Customer Reviews for

The Bookstore

Average Rating 3
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler What first attracted me to want

The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler
What first attracted me to want to read this book is for the simple fact it's about a bookstore. I love books!
Love all the detailed descriptions of New York, feel like I'm walking beside Esme. She is from England and has only been in a ...
The Bookstore by Deborah Meyler
What first attracted me to want to read this book is for the simple fact it's about a bookstore. I love books!
Love all the detailed descriptions of New York, feel like I'm walking beside Esme. She is from England and has only been in a city a short while.
She meets up with Mitchell and they check out various restaurants. After just a few short weeks she is pregnant and rather than tell him, she was going to, til he broke up with her.
She is going to be able to afford the baby but has many doubts. College, job and the baby will be her life.
Love how the information at the bookstore is shared with anybody that walks in-especially like book titles and author's names and a quick summary of what the book is about.
She has just a few who support her decision...Love hearing of all the characters who pay a visit, so colorful!
Quite erotic sex talk and acts. When Mitchell comes back into her life, is it for her and is it for keeps or is he just passing by?
I received this book from Net Galley via Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books in exchange for my honest review.

posted by jbarr5 on August 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Have you ever found yourself in a situation that you had no cont

Have you ever found yourself in a situation that you had no control over? 
I find myself at odds with this book. First, it’s written in first person and had way to many “I”s for my liking, but there are many readers who like books written in that fashion. Secondly, it w...
Have you ever found yourself in a situation that you had no control over? 
I find myself at odds with this book. First, it’s written in first person and had way to many “I”s for my liking, but there are many readers who like books written in that fashion. Secondly, it was flooded with more artistic information or “filler” words that took up most of the book, rather than focussing on the development of the characters and the story. It felt like the character’s developments were rushed or not as thought out as they should have been. I got the impression Deborah Meyler is very bright and knowledgable, but used that knowledge in an over kill kind of way. I mean no disrespect by that comment because, I believe authors need to do research and have knowledge of the topic their books are about. Otherwise, the stories are empty. The difference for me is that, develop the characters while you’re instigating the information. It’s all about flow and intermingling the two for me. In this case the characters fell short on the development side, which allowed the information to over shadowed them. Some people may like that though.
In saying all of that, I’ll tell you that the main heroine, Esme, is put in a situation that she has no control over. Sadly she is made to make the best of her circumstances..all on her own. As so many of us are made to do in real life. She’s not as strong of a character that I like, but relating to her struggles and her desires to keep trying, was identifiable. For me, there were A LOT of times that I just wanted to smack some sense into her and make her grow a backbone too! Esme is a good person through and through that’s for sure, but everyone has their breaking point right. Now as far as the hero…there wasn’t any definitive character to match that title. Esme was involved with the jerk of all jerks…Mitchell. UGH!!! He was horrible and I did NOT like him at all!!!!! I just kept thinking, “there’s something seriously wrong with that man!!!” I kept wanting to smack him repeatedly…he was just plain out repulsive and deeply disturbed!! My brain was left in a tizzy after reading his parts that, a lot of times I’d catch myself shaking my head to clear it. If that’s how the privilege act or live, then I’d rather be poor. On the up side though, the story does have some really wonderful and quirky characters. Esme’s good friend Stella is very insightful and supportive. I loved her and the people that Esme works with at the bookstore called the, Owl, were lovable. I almost thought that a love spark was forming with a co-worker named, Luke, but that story line just kinda fell through the “lines.”
I just don’t know what happened with this story…the ending was abrupt and didn’t solve anything, except for the fact that Mitchell was a “mental case” and Esme was left “high and dry.” When I finished the book I just felt robbed because, I could see the potential for more with this story. It’s not that I didn’t like the book, it was a decent read. But…it’s not one of my favorites. My advice, is to focus on the intermingling and development of characters. I firmly believe that, Deborah Meyler has the capability to be a great writer~I see it, but just go slow and steady and build, construct your characters..spend time with them and then incorporate your knowledge WITH them. It’s the ebb and flow…

posted by davis9713 on August 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    I enjoyed the characters, but I wished they were more developed.

