Customer Reviews for

The Bookseller (Hugo Marston Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A wonderful debut mystery!

When I was first offered the chance to read and review this book, I naturally had to say yes. I mean, after all, it’s booksellers and I used to be one so how could I possibly resist? It didn’t hurt that the description was so enticing. Paris, kidnapping, murder, booksel...
When I was first offered the chance to read and review this book, I naturally had to say yes. I mean, after all, it’s booksellers and I used to be one so how could I possibly resist? It didn’t hurt that the description was so enticing. Paris, kidnapping, murder, booksellers, spy-ish stuff—what more could I want? And now I’m happy to report that debut author Mark Pryor and The Bookseller have lived up to my hopes quite nicely.

Hugo Marston has joined my list of heroes I love to read about, joining the likes of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher and Patrick Lee’s Travis Chase. These are the guys who have all the brawn they need but they use their minds to win the day and that is so very appealing to me. Hugo also has a pretty nifty buddy in Tom Green. The two look into the puzzle of the missing and murdered booksellers with open minds and great aplomb and the pace is almost faster than you can keep up with. Possible perpetrators and motives are in abundance and, at the same time, the author gives us a feel for Paris that is so rich and full of history that, at times, I forgot the story takes place in contemporary times or, at least, within the last 75 years. Or so. You’ll just have to find out for yourself ;)

Wonderful characters abound besides Hugo and Tom—in the very first pages, I came to like Max immeasurably—and the plot keeps on a-comin’. Throw in an intriguing journalist, the Parisian police, Nazi hunters, drug dealers and the hindrances that come with being attached to a US embassy and there’s hardly anything more you need. Oh, I mustn’t forget the feeling that the author gives that the reader is sitting right there in Paris soaking up all its beauty and history while all this is going on around you. What a lovely way to read a book!

To me, three things are most evident when an author is really good. First is strong characters, second is a plot that grabs me and won’t let go, and third is a mastery of the English language. Mark Pryor has it all in his first novel and I can’t wait for his next Hugo Marston mystery.

posted by BuriedUnderBooks on November 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not a bad book, although when I pay $10+ for a book I would like

Not a bad book, although when I pay $10+ for a book I would like it to have been proofread and edited -- especially when the author purports to love Paris [and implies that he knows it well] but can't spell or accent French words correctly. What are publishing houses do...
Not a bad book, although when I pay $10+ for a book I would like it to have been proofread and edited -- especially when the author purports to love Paris [and implies that he knows it well] but can't spell or accent French words correctly. What are publishing houses doing these days with the galleys they send to their authors? Or do they even bother, knowing that the authors can't spell or use grammar to begin with?
As another reviewer said, the "banter" between Hugo and Tom is juvenile and there seems to be a lot of filler-conversation ... as if Pryor was trying to sttrrreeeetttch his story to make it "worth" the $10+. He was not successful.

posted by frogprof on December 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A wonderful debut mystery!

    When I was first offered the chance to read and review this book, I naturally had to say yes. I mean, after all, it’s booksellers and I used to be one so how could I possibly resist? It didn’t hurt that the description was so enticing. Paris, kidnapping, murder, booksellers, spy-ish stuff—what more could I want? And now I’m happy to report that debut author Mark Pryor and The Bookseller have lived up to my hopes quite nicely.

    Hugo Marston has joined my list of heroes I love to read about, joining the likes of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher and Patrick Lee’s Travis Chase. These are the guys who have all the brawn they need but they use their minds to win the day and that is so very appealing to me. Hugo also has a pretty nifty buddy in Tom Green. The two look into the puzzle of the missing and murdered booksellers with open minds and great aplomb and the pace is almost faster than you can keep up with. Possible perpetrators and motives are in abundance and, at the same time, the author gives us a feel for Paris that is so rich and full of history that, at times, I forgot the story takes place in contemporary times or, at least, within the last 75 years. Or so. You’ll just have to find out for yourself ;)

    Wonderful characters abound besides Hugo and Tom—in the very first pages, I came to like Max immeasurably—and the plot keeps on a-comin’. Throw in an intriguing journalist, the Parisian police, Nazi hunters, drug dealers and the hindrances that come with being attached to a US embassy and there’s hardly anything more you need. Oh, I mustn’t forget the feeling that the author gives that the reader is sitting right there in Paris soaking up all its beauty and history while all this is going on around you. What a lovely way to read a book!

