Customer Reviews for

The Borgias: The Hidden History

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

I thought this might be a difficult read due to long history and all involved with this era and was wrong. Mr. Meyer did great research and story development. A very interesting read. I highly recommend.

posted by missieann on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A great book for history lovers!

Unfortunately, while I enjoy reading historical fiction this book was not the fictional account that I was hoping for! I was hoping for a story that I could read and compare to the series available on TV. I had not the patience to sit down and read this book- I needed p...
Unfortunately, while I enjoy reading historical fiction this book was not the fictional account that I was hoping for! I was hoping for a story that I could read and compare to the series available on TV. I had not the patience to sit down and read this book- I needed pen and paper to keep track of all the places and dates and people-way to much like a history class.

posted by 8159866 on May 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Excellent read

    I thought this might be a difficult read due to long history and all involved with this era and was wrong. Mr. Meyer did great research and story development. A very interesting read. I highly recommend.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    A great book for history lovers!

    Unfortunately, while I enjoy reading historical fiction this book was not the fictional account that I was hoping for! I was hoping for a story that I could read and compare to the series available on TV. I had not the patience to sit down and read this book- I needed pen and paper to keep track of all the places and dates and people-way to much like a history class.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Aryas' bio

    Name: Arya Gender: Female Age: 16 turning 17 soon (October 11) Parent: Unknown...for now Description: A pretty lean, but suprisingly strong, girl with green-blue eyes. She is tan and has long wavy, brown hair. She usually wears anything aeropostale, hollister, abrecrombie, and ameeican eagle clothes. (She will most likely post something about her certain outfit). Weapons: Bow and arrow-Duel swords-throwing knives and short blades Crush/Boyfriend: Just got here so I dont know anyone that well. Likes: Swimming-Horseback riding-Climbing-Having fun-Dancing-Basketball-Volleyball Dislikes: Being bored-Clowns-mean people. Anything else? Dont be afraid to ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Axios bio

    Name Axios age 16 parent hades red eyes black hair weapons sword with a speci something it can do and a dgger anything else just ask?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    T's Really Short Useless Bio

    Name/Age/Crush/Godly Parent/History/Personality/Powers/Weapons,etc: He hasn't an idea. He's an amnesiac. Severely.<p>
    He is dubbed 'T' by himself shortly after waking up at Camp Halfblood.<p>
    Appearance: Shaggy black hair, lanky, dark chocolate colored skin, silver eyes that reflect the moon. Wears a CHB tee, Vans, and Jean shorts, all accumulated at the Infirmirary.<p>
    He's kind of friends with Sarah. He just met her.<p>
    That's it, Muggles! BAI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Izzy's Bio

    Name: (hint, look up.)



    Gender: (take a second to think about this one.)


    Appearance: wavy brown hair with a blue streak that falls just below her shoulders. Green eyes with gold flecks that are usually filled with humor. She usually wears blues or greens that compliment the light tan on her skin. She always has a dolphin necklace on.


    Personality: from a distance, she seems like a crazy spaz. Which she sort of is. But if you get to know her, she can be quiet and serious. (Just ask Sara.) She loves sharing a good joke and loves to see people happy. She can also get very angry and protective if you offende her or one of her friends.


    Weapon: she always carries two throwing knives.


    Godly Parent: ol' barnacle beard. (Poseidon.)


    Likes: hippocanpus, her cabin, being around other people and the water.


    Dislikes: arenas, (long story,) large, burly men, (another long story, and the color orange. (Not a long story, she just hates orange.)


    Other: she has this weird thing where she loves hearing other people's stories. She's not a spy, even though a ton of people seem to think so. Also, she hates being called immature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Calli's Bio

    Name- Calli Bates
    <br>
    <br>
    Gender- &female
    <br>
    <br>
    Age- Almost 15.
    <br>
    <br>
    Godly Parent- Dionysus.
    <br>
    <br>
    Weapon- Bow and Arrow.
    <br>
    <br>
    Height- 5'4.
    <br>
    <br>
    Apperance- Long blonde hair, blue eyes that turn green. Im kinda pale. I usually wear skinny jeans, black vans, and just regular t-shirts.
    <br>
    <br>
    Status/Crush- Single, I dont know anyone.
    <br>
    <br>
    Anything else? Just ask, I dont bite. &hearts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    Alera`s bio

