Customer Reviews for

The Book of Mormon

Average Rating 4.5
( 396 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I prefer the paper version

Here's the thing, I downloaded the .pdf version from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint's website, but I found it unwieldy and hard to work with. So, when I discovered that, for a small sum, I could download the Book of Mormon from the Barnes and Noble web...
Here's the thing, I downloaded the .pdf version from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint's website, but I found it unwieldy and hard to work with. So, when I discovered that, for a small sum, I could download the Book of Mormon from the Barnes and Noble website, I was pleased. However, it's still unwieldy and hard to work with.

This leads me to a conundrum. How do I rate what I believe to be holy scripture? The content is good, just finding it is difficult. If there is a way to go to a specific chapter and verse without a lot of clicking, I haven't found it. I wasn't expecting cross references or foot-notes, but I'm surprised at how much I miss them.

Bottom line, I'm glad I have this for, say, when I'm traveling, so I don't have to weigh my bags down with extra books--I mean, that's the whole purpose behind buying a nook in the first place, right? But for Church, or my every day study, I'm going to stick with my old dead tree version.

posted by Cordillia on October 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS THE FREE VERSION FROM GUTENBURG

Do not give these people money for this book, you can download the same version from gutenberg for free. It is even stated on the first page when you download the sample from BN.

posted by 3844287 on December 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Really?

    This book has more fiction than the twilight series.

    10 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    hard to read

    lots of weird symbols n spaces

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    shut my nook down

    font starts out normal for the first few pages then turns into hard to read unchangable fonts

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Should be free.

    Any missionary would give you the real deal for free....

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Worst book of lies

    Fantasy if u notice their is an author name mikle and if this was reel their wouldnt be made up stuff if u realy want to get to heven read the holy bible and become a christian and have a relationship with God u will never regret it and every word is true

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Freaks!"

    Religious FREAKS, Jesus isn't real!!

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    God is not a man

    The bible clearly states that God is Spirit--not man. Read John 4:24 in context. Jesus is explaining that because God is Spirit, we must worship Him in spirit and in truth. The bible also states that "God is not a man that He should lie." As for man being created in the image of God....humanity best expresses the image of God in his capacity for relationships, making moral choices, thinking and reasoning and love. Mormons, I say with all sincerity, if you ask God to reveal Himself and the truth of His word, He will surely do it.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Sad

    I am happy that this book changed all of your lives. However, you need to educate yourself on the Holy Trinity-- The Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. All are EQUAL in the eyes of the Christian church. God was NOT a man...Ever. This is why you cannot call yourself a Christian. I hope this book brings you peace in this life, but sadly, you are mislead. In the Bible God teaches us of false prophets who will be very convincing. That is who you believe in. For your salvation, seek out the truth! Or just enjoy your happiness here on earth because there is no such thing as the "celestial kingdom."

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    great work of fiction

    that is if you can stay awake through the first chapters. this 'book' was translated by Joseph Smith from 'golden plates' written in 'reformed egyptian' with the use of 'seer stones' with his head in his hat. people, you can't make this stuff up. this book has everything, violence, money laundering, fraud, and an escape across the ocean. The only thing it lacks are women characters. in the entire book there are only seven named women, and they are mentioned only in conjunction with a male character. i tried to read this with an open mind. didn't work.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Fraud

    This book is not the inspired word.It was written by man uninspired by God. Read Gal 1:8.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Bad book

    I am a christan and I say tjat book is crap cause it dis obeys GOD and we should not do that be cause we wont see him in HEAVIN

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Butt load of crap

    It dont mean a weasles eye if you serve dont JESUS THATS RIGHT, JESUS!!!! So anu wya dont by this book. You may go on missions but if your not preachin the gospel all your doin is leading others to hell. Can i get an amen on that !!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    To below

    An entirely different one then Christianity, i assure you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2