    I enjoyed the characters, but I wished they were more developed. I kept waiting on something exciting to happen....the plot just dragged on and on and I became bored with it and forced myself to finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    Have you ever found yourself in a situation that you had no cont

    Have you ever found yourself in a situation that you had no control over? 
    I find myself at odds with this book. First, it’s written in first person and had way to many “I”s for my liking, but there are many readers who like books written in that fashion. Secondly, it was flooded with more artistic information or “filler” words that took up most of the book, rather than focussing on the development of the characters and the story. It felt like the character’s developments were rushed or not as thought out as they should have been. I got the impression Deborah Meyler is very bright and knowledgable, but used that knowledge in an over kill kind of way. I mean no disrespect by that comment because, I believe authors need to do research and have knowledge of the topic their books are about. Otherwise, the stories are empty. The difference for me is that, develop the characters while you’re instigating the information. It’s all about flow and intermingling the two for me. In this case the characters fell short on the development side, which allowed the information to over shadowed them. Some people may like that though.
    In saying all of that, I’ll tell you that the main heroine, Esme, is put in a situation that she has no control over. Sadly she is made to make the best of her circumstances..all on her own. As so many of us are made to do in real life. She’s not as strong of a character that I like, but relating to her struggles and her desires to keep trying, was identifiable. For me, there were A LOT of times that I just wanted to smack some sense into her and make her grow a backbone too! Esme is a good person through and through that’s for sure, but everyone has their breaking point right. Now as far as the hero…there wasn’t any definitive character to match that title. Esme was involved with the jerk of all jerks…Mitchell. UGH!!! He was horrible and I did NOT like him at all!!!!! I just kept thinking, “there’s something seriously wrong with that man!!!” I kept wanting to smack him repeatedly…he was just plain out repulsive and deeply disturbed!! My brain was left in a tizzy after reading his parts that, a lot of times I’d catch myself shaking my head to clear it. If that’s how the privilege act or live, then I’d rather be poor. On the up side though, the story does have some really wonderful and quirky characters. Esme’s good friend Stella is very insightful and supportive. I loved her and the people that Esme works with at the bookstore called the, Owl, were lovable. I almost thought that a love spark was forming with a co-worker named, Luke, but that story line just kinda fell through the “lines.”
    I just don’t know what happened with this story…the ending was abrupt and didn’t solve anything, except for the fact that Mitchell was a “mental case” and Esme was left “high and dry.” When I finished the book I just felt robbed because, I could see the potential for more with this story. It’s not that I didn’t like the book, it was a decent read. But…it’s not one of my favorites. My advice, is to focus on the intermingling and development of characters. I firmly believe that, Deborah Meyler has the capability to be a great writer~I see it, but just go slow and steady and build, construct your characters..spend time with them and then incorporate your knowledge WITH them. It’s the ebb and flow…

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Not really my cup of tea. I didn't connect with the main charac


    Not really my cup of tea. I didn't connect with the main character, Esme, so right off the bat that's not good. I'm not going to go too much into it, since I pretty much skimmed the last 50 percent of the book. I just couldn't get into it. The ending was very flat for me also. I didn't like most of it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Gallery Books and Edelweiss.)
    20-something Esme from England is living in a studio apartment in New York while she does her PhD in Art History at Columbia University when she finds out that she is pregnant.
    Callously dumped by her boyfriend because the sex wasn’t good, Esme decides to not even both telling him about the baby, but unfortunately he finds out anyway and tries to talk her into an abortion, which Esme doesn’t want.
    How far will boyfriend Mitchell go to try and get his way? Can Esme sway him into keeping the baby and being a real family? And is a job at a small bookstore just what she needs?


    I don’t even know where to start with this book, it was just bizarre.