    Golden brown hair green curious eyes. Godly parents.....aphrodite. Skills_hunting camo an battle ranks. Single. Can be adventreous when she wants to. Love hagin in trees

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Sam bio 3

    Name:-_- .
    Gender:Male . Crush:Calli . Gf:Maybe... . Godly parent: Hermes . Description: Slight muscles, Tan, Tall, Strong. . Likes: Calli, Pranks, Summer, Music, Nature. . Dislikes: Chill, Ice, Cold, Bad jokes, Blizzards. . Other: Ask. And resist the erge to hose me... Plz. ;3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Saepio's Bio

    Name: Saepio (Seye-peh-oh.) Johneson. (John-es-ohn.) &#19998 <p> Gender: Male &#19888 <p> Age: 15 &#19998 <p> Crush/GF: None. Not interested in anyone here. &#19998 <p> godly Parent: He's still searching.... &#19998 <p> Human Parent: Unknown. He is adopted, with no link to his origin... &#19998 <p> Appearance: Very short, not muscular at all, natural choppy black hair with added white streaks, very pale-skinned, Bloodshot Gray eyes... &#19998 <p> Weapon(s): None. He's not much of a fighter... &#19998 <p> Powers: None that he's discovered.....Though he does have a strange ability...He can make people fall asleep, if he touches them...No choice... &#19998 <p> Attire: A black hooded sweatshirt, under that is a black T-shirt that says 'Blink and you're dead'. He wears jeans and sneakers....He NEVER wears bright colors... &#19998 <p> Likes: Quiet, daytime, being alone, horses, music, black.... &#19998 <p> Dislikes: Night, the moon, loud people, sleeping, yawning, people trying to pry into his past...&#19998 <p> History: He was adopted from Venice Italy as a small child... He has a lot of large gaps in his memory... &#19998 <p> Quote: 'I may not seem very interesting, but you've never been inside my mind. My mind is so incredible that only one person can stand it's chaotic beauty. And it's me.' &#19998 <p> Anthem: 'Fresh Air' or 'Second Chance' both from The Legend of Korra.... &#19998 <p> Signiture: Saepio &#19998 <p> (Ooc: I like to invision things as an Anime....thou hast been fore-warned...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Ryan's Bio

    <p> Name: Ryan Cooper Dahl </p>
    <p> Gender: Male </p>
    <p> age: 14 </p>
    <p> Godly Parent: Hades </p>
    <p> Crush: Heartbroken at the moment.. </p>
    <p> Weapon: A pocket knife that can turn into a sythe, infinity bow, long sword, short sword, dagger, shield. Made of Onyx, the moust powerful and deadly material stairt from Hades Garden and the mines of tartaurus. Storng enough to kill minor minor gods and mortals. Uses the sythe most of the time. </p>
    <p> Power: Not really a power, but black electricity comes out of his eyes and into a weapon hes using, super charging it and causing it to have more knockback. </p>
    <p> Head: Black spiky and choppy hair. Green eyes. </p>
    <p> Clothes: He usually wears a CHB shirt with ripped jeans. </p>
    <p> Persona: Kind, ferice, tempermental, smart and genrous. </p>
    <p> History: NA </p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Cale Fox's Bio

    Name: Cale Sinclair Fox

    Gender: Gentleman

    Age: 16

    Godly Parent: Aphrodite

    Physical Description: I have short, slightly curly, light brown hair, cold and deep blue eyes. I'm well muscled and very toned due to my training and I stand at just about 6 feet tall. I have a large scar across my chest (A parting gift from my father) and I generally speak with a thick French accent.

    Personality: I act cold and distant, but all I really want is a group of trustworthy friends and a stable home environment. I'm secretly terrified of women due to the fact that I never really learned how to interact with them, and because the aspect of love scares me stiff. I also hate wealth and greed, seeing it as the ultimate form of corruption.

    Clothing: A light blue V-Neck, black slim straight jeans, blue flip flops, and black sunglasses. I usually slip on my black leather jacket when it gets cold in the afternoons and I almost always wear my black, knee-length Speedo under my clothes just in case. I also have full a tailored black suit and a sapphire blue tie from my assassin days. Whenever I go on missions or planned operations I wear my black, fingerless leather gloves with brass knuckles built into them. I usually carry my black backpack around with me, which contains a variety useful tools.

