BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Book of Nonsense (Sacred Books Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

enjoyable mystery/fantasy

Daphna and Dexter Wax are twins who are turning thirteen. Their father, Milton Wax, is a dealer in rare books who must be gone from home for weeks and even months at a time on book scouting hunts. The twins' mother, Shimona, who was also a rare book dealer, had been k...
Daphna and Dexter Wax are twins who are turning thirteen. Their father, Milton Wax, is a dealer in rare books who must be gone from home for weeks and even months at a time on book scouting hunts. The twins' mother, Shimona, who was also a rare book dealer, had been killed in Turkey by an earthquake looking for books shortly after their birth. Daph and Dex are taken care of by their father's assistant and secretary, Latty Pellonia. Milton returns with a very rare book that is ancient, ravaged, and full of nonsense and goes to sell it to a used book dealer, Asterius Rash, who has opened up a new bookstore, the Antiquarian Book Center, in their neighborhood. All of a sudden, bizarre things start to happen. After meeting Rash, their father is suddenly distant as if he had been hypnotized. And Rash's assistant, a red-eyed boy named Emmet, is menacing them. Does their thirteenth birthday have anything to do with all this? And how does Dexter's tutor, an elderly woman named Ruby Scharlach, fit in?
First, I will say that this book, which is Volume I of the "Sacred Books" Series, is somewhat odd, but I suspect that it was intended to be so. However, next I will say that it is a very well-written and exciting story that kept me turning the pages to see what would happen next. Parents may want to know that there is a little bit of what is usually considered bad language, namely a vulgar term for urination and one curse word which is said to be very uncharacteristic of the utterer (Milton in his seemingly hyptonized state). The scene near the end where there is quite a bit of shooting and killing may be a little intense for sensitive children. Daph and Dex each have their issues with one another, in fact, they "can't stand each other," and with their father who is gone so much. There are some instances of skipping school, disobedience, lying, and other bad attitudes, but in the end they all learn to work together to find the truth. However, if you do not mind these things and like adventures with some mystery, fantasy, and even magic thrown in, you will probably enjoy this book. Also, there is a sensitive portrayal of dyslexia incorporated in the plot.

posted by storiesforchildren on December 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Is it a good book

I love books i do not know if i should read it help

posted by 16950200 on July 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable mystery/fantasy

    Daphna and Dexter Wax are twins who are turning thirteen. Their father, Milton Wax, is a dealer in rare books who must be gone from home for weeks and even months at a time on book scouting hunts. The twins' mother, Shimona, who was also a rare book dealer, had been killed in Turkey by an earthquake looking for books shortly after their birth. Daph and Dex are taken care of by their father's assistant and secretary, Latty Pellonia. Milton returns with a very rare book that is ancient, ravaged, and full of nonsense and goes to sell it to a used book dealer, Asterius Rash, who has opened up a new bookstore, the Antiquarian Book Center, in their neighborhood. All of a sudden, bizarre things start to happen. After meeting Rash, their father is suddenly distant as if he had been hypnotized. And Rash's assistant, a red-eyed boy named Emmet, is menacing them. Does their thirteenth birthday have anything to do with all this? And how does Dexter's tutor, an elderly woman named Ruby Scharlach, fit in?<BR/> First, I will say that this book, which is Volume I of the "Sacred Books" Series, is somewhat odd, but I suspect that it was intended to be so. However, next I will say that it is a very well-written and exciting story that kept me turning the pages to see what would happen next. Parents may want to know that there is a little bit of what is usually considered bad language, namely a vulgar term for urination and one curse word which is said to be very uncharacteristic of the utterer (Milton in his seemingly hyptonized state). The scene near the end where there is quite a bit of shooting and killing may be a little intense for sensitive children. Daph and Dex each have their issues with one another, in fact, they "can't stand each other," and with their father who is gone so much. There are some instances of skipping school, disobedience, lying, and other bad attitudes, but in the end they all learn to work together to find the truth. However, if you do not mind these things and like adventures with some mystery, fantasy, and even magic thrown in, you will probably enjoy this book. Also, there is a sensitive portrayal of dyslexia incorporated in the plot.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    wonderful start