    The Charaters:
    Esme was such a sucker it was ridiculous. How many times can a man be a total eejit and you still love him and want him? How many times do you keep going back for more?
    Mitchell was an absolute turd. If it wasn’t bad enough that he dumped Esme because the sex was bad, he then kept trying to talk her into an abortion, and then got his father to try to bribe her into an abortion. Never mind that he then tried to talk her into a threesome, in fact had already set it up when she was 6 months pregnant and had never wanted a threesome in the first place.
    The people who came into the bookshop were also pretty certifiable. It was like you had to be a few sandwiches short of a picnic to even make it in the door. This was including, but not limited to the weird woman who threatened to complain to the town hall because they had a stuffed owl in the shop (called ‘The Owl’), and she was ‘breathing in dead owl dust’.

    The storyline:
    I’m not going to even start on this, instead I’ll just share with you my status updates on Goodreads, which kind of speak for themselves:

    7% - she propositions her boyfriend and he tells her he's busy? Time to get a new boyfriend.

    8% - she masturbates with a toothbrush? not sure I needed to know that.

    10% - she doesn't want sex so he says she can give him a blow job instead?

    14% - what an arse wipe.

    19% - because everyone wants to hire someone who doesn't have a work visa and is pregnant.

    26% - a homeless guy tells her to go to a deli 5 blocks away and that she should eat in, and she doesn't suspect that leaving the bookshop with him might be a bad idea? That he might just rob the place?

    37% - So now her "friends" are telling her that she must have gotten pregnant on purpose because there's no such thing as an accident? Nice friends you've got there love.

    42% - This bloke is just unbelievable. After trying to trick her into getting an abortion and pressuring her repeatedly, he now pops the question in a crowded restaurant?
    Please don't tell me that she says yes!

    43% - She said yes. Has she learned nothing?

    43% - And now he's moaning about the fact that she wants a sip of wine. It might hurt the baby - the baby that he wanted aborted, and still doesn't really want.

    46% - What the hell is wrong with running a cupcake business?

    54% - He thinks she should be playing beach volleyball whilst pregnant?

    64% - Now his father is trying to bribe her into getting an abortion!

    65% - "Such a pretty name, where did you get it?"
    Don’t most people get named by their parents at birth? She didn't exactly buy it at Wal-Mart!

    73% - She has an awful lot of caffeine for a pregnant woman.

    84% - She's six months pregnant and he's trying to talk her into a threesome?!

    85% - I think he just told her that loving her makes him contemplate suicide! What a charming man.

    88% - Now he's breaking up with her because the relationship is hollow? It's hollow because he is hollow! She's better off without him. What an ass wipe.

    88% - "I don't even particularly like you."
    Well he liked her enough to get her pregnant!"

    89% - And she's still trying to talk him in to marrying her. What is wrong with her?

    95% - Well at least she's breastfeeding.

    I can honestly say that this book was just strange. I just didn’t get it at all. Mitchell deserved to be strung up, and Esme needed her head testing for continuing to chase him and go along with his plans.

    I don’t think I’d recommend this to anybody, it wasn’t even funny, and this ‘family’ that she’s supposed to have made at the bookstore was just a bunch of nutters who all hung around the same place, and didn’t mind too much when a homeless man stole from them. I mean seriously?

    If you want to read some women’s fiction, I’d suggest Jodi Picoult or Jane Green, and suggest you steer well clear of this. Oh, and if you’re wondering, the baby was a girl, let’s hope she’s got more sense than her mother.
    Overall; a strange women’s fiction story, that wasn’t even funny.
    5 out of 10.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Esme Garland is attending Columbia with a prestigious scholarshi

    Esme Garland is attending Columbia with a prestigious scholarship trying to obtain her PhD. She meets Mitchell Van Leuven and starts an affair of sorts...until the blue line appears on a pregnancy test. Mitchell Van Leuven is the bluest of blue bloods in New York and is constantly keeping Esme on a roller coaster of emotions and mind games. Coming and going Esme doesn't know what to do or how to feel.

