Customer Reviews for

The Book of Deacon

Average Rating 4.5
( 1028 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(636)

4 Star

(272)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

165 out of 181 people found this review helpful.

Outstandingly good read!

The plot and characters are well developed and interesting. Each personality is distinct and uniform throughout the story (all three books). The details within the story are just enough so the read's own imagination can form the images easily. The story is fluid, comedi...
The plot and characters are well developed and interesting. Each personality is distinct and uniform throughout the story (all three books). The details within the story are just enough so the read's own imagination can form the images easily. The story is fluid, comedic, serious, heartfelt, and reads easily. I do not remember there being any vulgarity, there isn't any sexuality, and is a very clean, exciting read. The length of the novels is over 900 pages, an unprecedented amount for a free book. This is the kind of novel I look for because I want more book for my buck. I am an avid reader and I average about 150 pages an hour. So an "average" novel is nothing more than a magazine article to me. The length is amazing and I am extremely pleased to say that I enjoyed every word! One of the greatest failings I find in some authors is that they spend too much time with the details. I really don't need to be told that the leaf on the tree has 5 main veins running through the center etc etc. A clearer example, recently I read a novel where the author spent 5 pages describing a tree. A tree that didn't have any direct bearing on the story line other than it was in front of the character. This is what I refer to as book filler or fluff. Unnecessary detailed information for the sole purpose of filling the bare minimum of 10,000 words. I am thrilled to say that Joseph Lallo does not suffer from the affliction of detail diarrhea. If the characters in the story can make me laugh out loud more than once, I usually find it's a good story. I love quick intelligent wit. Countless times while reading this story my husband would say to me, "You are smiling at the book." "You are giggling at the book." "Stop laughing at the book." We read the same kind of books and I can't wait for him to finish the novel he is currently on so I can repeat those same lines back to him! I LOVE the fact that there isn't any detailed sex or seedy romance in the story. Yes, there is a touch of romance, but it is kid friendly, and it is more like a dash rather than a sprinkle. My son (16 yrs old) reads the same genres that my husband and I read, it's a family event. I enjoy being able to pass my books onto my son and then all of us discuss them afterwards. Sorry this is such a long review but stating, "Great read" just didn't seem to do this justice. I am greatly looking forward to more novels from Joseph Lallo. "Jo" is becoming one of my favorite authors. Keep up the good work Jo! And if you need and editor to proof read sometime for you, just let me know! (Seriously)

posted by JD_Pecor on July 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Eh.

The quick overview makes this book seem interesting & a must read. Upon starting the book I was quite disappointed. The beginning starts a little slow (I wasn't sure if he was going for Star Wars or something from the Middle Ages) & overall thr book is written in an ext...
The quick overview makes this book seem interesting & a must read. Upon starting the book I was quite disappointed. The beginning starts a little slow (I wasn't sure if he was going for Star Wars or something from the Middle Ages) & overall thr book is written in an extremely simplistic manner. The customer reviews was a big decision factor to read this and I found myself disappointed. I could not finish this book because if the writing style. Might be a good read for younger readers.

posted by 11352544 on December 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1029 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstandingly good read!

    The plot and characters are well developed and interesting. Each personality is distinct and uniform throughout the story (all three books). The details within the story are just enough so the read's own imagination can form the images easily. The story is fluid, comedic, serious, heartfelt, and reads easily. I do not remember there being any vulgarity, there isn't any sexuality, and is a very clean, exciting read. The length of the novels is over 900 pages, an unprecedented amount for a free book. This is the kind of novel I look for because I want more book for my buck. I am an avid reader and I average about 150 pages an hour. So an "average" novel is nothing more than a magazine article to me. The length is amazing and I am extremely pleased to say that I enjoyed every word! One of the greatest failings I find in some authors is that they spend too much time with the details. I really don't need to be told that the leaf on the tree has 5 main veins running through the center etc etc. A clearer example, recently I read a novel where the author spent 5 pages describing a tree. A tree that didn't have any direct bearing on the story line other than it was in front of the character. This is what I refer to as book filler or fluff. Unnecessary detailed information for the sole purpose of filling the bare minimum of 10,000 words. I am thrilled to say that Joseph Lallo does not suffer from the affliction of detail diarrhea. If the characters in the story can make me laugh out loud more than once, I usually find it's a good story. I love quick intelligent wit. Countless times while reading this story my husband would say to me, "You are smiling at the book." "You are giggling at the book." "Stop laughing at the book." We read the same kind of books and I can't wait for him to finish the novel he is currently on so I can repeat those same lines back to him! I LOVE the fact that there isn't any detailed sex or seedy romance in the story. Yes, there is a touch of romance, but it is kid friendly, and it is more like a dash rather than a sprinkle. My son (16 yrs old) reads the same genres that my husband and I read, it's a family event. I enjoy being able to pass my books onto my son and then all of us discuss them afterwards. Sorry this is such a long review but stating, "Great read" just didn't seem to do this justice. I am greatly looking forward to more novels from Joseph Lallo. "Jo" is becoming one of my favorite authors. Keep up the good work Jo! And if you need and editor to proof read sometime for you, just let me know! (Seriously)

    165 out of 181 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    Great Read

    I could not put this book down! Shockingly, It was about 900, yes 900 pages long. Most FREE books are not that long. It is the first in a series and the other books, "The Great Convergence" and "Jade" (tie in story), are reasonably priced. A lot of magic and mystic happenings involved! Would recommend to any fellow reader that likes mystic and magical happeings. No harsh lauguage. Well written! Can not wait to start the second book!

