Customer Reviews for

The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 359 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(240)

4 Star

(55)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

*This review was a collaborative effort on behalf of Orchard Boo

*This review was a collaborative effort on behalf of Orchard Book Club* - Crystal McCabe

Orchard Book Club was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of The Book of Life. Both of us devoured it in about a day. Fellow member Rachel will be adding her review after sh...
*This review was a collaborative effort on behalf of Orchard Book Club* - Crystal McCabe

Orchard Book Club was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of The Book of Life. Both of us devoured it in about a day. Fellow member Rachel will be adding her review after she reads it too so stay tuned for that. Before we start, we think it’s important that you know something about us (Tina & Crystal).

See, we met because of this series. We were both on Twitter anxiously sending tweets to Deb Harkness over the release of Shadow of Night around two years ago and found each other. It was an All Souls Trilogy match made in heaven. Two super fans of the series who became instant online friends. That being said, you must understand that we are both utterly devoted to this book and the entire series. We seriously love it. Everything about it. The characters, Matthew, the writing, the plot, Matthew, the entire experience, and, most importantly, Matthew. (Matthew is Crystal’s absolute top book boyfriend ever. And she reads – a lot!)

Now, onto the review. We pick up right where we left off with Matthew and Diana having arrived back from the past to Sept-Tours to see their combined family. It’s amazing how both families are so different but come together for the sake of Matthew and Diana and the greater overall picture of sacrifice and love. And there is a much greater picture being painted that will reveal itself at the end. There is great strength and solidarity shown by both families to be able to put aside their vast differences and beliefs in order to support Matthew and Diana and what they represent against not only the Congregation but also against all other enemies. There are very noticeable differences at Sept-Tours since they arrived back, but everyone must strive to move forward and continue on the journey at hand. There is not one soul, living or dead, that wants Matthew and Diana to give up on the journey that consumes them.

Enemies and foes seem to be flying at the de Clermonts/Bishops at every turn in The Book of Life. This brings to the forefront the quest to find the missing page of Ashmole 782 in order to attempt to unlock its secrets. Everyone believes that if the book can be repaired by returning the three missing pages that it can explain, among other things like creature origins and blood rage in vampires, how Diana is able to carry Matthew’s children. After all, there is a paranormal romance going on in this series. And we love the moments Matthew and Diana are able to steal away with each other. Matthew’s pet names for Diana of mon coeur and ma lionne are particularly heartwarming to us. We just melt when he calls her mon coeur and fall a little more in love with him. The struggles Matthew faces with being mated to Diana and his intense need to protect her and be near her are a challenge for them both in this book. There even comes a time when they have to fight their battle separately on two different fronts in order to be able to meet in the middle in the end. This is particularly difficult for both of them. Matthew realizes what he must do in order to move forward and he struggles greatly with having to be apart from Diana. However, there is also much understanding to be had about the great strength that Diana possesses as well during this time.

Without giving anything away, a lot of past characters are more prevalent in this book. Everyone has a purpose. Some you love, some you hate, some you come to finally understand, and some you just want to strangle. But we assure you that everyone has their purpose. Deb writes each character so well and so deeply that you have no choice but love them all in the end because each one plays an integral part in the overall story. We even get a better look into all things endearing and heart-rendering about Gallowglass (who was the favorite addition in Shadow of Night for both of us). Some characters we thought we left back in Shadow of Night resurface as well. Like we said, rest assured that EVERYONE has their purpose in this series.

While the battle continues to rage, something beautiful happens. Babies. The scenes surrounding the twins were a particular favorite for us. The dialogue makes you feel like you are in the room. It’s that strong. With the addition of the two newest members of the Bishop-Clairmont clan we really feel how important it is to fight the Congregation and put the issues of the Covenant to rest once and for all. That is the most pressing issue. Finding out about Matthew’s blood rage and the possibilities of it being passed on are a pressing second but with the team they have working on the genetics of it, rest assured that the matter is in good hands.