    This book is a love it or hate it type of story. With it's extensive art history and book classics...if you don't know who or what they are talking about you will be on Google more times than not. Esme's constant over analyzing of everything and long drawn out explanations of every thing. I just couldn't connect with any part of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2013

    The Bookstore Deborah Meyler ARC supplied by Netgalley. Its dif

    The Bookstore Deborah Meyler
    ARC supplied by Netgalley.
    Its difficult to categorise this book as a romance, it has romance and yet it has so much more. Its like calling two weeks on a package holiday in Benidorm and a luxury three week cruise aboard a select private ship both vacations....They are, and yet they are very very different. This book is about the journey, the cruise type holiday rather than the quick, lets get to the destination and on the beach one.
    Anyway, it opens gently bringing us to know Esme and Mitchell. It's pretty clear to me from the outset that Esme is the intelligent, dreamer type of person and in love wit being in love. Mitchell seems to be a practised seducer, a rich man seeking something but doesn't know what. For now that’s Esme, and he dominates her smartly making her think everything is her idea. Its very cleverly done. Then of course drama! Unexpected pregnancy, and all the problems and decisions that brings. As we're told though Mitchell calls everything off before she can tell him, and she's on her own. Then we get to know the Owl book-store and its myriad of different characters from those who work there, those who are customers, and just the regular people who “drop in” for various reasons. Esme has lots of support from them and yet... she's really on her own, alone and lonely in a strange country, facing a difficult situation. I feel she's a very head in books, impractical person, and all that happens forces her into practicalities and decisions she'd never had thought of.
    Its a world where she swims from being together with Mitchell, to alone, and back again...she has to look at herself and her options, at Mitchell, and try to see past his glittering charm, at the Owl and its people and their place in her life. There's joy here and tears, lots of angst ( and oh how I love that) along with the high spots. Overall though I found it a sad novel. Its very well written, full of quotes from novels, poets and history. It's difficult not to feel a bit of a dunce reading some of it – it has that if you haven't read Tolstoy/Tolkien/Oscar Wilde/Dostoyevsky you're a hick feel. And though I love Oscar Wilde I've never read the others – never appealed to me but I felt lost the way so much of the novel revolved around this kind of writing. Sort of the way critics may say an artwork has “esoteric, metaphysical concepts between all parts of the invisible and the visible cosmos “ - believe it, as an artist I’ve seen and read it!! – and to me it means nothing, just a meaningless jumble of words, and its the Art I enjoy for its own sake while to others it has a deep, dark undefinable reality to it and is essential to their enjoyment of the piece. I loved the potential of this story, but not necessarily the way it was constructed. But as ever that’s one opinion, its all horses for courses etc and I’m sure there are those for whom this novel will be perfect.
    Anyway, some fabulous characters, a meandering journey of discovery for Esme, though I'm not sure she learned as much as she ought, beautiful vivid descriptions of life from the huge overview of the busy, bustling, impersonal city to the tiny details of the flavour of a bagel, and the colour of a drink, it's a book that's deeper than expected. Maybe just too deep for me...I enjoyed parts, but at heart I'm a romanticist and I need that HEA, and it just didn't happen. The ending is quite ambiguous – you can almost read what you want into it. I loved Luke, and thought maybe he and Esme would be good together, then again as an optimist I was hoping Mitchell could get behind the problems that let to his behaviour and come forward as the hero but....I guess its the enigmaticness of the ending that left me feeling a bit...unfulfilled, unsatisfied, needing more almost. I felt that there were so many possibilities open, so many ways the novel could continue that it was as if I'd just come to an end partway through the book. I know there are readers who don't need all the boxes ticked, who are content to mentally imagine their own solutions but sadly for this book I’m not one of them. Add to that the way I felt almost illiterate by the way some of the writing went, and its not one I’d re read.
    Stars: difficult, its so well written that it ought to be higher but I'm rating on whether I personally enjoyed it and – well – its between didn't like it and OK for me, so two and half stars. Have to stress again that this is just a one person view and if you like different novels to me then you'll probably feel totally different about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Do not waste your money buying this book. Deborah Meyler brough

    Do not waste your money buying this book. Deborah Meyler brought situations up in her book that really could have been explored further then just dropped them leaving the reader to wonder. The character Esme, a struggling student from England, seems to want for nothing too. Without giving the plot away, I just have to say that this was a waste of my time and money. So disappointed!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1