Customer Reviews for

The Book of Mormon

Average Rating 4.5
( 403 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(330)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

I prefer the paper version

Here's the thing, I downloaded the .pdf version from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint's website, but I found it unwieldy and hard to work with. So, when I discovered that, for a small sum, I could download the Book of Mormon from the Barnes and Noble web...
Here's the thing, I downloaded the .pdf version from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint's website, but I found it unwieldy and hard to work with. So, when I discovered that, for a small sum, I could download the Book of Mormon from the Barnes and Noble website, I was pleased. However, it's still unwieldy and hard to work with.

This leads me to a conundrum. How do I rate what I believe to be holy scripture? The content is good, just finding it is difficult. If there is a way to go to a specific chapter and verse without a lot of clicking, I haven't found it. I wasn't expecting cross references or foot-notes, but I'm surprised at how much I miss them.

Bottom line, I'm glad I have this for, say, when I'm traveling, so I don't have to weigh my bags down with extra books--I mean, that's the whole purpose behind buying a nook in the first place, right? But for Church, or my every day study, I'm going to stick with my old dead tree version.

posted by Cordillia on October 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS THE FREE VERSION FROM GUTENBURG

Do not give these people money for this book, you can download the same version from gutenberg for free. It is even stated on the first page when you download the sample from BN.

posted by 3844287 on December 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    I prefer the paper version

    Here's the thing, I downloaded the .pdf version from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint's website, but I found it unwieldy and hard to work with. So, when I discovered that, for a small sum, I could download the Book of Mormon from the Barnes and Noble website, I was pleased. However, it's still unwieldy and hard to work with.

    This leads me to a conundrum. How do I rate what I believe to be holy scripture? The content is good, just finding it is difficult. If there is a way to go to a specific chapter and verse without a lot of clicking, I haven't found it. I wasn't expecting cross references or foot-notes, but I'm surprised at how much I miss them.

    Bottom line, I'm glad I have this for, say, when I'm traveling, so I don't have to weigh my bags down with extra books--I mean, that's the whole purpose behind buying a nook in the first place, right? But for Church, or my every day study, I'm going to stick with my old dead tree version.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Not my favorite in e-book format

    The e-book format is a little difficult for this book. Also, you can't highlight scriptures, which is a benefit of the hard copy. Still great to have at my fingertips though!
    And if you're interested in this book, you can also request a free hard copy from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2012

    Quick conversion of the Project Gutenberg version.

    The table of contents is very basic. The text is from the gutenberg web site text file. There are better Nook versions available.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    I+love+the+stories%21

    I+find+if+you+don%27t+look+at+it+as+%22homework%22+and+look+at+it+more+as+pleasure+reading%2C+you%27ll+enjoy+it+a+lot+more.+I+love+1st+nephi%2C+it+always+been+my+favorite.+I+do+wish+i+could+highlight+passages+though%2C+but+i+love+being+able+to+have+this+on+my+nook%2C+it%27s+so+much+easier+than+carrying+a+bulky+book+in+my+bag.+%3A%29+

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    nfhn

    ncjfjuu

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Quote from this book, "And now, my beloved brethren, and al

    Quote from this book, "And now, my beloved brethren, and also Jew, and all ye ends of the earth, hearken unto these words and believe in Christ; and if ye believe not in these words believe in Christ. And if ye shall believe in Christ ye will believe in these words , FOR THEY ARE THE WORDS OF CHRIST, and he hath given them unto me; and they teach all men that they should do good"
    After sincerely reading this book with an open mind I also know for myself that this book is the word of God. Test it out for yourself and I promise you it will change your life forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    Timeless book, I like the fact that it is easy to read.

    Timeless book, I like the fact that it is easy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Hello

    this book is only 99 cents .someone said you can get the Book Of Mormon from gutenberg for free!! But it wasn't.it was 38 or 28 dollars so this is the cheapest

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    I have read the book and been a member all my life

    Yet i recently noticed something. Some serious things that are also extremely obvious. For one, elephants, the wheel, weapons, and horses were not around in america during joseph smiths time. There was never a great battle, unless it was a fist fight. Horse drawn carriages couldnt have existed in america withous horses and the wheel. But the thing that i hate most is the hatred for women. I asked my teachers why women could not have the preisthood and they said this, "woman got us kicked out of eden, and God is a man, so they can never be like God" im a guy, and most wouldnt think so because of my hatred for this, but thats just disgusting! If adam and eve werent kicked out of heaven, WE WOULDNT EXIST!! Also, the hebrews wrote the first testament, and the hebrews in other records did things differently than they did in the bible, so you cant always believe them. Do any men out there believe thay women should be allowed to have the preisthood for a church they love? Theyre not fighting against you, they want to be stronger mormons and you cultists aare denying them that!!!!!! YOU ARE DISGUSTING! ITS GROTESQUE HOW YOU TREAT WOMEN! Thomas S. Monson says a woman who wants the preisthood should state her questions and requests to a group of men. Wow. Biased like crap. Also. Alchohol. The ONLY thing jesus drank. Why cant we have it? Because joseph smith said so. Not cuz god said so. Tea and coffee. They were made by god so we could use them. Why would he make something if we would go to he<_>ll for drinking it? You guys. Im a semi active member, and i know the church is the one most false church. The more i go, the more i see that. Chew on this mormons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2