We feel confident that everyone will agree in the end that no one saw what was coming. We were both completely blind-sighted by some of the events that occur towards the end of the book. We finally get to see Diana come into her own and become stronger than anyone thought she ever could. We get to see Matthew take a few steps back and let her lead once in a while. When this happens you really get a sense of how strong the power of love truly is. It’s not just about a witch and a vampire anymore. It’s not just about the difference in worlds. It’s about love and family and the importance of doing whatever you must to protect it.

Deb just has a way of sending you into this magical world full of so much love, heartbreak, happiness, suspense, hatred, heartbreak, and utter and complete wonderfulness that you will forever be changed by her story. We were! The Book of Life ties the All Souls Trilogy up neatly into one of Diana’s weaving knots. Everything has its place and we don’t think we could’ve imagined a better ending to the story. We are equal parts sad that it’s over and extremely happy about the journey. We became friends because of Deborah Harkness and her books so it seemed only fitting that we worked together on this review. We very anxiously awaiting this book knowing it would be the conclusion of our favorite characters. We will continue to reread the All Souls Trilogy whenever we are in need of a great book. Matthew will remain Crystal’s favorite book boyfriend (probably ever).

In closing, we say “thank you” to Deborah Harkness for inviting us into her world of witches, vampires, and daemons. We are forever changed by your words and we sincerely hope that you will continue to write more books. To the readers, please trust us - you won’t be sorry!

posted by crystalmmccabe on July 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Was waiting patiently for this one to come out. Enjoyed the oth

Was waiting patiently for this one to come out. Enjoyed the other two, In fact Shadow of Night was probably one of my all time favorites. While this was a good story and I'm not saying don't read it, this one has some problems. I've read it twice and feel comfortable...
Was waiting patiently for this one to come out. Enjoyed the other two, In fact Shadow of Night was probably one of my all time favorites. While this was a good story and I'm not saying don't read it, this one has some problems. I've read it twice and feel comfortable with the following problems.

Why introduce ghosts and not use them and where will they reside, France or the Bishop house. I felt the magick was more Hollywood than being true to fiction. How Diana gets her knowledge from the book and most of the magick after that (including Knox's spells) seemed to be more like direction for an action movie than a work of fiction. In my mind it cheapened the writing.

In some places the writing seemed strange, starting in first person than shifting to third was difficult to follow. I also felt after everyone was saved it began to drift and the ending dragged, maybe the astrologic intros. should have been replaced with something else. While I liked them I felt you ran out of stuff to say in the end.

posted by WitchreaderAB on July 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 359 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    *This review was a collaborative effort on behalf of Orchard Boo

    *This review was a collaborative effort on behalf of Orchard Book Club* - Crystal McCabe

    Orchard Book Club was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of The Book of Life. Both of us devoured it in about a day. Fellow member Rachel will be adding her review after she reads it too so stay tuned for that. Before we start, we think it’s important that you know something about us (Tina & Crystal).

    See, we met because of this series. We were both on Twitter anxiously sending tweets to Deb Harkness over the release of Shadow of Night around two years ago and found each other. It was an All Souls Trilogy match made in heaven. Two super fans of the series who became instant online friends. That being said, you must understand that we are both utterly devoted to this book and the entire series. We seriously love it. Everything about it. The characters, Matthew, the writing, the plot, Matthew, the entire experience, and, most importantly, Matthew. (Matthew is Crystal’s absolute top book boyfriend ever. And she reads – a lot!)

    Now, onto the review. We pick up right where we left off with Matthew and Diana having arrived back from the past to Sept-Tours to see their combined family. It’s amazing how both families are so different but come together for the sake of Matthew and Diana and the greater overall picture of sacrifice and love. And there is a much greater picture being painted that will reveal itself at the end. There is great strength and solidarity shown by both families to be able to put aside their vast differences and beliefs in order to support Matthew and Diana and what they represent against not only the Congregation but also against all other enemies. There are very noticeable differences at Sept-Tours since they arrived back, but everyone must strive to move forward and continue on the journey at hand. There is not one soul, living or dead, that wants Matthew and Diana to give up on the journey that consumes them.