    Weapons: An ebony bladed katana with a sapphire inlaid hilt, a curved dagger, and potent smoke bombs.

    Skills: Assassination, Swimming, Running, Sabotage, Gymnastics, Swordplay, Singing, Sprinting, Seduction, Working Out, Hand-To-Hand, Cooking, Tracking, Battle Tactics, Meditation, Kickboxing, Driving, Guitar Playing, and Contemplation.

    History: I was trained as an assassin from the age of 5 by my father so I could be a valuable tool to his corporation. At the age of 13, after a little over a year of being used as a hitman/saboteur, I went rogue. During my escape, I killed my father and over four dozen of his associates and employees. I also transferred nearly a million dollars of his blood money to my personal bank account as I ran. I stowed away on a plane for the US to evade my new enemies, and after two years of living abroad, I received a message from my mother explaining my lineage and about Camp Half Blood. I arrived at Camp HB shortly after my 16th birthday.

    Status: Single

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Marissa's Bio

    Name-Hmmm...I wonder. What could it be? <p> Age-15 turning 16 August 2nd. <p> Gender- &female <p> Height/Weight-5' 8" She weighs 107 lbs. <p> Looks-Marissa has short, choppily cut dark brown hair. She has a pixie-like nose with a sprinkle of freckles. She has bright blue eyes. She is tall and thin, with pale skin. <p> Personality- Marissa was never very outgoing, but recent trauma has caused her to go into a shell. She won't talk much, and she doesn't show emotion very much anymore. She keeps her secrets except for a few, which she tells family and friends. But although she seems timid, don't cross any lines. She will hurt you emotionally and phyisically. <p> Crush- Sigh...He likes another girl.... <p> Status- Single <p> Powers/Weapons- Marissa can speak French, charmspeak, and is actually extremely good at hand to hand combat. She owns a dagger, and she knows all the pressure points. <p> History- You don't need to know. <p> Anything else- Ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Peter

    Im nice fun but im not as good as a fighter as some peeps but im pretty good. Has cancer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Damocles

    Name: My name before death was Ryse but I'm known as Damocles to everyone. You can call me either one. I also go by Damo. <p> Age: Unknown. I've lost track of my age over the thousand of years but I look 21. <p> Gender: Male. <p> Appearance: I have brown hair and bright blue eyes tht can change to green if I'm hunting down someone. I wear a white racer jacket , white pants, and white shoes. I also wear a red V-neck shirt. <p> Personality: Not easily scared, trustworthy, caring, easily bored or entertained, funny, and intelligent. He is also a great stratigist and an excellent assassin. <p> History: I was born in Rome and was a respected general in the Roman army. I was killed in battle by vikings but Nemesis, the Goddess of revenge, brought me back to life. Now I'm immortal and seek out those who have evil purposes in life. I am Damocles, the Vengful warrior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Maximum's bio

    Name: Maximum Day. <p> Age: 15 <p> Godly Parent: Zeus. <p> Looks: black hair, blue eyes, 5'5, pale, belly button piercing, tongue piercing <p> Crush: nope. <p> History: ask.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Hope

    Age: 13

    Name: Abigail Hope Brewster

    Crush: shhh... Don't tell, it's Marlin.

    Relationship:No (I wish)

    Appearance: Swimmer's body, dark brown hair, about 5'8". Usually wears a t-shirt and shorts.

    Likes: Green, blue, swimming, her crush, surfing.

    Dislikes: Her first name, being too far from Hawaii's oceans.

    History: Lived in Hawaii until a few days ago. Was orphaned with her two brothers, Turnet and Chase. Chase and Hope were 6 yrs old, Turnet was 10. Chase and Turnet went to the boys orphanage. Hope went to the girls. Turnet helped her get to CHB but died protecting her. She hasnt seen Chase in 5 yrs.

    Godly Parent: Posiden.

    [ Guess thats it... yawn. Its lke 3 AM here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Kyleah

    Name: Kyleah [Kuh-Lay-Uh] Locke, or you can call her Leah. She doesn't mind.