    To me, three things are most evident when an author is really good. First is strong characters, second is a plot that grabs me and won’t let go, and third is a mastery of the English language. Mark Pryor has it all in his first novel and I can’t wait for his next Hugo Marston mystery.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not a bad book, although when I pay $10+ for a book I would like

    Not a bad book, although when I pay $10+ for a book I would like it to have been proofread and edited -- especially when the author purports to love Paris [and implies that he knows it well] but can't spell or accent French words correctly. What are publishing houses doing these days with the galleys they send to their authors? Or do they even bother, knowing that the authors can't spell or use grammar to begin with?
    As another reviewer said, the "banter" between Hugo and Tom is juvenile and there seems to be a lot of filler-conversation ... as if Pryor was trying to sttrrreeeetttch his story to make it "worth" the $10+. He was not successful.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    A bit disapointing.

    Having been to Paris and visited the "booksellers" area, I was hoping to relive some memories and read a good mystery but it wasn't to be. The plot was okay but the writing seemed almost juvenile at times. The "give and take" between the main character and his sidekick could have come out of a comic book. I was hoping for more.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    This was really good!!

    I am normally a cozy mystery reader but I found this at my local library and it interested me.

    Hugo Marstan is a character immersed in security at the American Embassy in Paris. He and his ex-wife are avid readers and Hugo becomes friends with a road side bookseller (quite common in paris). While spending a morning trying to find a gift for his ex-wife to try to win her attention, Hugo buys a famous book of poems and a 1st edition Agatha Christie from bookseller friend Max. But Hugo also witnesses Max's kidnapping.

    In his search for his friend, Hugo meets an attractive French reporter and reconnects with an old cia buddy.

    The deaths of more booksellers, break-ins, drug lords and some alley way shoot outs are some highlights of this story.

    I have to say I found Hugo Marston a little boring in the beginning but the introduction of the reporter and his old friend brings more life to the story and the dialogue included bickering, some f-bombs, and some intelligent conversations involving conspiracy theories.

    Overall, this was very good!! I would recommend it to those cozy readers that want to root for a little tougher hero who wears Texas cowboy boots!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Great book! Highly recommended!

    What a well written book! I look forward to the next one. I have recommended this book to all of my friends! Surely captures the very essence of Paris.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    I really enjoyed this debut mystery. I love mysteries, and I lo

    I really enjoyed this debut mystery. I love mysteries, and I love finding new authors. I'm always a little trepidatious when reading someone new, but I was definitely not disappointed with the first Hugo Marsten mystery. The Paris scenery is a fun twist--made me yearn to return to the city of love. The characters are well developed, the plot is tight with a couple of surprises, and the writing builds suspense. Can't wait for the next Hugo Marsten mystery!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    This book was recommended to me by a friend who knows I enjoy th

    This book was recommended to me by a friend who knows I enjoy the Paris setting. I also have been part of a mystery book group for over 15 years.
    I did enjoy the setting, but wish there was just a bit more Paris history or information about the "booksellers" (but then there is Google!)
    I felt the plot was nicely done and it did keep me reading.  Liked the twists and turns.  I liked Hugo and felt the other characters were well developed,
    but Tom needs a little work. He should disappear less and drink less.   I do agree his interaction with Hugo was a bit immature but quite possibly that will change in  
    future books. I read quite a few series writers who have had main characters for many many ears and they have certainly not remained the same over time.
      It is difficult for a first in a series writer to get characters and setting introduced as well as write a good mystery without rambling on and on.
     I believe this first time author did a good job.
    I do plan to read the second in the series to see how the characters develop and sense of place.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    just ojay Just okay

    It was an okay book for me. I don't think i would read another in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    This is a great story and an easy read! I enjoyed getting to kno

    This is a great story and an easy read! I enjoyed getting to know the characters and I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Bon read!

    Looking forward to reading more Hugo Marston adventures; which is a good measure of a book--leave you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Good

    For a first time writer, this was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

     Hugo Marston has definitely become a great literary protagonist

     Hugo Marston has definitely become a great literary protagonist. I thoroughly enjoyed the twists and turns that came about in this mysterious Sherlockesque novel. Mark Pryor definitely gets a thumbs up for his debut, and I cannot wait to read the next Hugo Marston adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Great read

    Excellent plot and chacrers you care about . Can't wait for the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1