    Enemies and foes seem to be flying at the de Clermonts/Bishops at every turn in The Book of Life. This brings to the forefront the quest to find the missing page of Ashmole 782 in order to attempt to unlock its secrets. Everyone believes that if the book can be repaired by returning the three missing pages that it can explain, among other things like creature origins and blood rage in vampires, how Diana is able to carry Matthew’s children. After all, there is a paranormal romance going on in this series. And we love the moments Matthew and Diana are able to steal away with each other. Matthew’s pet names for Diana of mon coeur and ma lionne are particularly heartwarming to us. We just melt when he calls her mon coeur and fall a little more in love with him. The struggles Matthew faces with being mated to Diana and his intense need to protect her and be near her are a challenge for them both in this book. There even comes a time when they have to fight their battle separately on two different fronts in order to be able to meet in the middle in the end. This is particularly difficult for both of them. Matthew realizes what he must do in order to move forward and he struggles greatly with having to be apart from Diana. However, there is also much understanding to be had about the great strength that Diana possesses as well during this time.

    Without giving anything away, a lot of past characters are more prevalent in this book. Everyone has a purpose. Some you love, some you hate, some you come to finally understand, and some you just want to strangle. But we assure you that everyone has their purpose. Deb writes each character so well and so deeply that you have no choice but love them all in the end because each one plays an integral part in the overall story. We even get a better look into all things endearing and heart-rendering about Gallowglass (who was the favorite addition in Shadow of Night for both of us). Some characters we thought we left back in Shadow of Night resurface as well. Like we said, rest assured that EVERYONE has their purpose in this series.

    While the battle continues to rage, something beautiful happens. Babies. The scenes surrounding the twins were a particular favorite for us. The dialogue makes you feel like you are in the room. It’s that strong. With the addition of the two newest members of the Bishop-Clairmont clan we really feel how important it is to fight the Congregation and put the issues of the Covenant to rest once and for all. That is the most pressing issue. Finding out about Matthew’s blood rage and the possibilities of it being passed on are a pressing second but with the team they have working on the genetics of it, rest assured that the matter is in good hands.

    We feel confident that everyone will agree in the end that no one saw what was coming. We were both completely blind-sighted by some of the events that occur towards the end of the book. We finally get to see Diana come into her own and become stronger than anyone thought she ever could. We get to see Matthew take a few steps back and let her lead once in a while. When this happens you really get a sense of how strong the power of love truly is. It’s not just about a witch and a vampire anymore. It’s not just about the difference in worlds. It’s about love and family and the importance of doing whatever you must to protect it.

    Deb just has a way of sending you into this magical world full of so much love, heartbreak, happiness, suspense, hatred, heartbreak, and utter and complete wonderfulness that you will forever be changed by her story. We were! The Book of Life ties the All Souls Trilogy up neatly into one of Diana’s weaving knots. Everything has its place and we don’t think we could’ve imagined a better ending to the story. We are equal parts sad that it’s over and extremely happy about the journey. We became friends because of Deborah Harkness and her books so it seemed only fitting that we worked together on this review. We very anxiously awaiting this book knowing it would be the conclusion of our favorite characters. We will continue to reread the All Souls Trilogy whenever we are in need of a great book. Matthew will remain Crystal’s favorite book boyfriend (probably ever).

    In closing, we say “thank you” to Deborah Harkness for inviting us into her world of witches, vampires, and daemons. We are forever changed by your words and we sincerely hope that you will continue to write more books. To the readers, please trust us - you won’t be sorry!