    Age: 15 turning 16 August 31st

    Godly Parent: Aphrodite

    Appearance: Body wise, she has long, toned legs and a willowly build. She is lean, but surprisingly powerful when it comes to battles. She's around 5 foot 7 and weighs in at 115 lbs. She has waist-length blonde hair that is thick and straight, and is typically in a braid to keep it out of her face or just down hanging loosely. Her eyes are green with hazel near the pupil, and they never fail to portray her emotions. Like most children of Aphrodite, she's generally pretty.

    Personality: In general, she's always happy and bubbly. She loves to talk and hang around with her friends, but can be serious when needed. And yes, she can be a bit of a flirt, but Aphrodite is her mother it comes with who she is. Anyways, she's fiercely loyal, and would do just about anything to protect something or someone she cares about. Being stubborn and a bit short tempered are also words to describe her.

    Clothing: Honestly, anything. Being an Aphrodite kid has its perks, especially that her cabin has unlimited outfit choices.

    Weapon(s)/Skills/Powers: She's good with her twin daggers and a bow and arrow. She's decent at hand to hand combat, and she recently discovered that she can throw a pretty good punch when angry. Not really sure if being able to swim, surf, play volleyball, do perfect makeup in under two minutes, or draw are skills, but hey why not? Lastly, she can charmspeak. The effect can range on how strongly she feels about the statement.

    Status: Taken by Agni. What can she say? She's a hopeless romantic.

    Fatal Flaw: Her loyalty. She trusts people easily, and she could definitely get taken advantage of by her alleged "friend."

    Brief History: She always knew she was somehow different from the other kids in California, and they recognized that too. She was popular with people, and was at the top of the social pyramid. When she was 15, she noticed there was this pull to go to New York. Long Island to be exact. So, she did. She took a series of trains and buses to get there, and when she arrived she was attacked by a drakon. She sprinted across the barrier, and instantly felt like she was home.

    Other: Like many demigods, she has ADHD. She can also speak fluent French. Lastly, she really loves music, EDM and Alternative to be exact. She can be heard and seen humming a song or tapping her foot to a beat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Herb's Bio!

    Name- Herb River Clemins. <p>

    Age- Hmph. Fifteen. Why? <p>

    Gender- Male. <p>

    Godly Parent- The one and only Eros... Many know him as Cupid. Yeah. That guy. Minus the diaper and wings.... Oh, and he isn't a baby.<p>

    Description- Oh. Just on the plus side of gorgeous. Just kidding. Although, he is fairly attractive, being a son of the attraction god. He has tousled ash blonde hair and bright sky blue eyes with a violet ring around the edge. Dark, think eyebrows that curve inward towards the front, giving him a mischievous, yet playful look to him. A long, yet well built, structure. His posture is excellent, eyes contact also, unless if he feels guilty. Then AVOID EYE CONTACT AT ALL COSTS. xD <p>

    Personality- Hm... Herb is— different. He likes to stay behind a "wall" and tries to avoid attention, usually. Talking long walks, alone or with someone, help him think. He has practiced sword-fighting, but will let you underestimate him. He's fairly social, but there is a higher chance of the both of you talking if he go up to him. Open to suggestion. <p>

    Crush- Heh. About that... It's obvious, though. I mean, seriously. Well, she knows. He nearly tired to forget her, then the note came. <p>

    Girlfriend- Err. Kinda a big label? Right? I'm not sure. We'll find out sometime. Hm. <p>

    Weapons- Dagger and his shield that forms into glasses. <p>

    Theme Song- "C'mon" by Panic! At The Disco with Fun. <p>

    Other- Ask! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Alexander Hellsing's bio

    Name: are you blind?

    Godly parent: hades

    Gender: male

    Looks: about sholder langth black hair and emerald green eyes. He has pail skin and stands about 5' 8"

    Stile: normaly wares dressy things (its wha he likes) you will normaly se him waring black dress shoos dress pants. A blood red dress shirt and black vest with victorian disin on it. An to top it a black fidora with red band around it. A pair of eirings and a skull ring on his finger The only thing out of place is his black sword at his belt and two dagers there as well.

    Persinality: gt to kn him hes a nice guy

    Crush: whats that?

    Relashinship: what?

    Other: just ask

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2