Customer Reviews for

The Book of Rules: The Right Way to Do Everything

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!!!!

This book was so cool! There were so many things in this book that I have never thought of before and they are so right!!!! I love it.... I love the discrepancy forms in the appendix. I WILL be writing in to suggest updates for the next book. I am going to make a differ...
This book was so cool! There were so many things in this book that I have never thought of before and they are so right!!!! I love it.... I love the discrepancy forms in the appendix. I WILL be writing in to suggest updates for the next book. I am going to make a difference in the world! :)

posted by Fasttime on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too tedious and too much work to be entertained

I barely made it through chapter 2 before I was ready to put it away.

posted by 9698861 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Love this book!!!!

    This book was so cool! There were so many things in this book that I have never thought of before and they are so right!!!! I love it.... I love the discrepancy forms in the appendix. I WILL be writing in to suggest updates for the next book. I am going to make a difference in the world! :)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Wow

    Wow

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Too tedious and too much work to be entertained

    I barely made it through chapter 2 before I was ready to put it away.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Cool idea!

    Why didn't I think of this? So many things about life I never though of before! A really good read. I love the discrepancy forms in the back of the book that you can issue to your friends!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    The ultimate coffee table, bathroom, waiting room, beach, airplane, screw off at work book.

    Joshua Belter's highly amusing, tongue firmly in-cheek, interactive book is going to be a huge hit! This book will settle domestic arguments, start domestic arguments and have you laughing out loud as you wonder "is he serious?" The Book of Rules will infuriate you and approve of you as it defines its own set of guidelines on how we should live our lives. Better still, the book is interactive by allowing the reader to submit their own rules for future publications. Got a pet peeve? Got a rule you think others should live by? Submit it to the regulatory board for consideration. See someone breaking a rule? Give them a Discrepancy Form describing the rule they broke and what they should do to correct it. Don't be surprised if you get a Discrepancy Form from one of your friends from The Book of Rules soon. A great gift for any occasion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    GREAT COFFEE TABLE BOOK

    Fun conversation starter. Have friends that need a little help with social etiquette? Or just want to start a friendly debate? Perfect book for either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Check this out!

    This is a person with lots of time on their TV! Who thinks of this stuff? Quite hilarious!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Accurate?

    I actually thought this was gonna be filled with "actual" rules about random things presented in a humorous way. Well it is funny, but I'm not sure how much of it is accurate. While a lot of it is common sense, I wonder about the toilet paper rule...I swear there's a lot of documentation that says it goes the other way. Other than that it's an entertaining book, just might not want to take it seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Got some snickers, but didn't finish

    I can see if I was in the right mood for it this could be really funny, but I didn't really get into this book. YMMV, check out a sample if it's offered, you might really enjoy it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Terrible

    Not worth the time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    You know all the 'unwritten' rules we all try to follow? Well someone wrote them down. I can't help but read this book with a British accent. Well worth your time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    A unique and quirly book

    It used to be free, about two years ago. Its really unique and interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Could not get past the first 5 pages

    Unfortunately, I did not enjoy this book at all. A lot of banal information delivered in an uninteresting format.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Quirky and Enteraining

    There is definitely a large amount of this which is very much common sense. That being said...this should be required reading to enter into adulthood. From things such as:
    - walking in a store
    - shopping and parking etiqutette
    - meal sharing
    - public restroom guidelines
    - driver / pedistrian courtesy....

    All presented in a humourous manner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Interesting

    Not really the sort of book compatible with e-readers. A paper copy would be more suitable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Intersting

    This books was interesting but had a lot of very strange rules.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    COOL BOOK

    It Is a Cool Book !!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1