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful end to a wonderful series. Great characters and perf

    A wonderful end to a wonderful series.
    Great characters and perfect pacing made this a standout novel.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    It was an exceptional ending to a brilliant trilogy. I loved how

    It was an exceptional ending to a brilliant trilogy. I loved how many details were put into the series even though it is classified under the new-age pop culture crisis regarding other worldly phenomenon. It saddens me that the series came to a close, but  because i am satisfied with how it was made, I will have to let it go.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Beautiful ending for a wonderful trilogy!

    I adored each of these books and feel like the characters are family. The 3rd/final book is perfectly done; there's heartache, joy, hope, pain. There is a new beginning and a thoughtful, satisfyjng end to the story. No spoilers here other than to say you will miss these characters when you finish the trilogy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Series overview: Diana Bishop always knew she was a witch but un

    Series overview:
    Diana Bishop always knew she was a witch but until she found an ancient, enchanted text in a university library and met a devastatingly handsome vampire she didn't know both would be her destiny.






    The Book of Life:
    Diana and Matthew have returned from their successful time-walking, name-dropping journey of the 16th century married and Diana improbably pregnant with twins only to find tragedy and turmoil waiting for them in the 21st. It seems their time away left more unanswered questions about the ancient text they went to the past to investigate. It’s now more important than ever to find The Book of Life and discover its secrets because it may be the only thing that will save their own family but it also may hold the secrets of all the earth’s creatures.




    The Book of Life is an amazing end to Deborah Harkness’s All Souls Trilogy. She continues to manipulate history and expertly mixes science and fantasy.  Her mastery of words is again evident in her mellifluous narrative showing her skillful blend of prose and conversation and she doesn’t ignore the extreme importance of the minutia and the mundane. Her eclectic blend of fantastical, mythical and fanatical characters is supremely portrayed and will not be soon forgotten once the story ends.
    The trilogy is intricately interlaced and should be read in order.
    Deborah you’ve brought me along as a willing traveler on this incredible journey and I can’t wait to see where we travel to next.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2014

    Was waiting patiently for this one to come out. Enjoyed the oth

    Was waiting patiently for this one to come out. Enjoyed the other two, In fact Shadow of Night was probably one of my all time favorites. While this was a good story and I'm not saying don't read it, this one has some problems. I've read it twice and feel comfortable with the following problems.

    Why introduce ghosts and not use them and where will they reside, France or the Bishop house. I felt the magick was more Hollywood than being true to fiction. How Diana gets her knowledge from the book and most of the magick after that (including Knox's spells) seemed to be more like direction for an action movie than a work of fiction. In my mind it cheapened the writing.

    In some places the writing seemed strange, starting in first person than shifting to third was difficult to follow. I also felt after everyone was saved it began to drift and the ending dragged, maybe the astrologic intros. should have been replaced with something else. While I liked them I felt you ran out of stuff to say in the end.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Fantatic

    Loved it! Need a movie!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Fantastic

    What a great conclusion. The right amount of everything and no breaking of my heart with the twists and turns. Although B & N did a horrible job with nook page formatting so many page skips and reading the last 10 pages was like piecing puzzle pages together. Horribly frustrating to the flow of reading and being able to stay in story world. Good job to the author one star rating to barnes and noble and nook.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    What an amazing, beautiful conclusion to the All Souls Trilogy.

    What an amazing, beautiful conclusion to the All Souls Trilogy. Sad it is over but all of your questions, worries and more are answered. I recommend reading the first two books in the trilogy before this though so you are current on what is going on and who is who.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Diana Bishop, witch and historical scholar, is now wed to the va