    Wonderful start to an adventure series including twins and a book quest. The characters are varied and colorful which makes this story fun to follow.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    Exciting new series

    Daphna loves books, and can¿t wait to show her father the wonderful old bookstore she¿s discovered while he¿s away. But when her father comes home, he isn¿t himself, and he¿s brought a strange old book with him.<BR/><BR/>Her twin brother, Dexter, dislikes the idea of reading as much as Daphna loves it. He resents Daphna¿s intelligence, and he¿s often the butt of schoolmates pranks and jokes.<BR/><BR/>But when their dad sells this book to the mysterious stranger who owns the shop, in exchange for Daphna¿s assistance, they need to band together to find out what¿s going on. And what does their mother¿s disappearance all those years ago have to do with this unusual book?<BR/><BR/>Full of mystery and adventure, The Book of Nonsense pulls the reader in, wondering about this tattered old book full of nonsensical writings. What do the words mean, and how can they be used for power? And how can Daphna and Dexter stop its owner from using it for evil purposes? These questions are only partially answered in volume one of this exciting new series.<BR/><BR/>A great read!<BR/><BR/>Reviewer: Alice Berger, Bergers Book Reviews

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The start of a great new series.

    The day before their thirteenth birthday the father of feuding twins Daphna and Dexter Wax, Milton, returns from a book scouting trip with a mysterious old book. Daphna immediately knows what to do with it. She wants to take it to the new rare book shop that just opened up in earlier in the summer, The Antiquarian Book Center (ABC). Somehow the blind owner of the shop, Asterius Rash, mesmerizes Milton into giving him the book and promising to have Daphna return the next day to be his assistant. <BR/><BR/>What baffles both Daphna is that the book was full of nonsense. The writing was in an unknown language and these nonsense words seemed to change right in front of her eyes. Suddenly her father is stuck ill overnight and Daphna is forced to team up with Dexter in order to solve the mystery of the book because things aren't as they seem at The ABC and their lives are unexpectedly in danger.<BR/><BR/>The Book of Nonsense is Book One in a planned five book series. I enjoyed the adventure that the twins went on and I'm positive that the target age group of 9-12 year olds will love this book. The plot twists are imaginative and the characters are well developed. The ending was neatly tied up but at the same time there is a cliff hanger that will have readers looking forward to book two.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    A nice read

    This was an unexpected pleasure ~ a nice read.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Gripping!

    Other reviews can describe the story - I'll just say that the book was creative, interesting, and held my interest throughout. The characters are realistic and sympathetic, and the plot is compelling. I'm waiting for the sequel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Great Read

    I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading this book. I found that it held many mysteries and I love trying to figure them out as the story unfolds. I immediately bought the next book in the series after I finished this novel. I could not leave Dex and Daphna just hanging. I eant to continue on the adventure with them

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Archive the book

    Archive the book

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    read me

    How do we delete books? I really need to know... please answer me

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Underdeveloped

    Underdeveloped characters, annoyingly immature, couldn't get through the book, too trite

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Is it a good book

    I love books i do not know if i should read it help

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Exciting!!

    This book pretty much kept me on the edge of my seat! It's about two sibilings (twins) who find this book. It's nothing but jibberish nonsense. But when their father seems to be dazed all the time after meeting with this crazy looking man, it's up to the kids to figure out what's so important about this book. Has 125 pg.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Okay read.

    Teen book, kind of slow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Should I??????????

    Is this book worth my space on my NOOKcolor and wortg my zero money? And also would anyone reccomend this book for an 11y year old girl cause i don't really know if i should i mean so far everything i have gitten that was free was a peice of crap... oh yeah and i'm new to this do people really use these as a social talking thing????

    0 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    !!!!

    The author of this book came to my school!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1