, and eyeopening. And this new Collector's Edition is beautiful! I've already told all my friends to read this book, and I forced my mom to read it, and she's already passed my paperback copy on to a few of her co-workers. This book needs to be read by everyone. It's absolutely wonderful in a way that makes you hate it and love it all at the same time. The characters are flawless, and you'll fall in love with all of them, I promise you, and you'll want to hold them close to your heart and want to never let them go. Some of my absolute favorite literary characters live inside the pages of The Book Thief. And I know that that will never change. Seriously, just go read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    This is a wonderful book. Beautiful and heartbreaking I read it

    This is a wonderful book. Beautiful and heartbreaking I read it from cover to cover barely putting it down. I will see the movie when its available but nothing beats the book. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    A Must Read

    This was one of the best books I have ever read. I can not wait for my daughter to finish it so I can read it again! A definite plus to my book shelf. Thank you Marks Zusak for giving us different view of WW11.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    WORTH READING!! I loved this book. it made me feel lots of diffe

    WORTH READING!! I loved this book. it made me feel lots of different things. just wonderfull. i loved the good-nature in people in all circumstances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2015

    This book was phenomenal! It really takes you into what Nazi Ger

    This book was phenomenal! It really takes you into what Nazi Germany was like, back to the destruction and diminishing of the Jews! I was gripped since the first chapter! 
    I recommend reading this book at some point in your life time! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Beautiful Book

    Wonderful story and a beautiful hardcover book to hold and savor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Part of our summer reading program at school - The favorite of all our new reads

    A novel for all ages, adult and young adult.
    We read this novel in our college summer reading program, and it was an instant favorite of many of our students.

    There's lots of ways of looking at the horror of WW2, but Zusak's inventive approach was a thrill to read. I tough novel for sure in many of its sections, especially near the end, but if you want to understand the miracle of what we call "children," then you have to push through it. I must admit, it stopped me a couple of times.

    The narrator, I believe, is a must in how Zusak used him to bring some relief to the very tough main story. I think this is the heart of the novel - how can you present this wonderful story without beating down your reader with the sights and sounds of this time period?

    A true classic and deserving of its New York Times best seller list. A recommended novel for our Children's Literature class.
    Arabesque

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    I thought a book couldn't get this good , ever. The Book Thief

    I thought a book couldn't get this good , ever. The Book Thief takes place during the holocaust in Germany. You feel so close to the characters . You learn to love Max Vandenberg. To get used to mama and eventually love every character .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!!

    THE BEST BOOK I EVER READ!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    My better half gives it a 4 but I think a 5 for this classic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Loved this book and the movie adaptation was very well done.

    Loved this book and the movie adaptation was very well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    This book is life changing. Chances are that you heard of this b

    This book is life changing. Chances are that you heard of this book and you already think of it as a text book type of a book. However, it's anything but a textbook. Markus Zusak is an incredibly gifted writer. He's one of those writers who have the capability of creating, not just a story, but a world. When you read this book you feel an enormous amount of empathy towards all the characters. When they're happy, you're happy. When they're sad, you're sad. Not only that, but this "death", the narrator, doesn't sugarcoat anything. Even though it's setting is during a heartbreaking period, it's story is straight up and truthful. Also, Markus Zusak incorporates humor into the story, giving it a happier, or as happy as it can get, more lighthearted feel. This has become one of my favorite books. It teaches you the importance of living in the moment and the value of books and words. Of course, there are so many other lessons in it :) And even though it's a longer book, it's a very quick read. I don't even read a lot of historical fiction, but I couldn't stop reading. Please consider reading this book, I promise you won't be disappointed. It's a timeless book and even if you're ninety or if you ten, you will love this book. Thanks for reading my review, I know it's super long. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2014

    Such a beautiful book! One that stays with you and you find your

    Such a beautiful book! One that stays with you and you find yourself thinking about the story and characters throughout your day. A must read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    It is difficult to think of anything I could add to the previous

    It is difficult to think of anything I could add to the previous reviews of this book. I agree that it is one of the warmest, most beautiful books I have ever read I want to hold on to it forever, just to have it and touch it over and over again.

    After reading the paperback edition I forwarded it to a friend and purchased the hard back 'exclusive' edition. That I was very disappointed with. It is not what was advertised. It does NOT have a gold embossed cover and the 'original' notes and drawings are actually printed, bound copies not original notes from the author. So to me it is no more 'exclusive' than the paperback edition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book! Markcus Zusak knows how to combine words to create

    Amazing book! Markcus Zusak knows how to combine words to create an exeptional story! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One of the most beautiful books I have ever read. So terribly s

    One of the most beautiful books I have ever read. So terribly sad, yet so heartwarming and beautiful at the same time. I could read this again and again. Do yourself a favor and read this. Now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great Book - Hard to read at times, but hard to put down!

    Death, the Perfect Narrator for this story taking place inside Hitler's Germany. The BOOK THIEF starts stealing books before she knows how to read. All characters are finely written - it's one of those books you don't really want to finish, but you need to know what becomes of the Book Thief. Very haunting - I can understand why it won all kinds of awards!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great book! I just finished this great book with a box of tissue

    Great book!
    I just finished this great book with a box of tissues. Loved it and didn't want it to end. My parents were occupied by the germans on the  island of Jersey and I know the horrors they watched. This was in a strange way, soothing and different way to see it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2