    Diana Bishop, witch and historical scholar, is now wed to the vampire and scientist, Matthew Clairmont; together they are seeking to discover several scientific facts about their DNA.  For Matthew seeks to understand the composition of his “blood rage,” Diana seeks to learn more about the “weaving” skills she possesses that seriously affect the magic she is learning to control in her magic; and finally they seek the missing pages of the magical alchemical book Ashmole 782, which is “The Book of Life.”
    These major characters are assisted by a covey of witches from New York, thwarted by Matthew’s evil son, Benjamin, and assisted by other scientists who are human, vampire, and members of the Congregation of Witches.  This is normally a highly unlikely union as vampires and witches are usually highly suspicious of each other and are more enemies than colleagues.  Add to the intense tension arising from Matthew and Diana’s reappearance from the 1500s to the present the fact that Diana is now pregnant with twins.  Will they be vampire, witch or human?  Will they possess the devastatingly destructive blood rage that Matthew has learned to control?  How will the virulent enmity of Matthew’s son and the orders of the leader of Matthew’s family affect Matthew and Diana’s relationship?
    Ashmole 782 is the quest and the reader will be stunned by the gradually revealed truths about the composition of this book of magic and the reasons why many characters will do anything to find the missing pages and thus gain possession and power of the ancient tome!
    The Book of Life… is carefully plotted, with tender and endearing moments of passion and love between Matthew and Diana; beautiful descriptions of several pivotal places, scenes of fierce conflict in which the battles increase the closer the characters come to the answers to each mystery they seek to solve, and detailed scenes involving the skilled analysis of DNA common, yet unique, to the witches and vampires in this quest.  While this may annoy some readers, it is actually quite necessary to provide credibility to the rest of the mystery of the main characters and the Book of Life.
    Deborah Harkness is a skilled writer who has crafted a very different trilogy of novels that educates the reader about witches and vampires, avoids the stereotypical treatment of this topic, and succeeds in presenting an intelligent, albeit fictional, treatment of some historical realities about witches and vampires.  It’s quite an achievement and not for those who want a light read.  The Book of Life is fiction about the paranormal, history, science, romance, the supernatural and more, a noteworthy and memorable read! This is highly recommended, fiction written by an author who knows how to develop and embellish a great story!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Deborah Harkness is a master storyteller working her own magic i

    Deborah Harkness is a master storyteller working her own magic into the words that have become Book Three and the final installment of the All Souls Trilogy. Readers will find Diana and Matthew to be a befitting couple who will face unimaginable experiences together as one is a weaver witch and historian, the other a vampire who have just returned from Elizabethan England. The way which Diana weaves magic in such a descriptive manor practically has you motioning your own hands as you turn the pages and could easily be a book of its own as Harkness flows imagery around like birds in the wind leaving you bespelled and yearning for more. Matthew is that strong partner, the protector, with a heart of gold and would walk to the ends of Hell for his beloved, but don’t be fooled, he’s an assassin after all.
    The congregration may be small-minded, but they're not complete fools"
    Together they will stop at nothing to safely bring their twins into the world and to find the missing pages of the Book of Life that supposedly contains the key to the ancestries of every supernatural creature and being. With Matthews’s murderous son corners Diana and Phoebe, the safety of everyone’s future rests in Diana’s unhoned magic.
    "And before you ask, I can go outside during the day and my hair won't catch fire in the sunlight. I'm Catholic and have a crucifix. When I sleep, which is not often, I prefer a bed to a coffin. If you try to stake me, the wood will likely splinter before it enters my skin."
    The Book of Life is simply enchanting from the beautiful grimoire like cover and through every single chapter. Readers new to this series will find this to be a solid standalone book that will wet their appetite and leave them emotional with the turn of the last page. A thoroughly magical thrill ride ending to this masterful series.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2014

    I was highly anticipating this book, but I didn't feel this one

    I was highly anticipating this book, but I didn't feel this one lived up to the other two. I found this book to be less exciting and less intriguing, as compared to the previous books, which I loved. The first two books were riveting. This book lacked some of the emerging relationship dynamics and surprises found in the first two books. It felt like the series fizzled a bit at the end.