    67 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    I should have paid for this book.

    I am always skeptical of the free ebooks. They usually are very poorly written and edited or the plot and characters are two dimensional, at best.

    That being said, I was so delighted and very surprised to find The Book of Deacon a rare exception. The characters are complex and unique. They all have flaws and redeeming qualities. They are complete human beings and the reader will love to cheer them on.

    As for the plot: "A hero to bring peace and redemption to a war torn land" is common. But the author gives this cliche subtle twists. You are questioning who is that hero or if there is more than one. The people of the land seem to enjoy the long war. And magic is, once again, a talent heavily reliant on the elements fire, water, earth, air, and illusion or "the mind".

    The author makes the plot enticing with these small differences. He writes well and has created a unique world He doesn't go into long-winded descriptive paragraphs yet the book still 926 pages long! (Abnormal for a free ebook.)

    In conclusion, this is a lovely novel and it should be in physical print. Read it.

    59 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    What do you get...

    When you combine several tired, overdone fantasy elements with some questionable grammar in a much too long book? Apparently, with a dash of talented character building and a pinch of clever dialogue, a rip-roaring good read! I thoroughly enjoyed every page, even the ones I thought would be silly (mermaids and fox men? Really?) It is also clean, so appropriate for younger readers. But defintely thoughtful enough for the older folk as well! I must go get started on the sequel now...

    37 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enter the world of Entwell..you won't be disappointed

    Its 905 pages, but it reads smoothly and captures your attention from the beginning. Ir's the story of Miranda, a girl orphaned by a war that has raged for centuries. She comes across a dead solider who is carry a precious treasure that will forever change her world. Filled with magic, mystical creatures, wizards all in an epic journey that will having you rushing out to get book 2 as soon as you finish it.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this story!

    The Book of Deacon was the first book to grace my new Nook. I got it on Friday and finished it today ( Monday ). I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this tale! It had everything I look for in fantasy. Joseph Lallo is quite talented, and I greatly look forward to the rest of the series. Can't believe this was free!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Eh.

    The quick overview makes this book seem interesting & a must read. Upon starting the book I was quite disappointed. The beginning starts a little slow (I wasn't sure if he was going for Star Wars or something from the Middle Ages) & overall thr book is written in an extremely simplistic manner. The customer reviews was a big decision factor to read this and I found myself disappointed. I could not finish this book because if the writing style. Might be a good read for younger readers.

    15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    highly recommend

    loved it so much in going to buy the next book

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good writing

    The writing is very good. It flows and the author didn't describe or leave out details that were important. There are few or no grammar mistakes and the characters are very 3 dimensional with real relatable personalities. I would definitely recommend others to read this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    A must for sci-fi readers

    this book and the rest of the series are a must for sci-fi readers. read through the book in one day because i couldn't put it down.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Exhausting!

    After almost 2000 pages of the first two books, I find that I cannot go on to the third. The constant never ending sequence of battles was like being imprisoned in a horrible video game with characters that had no sensitivity. The author set the characters up to have some potential for relationships, but none ever developed. What a shame. This would be a fantastic series if there were less battles and more relationship development. It definitely needs a little romance. All the violence and gore keeps this from being a PG book, but it is far from satisfying as an adult book. Come on, Joseph Lallo, you can do better than that, or don't you believe in romance?

    8 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    This is free?!

    This is an amazing book and I can't believe that it's free! Can't wait to read the next one!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Slow plot. Flat characters.

    Slow! I wasn't impressed with the world building. Main character makes all sorts of awful/stupid/naive decisions yet doesn't appear to learn anything from it. The last third of the book feels rushed to make up for the slowness of the first two thirds. Main character's prodigal magical talent feels forced. Most characters are very one dimemtional and the interactions frequently fell flat for me. No character growth. I won't be looking for the next one.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Gripping

    I cant beleive that this is free! I will definately get the other books in the series

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    An enjoyable fantasy

    I read The Book of Deacon (first in a trilogy) because it was free and I was new to Nook. I found it enjoyable enough to purchase books 2 and 3, which I finished with satisfaction and without regret, and which I happily recommend to others, old or young, male or female.

    A coming-of-age story of Miranda, an orphaned young woman in a simple land in a not-so-simple medieval civil war. Magic and mystery, prophecy and epic battles season the read.

    Good for solo enjoyment or group reading pleasure.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    A solid book, good read for teenagers & those just getting i

    A solid book, good read for teenagers & those just getting into fantasy.

    Spoiler: The plot was interesting but sloooowwww & then rushed at the end as if Mr. Lallo realized that he needed to wrap this up. The characters were okay, started out to be interesting & real but towards the middle & the end became flat & predictable. There were some funny parts & then parts that were stale & dry. I think overall most people will enjoy this book, as it is an easy read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    I just don't get it...

    I read this book when it first came out and i was excited. The synopsis seemed right up my ally. However the characters were a little flat and for the last 1/3of the book i was bored and just wanted to finish it. Now i just passed by this book again and was surprised to see so many 4 and 5 stars. Not sure what people are thinking. Its okay but i wouldn't read it again.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great Book

    I truly enjoyed this book. It was captivating from start to finish. I am purchasing the next book in the series as soon as i post this review!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    I couldn't finish this one. Myranda picked up the sword and then

    I couldn't finish this one. Myranda picked up the sword and then worse and worse things just kept happening to her. She seemed like a pawn, not a character with any agency, so I didn't find her story interesting.  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Dear goodness

    Fantastic! Yes there are no chapter breaks but there is simply no time for one! Plus it flows so smoothly you can forget about no chapters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1029 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52