BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Book of Questions

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    I use some of the appropriate questions in a Public Speaking course that I teach for impromptu speech assignments. The questions herein are excellent conversation starters and foster group discussions on a variety of issues relative to wealth, power, love, goals, success, responsibility, friendship, and more. Truly a useful tool for anyone in the communications or social sciences discipline. I constantly refer to it, and it's also fun for parties and get togethers. A great coffee table book. Something that makes you think, discuss, and ponder. Reasonably priced and a worthy, thought-provoking read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    A great book-

    This is a great book to have sitting on your coffee table. This will really get a conversation going. Have your friend or family pick a number and turn to that page and ask the question. This is a great book for a long car trip- you will really have some entertaining, thought provoking conversations and you will learn new things about people that you never knew before! You think you know someone until you ask them the questions from this book. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    This book makes you take a closer look at who you really are.

    Unlike the many self-help books that try to change some aspect of your personality or behavior, this one just allows you to see yourself-exactly as you are at this moment-more clearly. Like any honest self-evaluation, it can make you proud, ashamed, happy or sad, depending on which question you are looking at. Above all, it makes you think.

    The book is a quick read in terms of word count, but it has a long-lasting influence. It's ideal for sharing with friends...and virtually guaranteed to stimulate interesting conversation!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    Great 4 Teens!!!

    This book helped me and my boyfriend get to know each other even when we thought we knew everything!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Kelsey

    Space and time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Merry

    Right here in this book im posting in (duh) (merry)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    HatchetBlade

    The pasta mansion, duh.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    THE FIFTH QUESTION

    Where?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Great Conversations

    My husband at first was hesitant to start using this book and then I had a hard time getting him to put it down! He wants to bring it to any gathering we have in the future. If you are looking for a book to get to know someone and have great conversations, this is the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    TRULY A CLASSIC!!!!!

    I read this book when it was first published and still read it today. It's great reading it with friends and an excellent source for finding out what kind of values your friends and you have (if answered honestly). Thought provoking as well as entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2005

    This Book is Makes me think and wornder.....

    im a high school student in california and This book Lets me and my dad have converstions alot easier. We usally dont have anything to talk about and sitting in silence is pretty unconfotable but this makes it ten time much better.........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    EXCELLENT BOOK

    GREAT DATE BOOK! This book helped me (and my now finace) really get to know each other from the very start. We spent hours on the phone answering these questions back and forth. I wonder if we would be where we are now without this great little book? It is great for all ages of people. Everyone should own a copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    I love this book

    With this book I've been able to speak to people that I just blew off before because I didn't know a thing about them. It is a very informitave book and I defineitly recomend it. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    A true classic!

    This book has been circulated among my friends for years and used at different social functions. Whenever we get together, someone inevitably asks, 'Where's the Book of Questions?' It really helps you get to know those you love and share your life with... (we just need a volume 2!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2001

    Great 'Get to Know you Book'

    This book can help to create an intimate understanding between friends, family, or lovers. . .What a great book! I highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2001

    Fun!!!

    This book is an absolute wonder. It helped my brother and his girlfriend really get their relationship going. I used this book to help teach my Advanced placement English class as well. This is a great book and I incourage everyone to check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    Great Book

    We used this book in my Speech class today and it helped us to get in one another's heads. This book would be awesome for long trips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    HORRIBLE, HORRIBLE BOOK

    I don't see how reading these questions helps you to find out about yourself... the whole book consists of played out situations testing your morality to rediculous extremes... The questions get repetitive and half of them sound like questions junior high school kids talk about during lunchtime... If anybody's using these horrendous questions as conversation topics i highly suggest you get out more, or at least get a better book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2001

    Excellent fun!!

    This book is so much fun to read by yourself or with others. A great coffee table book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2000

    A conversationalist's goldmine.

    This book is a goldmine of topics that take daily conversations beyond the trivial and mundane. I have carried this book around with me many times, and it has turned many a dull conversation about the weather into a sparkling discussion about life: my attitude in my own life and in the lives of others. In a group of friends, this book works wonders. Asking 'serious' and 'personal' questions to your friends can be artificial and difficult, but with the help of this book it's a piece of cake. Have one member of the group pick a question number at random, and then have them answer that question, followed by the other members of the group. It works fantastic! My only gripe with this book is that as a Christian, I found that some of the questions were trivial and unimportant. For example, questions about personal boundaries with respect to sexuality or the preservation of human life were easy for me to answer on the basis of the guidelines of the Bible. My Christian friends also found that these questions didn't result in much discussion, because we all agreed with each other from the outset! We also found that some questions are too direct and inappropriate, such as very specific questions about your first sexual encounter. However, such questions can easily be skipped over by the discerning reader, and there are more than enough other questions in this book to keep a group busy in healthy conversation for a long time. A very useful tool!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2