    I think this book would have benefited from another edit. It was a bit heavy on narrative description, when action or dialogue would have been more effective and interesting to read. I also felt that the author rather obviously and repeatedly stated the themes in the books...appreciate diversity, value family even when relationships are difficult, etc. There was too much narrative explicitly stating these themes, and frankly, this was done first in Charlaine Harris's books and True Blood, so it felt a bit "been there, done that...get on the popular bandwagon" as far as using vampires, witches, etc. as an allegory for equality and diversity. I was originally more intrigued by the relationships, the suspense, the science, and the history, but this last book just didn't deliver as the first did.


    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    I don't think this series could have ended on a better note. Wo

    I don't think this series could have ended on a better note. Wonderful wonderful end to an absolutely terrific series!

    Please, this is book 3 of a trilogy, so do not try to start with this as you will probably be completely lost. Ms. Harkness does do a good job of reminding us of things that were presented in the previous two books, but I still HIGHLY recommend you start with book 1 -- A Discovery of Witches.

    For those who have been waiting patiently for this (as I have) for the end, Harkness has answered every question, left no stone unturned, and left us with a definite "Happy Ending!" She starts exactly where book 2 left off and continued from there. I have loved every moment of this trilogy. It is a love story, an action story, a mystery and ohhhh so much more! I have noticed that the biggest complaint of anyone that did not like the story was that it was too long and drawn out. So my warning is this....... if flowery words and lots of background and descriptions are not for you -- if you only like for an author to get straight to the point, this is probably not the series for you. If, however, you are like me and love for an author to pull you into the story with her descriptiveness... if you love to shut your eyes and feel you are right in the middle of a story... well then this is just the story for you. I am in awe of the research that had to be done to get the history that was in this book. My goodness, this author can really tell a story.

    Thank you so much for your attention to detail Ms. Harkness. This was a fabulously written tale of love. I enjoyed EVERY minute of this series! I hope to see more from you in the future!

    -- SPeeD

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    She pulled it out at the end.

    I almost slept through the first 300 pages. To relieve the boredom I started skipping pages. The saving grace of this book is the last 200 pages. What was missing from the book was the dynamic of Matthew and Diane working in tandem to save their family and achieve their goals. That trip to N.O. was a waste of space. There were too many location changes that did not serve the story line. What I did like was the development of Gallowgas, Diana's time in Venice and the resolution of the book of life (which took a ridiculously long time to find considering the search covered 3 books). The only reason I hung in there was that I absolutely loved the first 2 books. I would read another book in the series but if it dissapoints I'll be done.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2014

    Well done Ms. Harkness.  Fans of the trilogy will find this a sa

    Well done Ms. Harkness.  Fans of the trilogy will find this a satisfying conclusion.  I'm already reading it for the second time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Ok, but not as good as the previous

    The beginning of this book is terrible, it reads like it's written by a high school student. The dialog seems forced, and the characters seem shallow. However, if you can get through the first few chapters, the writing returns to more of the author's typical style. The last book in a series is always a difficult one, but I was expecting more. At first read I found this the most disappointing of the 3, with the first being my favorite.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Loved every bit!

    I usually don't like the conclusions because they tend to feel rushed but Deborah did an amazing job! Especially when she wrote a little "twist" if you will, at the end. I am seriuosly wondering if she will write more. I won't give out any spoilers but seriously it was an epic ending to such an exquisite trilogy! Read the All Souls Trilogy you won't regret it :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Did not want it to End!!  

    Did not want it to End!!  

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Features: Multi-genre (aspects), Intelligence, Light romance

    Amazing trilogy. Full of fantasy, sci-fi, history, English literature references.

    If you enjoy multiple genres, are intelligent, but enjoy reading light romance this is for you.

    Ebook version is skipping or missing multiple pages and not able to track down through chapters either. What happened to the IT editor.

    Read in another format other than B&N ebook.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Great end to the trilogy

    Well written, andcdoes a great job of completing the trilogy without making it feel like it was a book just to wrap up loose ends

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 359 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18