Customer Reviews for

The Boy Who Sneaks in My Bedroom Window

Average Rating 4.5
( 341 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(254)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Ive read many books but this book was amazing in every single wa

Ive read many books but this book was amazing in every single way down to the last detail of an amazing story.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

okay so I really wanted to like her books but I gave them only t

okay so I really wanted to like her books but I gave them only two stars for these reasons. First off both of her books are the same story with different characters...boy and girl grow up next door to each other, sleep in the same bed with no sex until one day the girl ...
okay so I really wanted to like her books but I gave them only two stars for these reasons. First off both of her books are the same story with different characters...boy and girl grow up next door to each other, sleep in the same bed with no sex until one day the girl opens her eyes and realizes she's head over heels for boy and then they can't stop having sex, girl is being abused  by someone which allows boy to come to rescue, boy is a womanizer but turns good for girl, boy and girl get married.
Second every girl boy came into contact with wanted jump on him because he was was so hot (I believe her in one of the books he was liked to a roman god) and when he turns them down they hate on the girl and then every boy the girl comes across wants to get in her pants because she's so hot. I'm not even going to touch the issue that a 16 yr old was having sex much less with an 18 yr old. I can't believe a grown woman wrote these books. I was sure these were written by a teenage girl. Maybe she's living out 
her unfulfilled fantasies through her characters. Also way too many grammatical errors though I can overlook these if I like the actual story.

posted by 976692 on December 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Ive read many books but this book was amazing in every single wa

    Ive read many books but this book was amazing in every single way down to the last detail of an amazing story.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    "Sometime I feel like there's a hole inside of me, an empti

    "Sometime I feel like there's a hole inside of me, an emptiness that at times seems to burn. I think if you lifted my heart to your ear, you could probably hear the ocean.... I have this dream of being whole. Of not going to sleep each night, wanting. But still sometimes, when the wind is warm or the crickets sing... I dream of a love that even time will lie down and be still for." Quote from Practical Magic.

    I know probably wondering why on earth I would post a quote from a movie for a review. Well I finished this book, and this was immediately stuck in my head. Amber and Liam are this love that time will lie down for. This is young adult novel, but it is so incredible deep that all ages will love it. This is not your first love story, but rather a TRUE LOVE STORY! I was blown away by this carefully and intricately crafted story that flows through these pages. The hidden meaning and deep emotion wrapped around every thought and action is incredible. Even for Liam being the neighbor; after climbing into Amber's bed the first time he had agreed to share her life. Even at the age of ten he was devoted to her accepting all of the pain and torture of abuse was not her's alone, but theirs to share. Which unfolded into a story of hope and love, and the proof that people really can overcome their pasts. I was awed, but the obvious talented displayed in Moseley's writing. Jake, Liam, and Amber are all very close; so effectively writing a story that consistently carries them all was difficult, but this incredibly talented woman did it. Not only did she do it, but she perfected it! Not once did I feel a shift amongst the characters. Leaving readers concerned by every development in the book, and how it will effect everyone involved.

    What I had expected to be primarily a love story ended up being so much more. It almost carries story within a story, within a story feel to this book. Amber and Liam will struggle obstacles one after another. Although, the climatic ending is an obstacle that they all will share. I felt that this tied the story up so effectively. At first, it gave Liam and Amber time to grow with their problems, but bring them all back together in the ending seems to only enforce the bonds shown throughout the story. Almost like making a final statement that they are a unit, and that is the way they will remain. I loved every single minute of this story, and can not even being to do this story the justice in words. It is incredible and inspiring... BookWhisperer Favorite!!!

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great Story

    I read this on wattpad when this arthour first started writing this story, i find this story absolutely amazing. When i get the money i am most definetly buying this story. It really is truly amazing. I really recommend that you read this story.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    This book was nothing like I thought it would be. The descriptio

    This book was nothing like I thought it would be. The description
    doesn't do this book justice. The book begins with an eight year old
    girl named Amber and her ten year old brother Jake living in fear of
    their father's wrath. They are beaten continuously by their father and
    Amber is subjected to more then just her father's fists. Liam the boy
    next door as well as Jake's best friend sees Amber crying in her room
    and decides to comfort her by sneaking into her bedroom. He falls asleep
    with her which leads to an eight year habit. The book skips forward to
    a 16 year old Amber that has been mentally scarred by her father's extra
    attention. When she was 15, Jake and Liam discovered their father trying
    to rape her after almost beating her to death. They take matters in to
    their own hands and make him leave for good. Amber hates to be touched
    by anyone because memories come flooding back. Liam is one of the best
    male character's I have ever read about. In the begginning Amber merely
    looks at him as her brother's man-whore cocky best friend but slowly
    starts to see him in a different light. She sees him in two different
    ways daytime Liam who is cocky and a man-whore and then there is
    nighttime Liam who is sweet and loving. Nighttime Liam chases away her
    demons and makes her feel complete. Amber starts to realize that her
    feelings for Liam are more then friendship, which gives Liam the go
    ahead to finally be with the girl that he has been in love with since he
    was a child. He calls her his Angel because he believes that god must
    have put her there just for him. This story is a must read for anyone
    that hasn't read it. Liam and Amber stole my heart.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    overveiw

    its about a girl who is all most raped by her own dad and her brother and best freind stop it from happening. her brother is very carefullabout his sister and boys thats how she liked it until the year that she is 16 she start caring about her brother bestfriend.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    okay so I really wanted to like her books but I gave them only t

    okay so I really wanted to like her books but I gave them only two stars for these reasons. First off both of her books are the same story with different characters...boy and girl grow up next door to each other, sleep in the same bed with no sex until one day the girl opens her eyes and realizes she's head over heels for boy and then they can't stop having sex, girl is being abused  by someone which allows boy to come to rescue, boy is a womanizer but turns good for girl, boy and girl get married.
    Second every girl boy came into contact with wanted jump on him because he was was so hot (I believe her in one of the books he was liked to a roman god) and when he turns them down they hate on the girl and then every boy the girl comes across wants to get in her pants because she's so hot. I'm not even going to touch the issue that a 16 yr old was having sex much less with an 18 yr old. I can't believe a grown woman wrote these books. I was sure these were written by a teenage girl. Maybe she's living out 
    her unfulfilled fantasies through her characters. Also way too many grammatical errors though I can overlook these if I like the actual story.

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Seriously intense roller coaster ride!

    I really loved this book, I couldn't put it Down. It was a heartbreaking yet heartwarming story.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Alright. I'm going to do my best to explain why this book appeal

    Alright. I'm going to do my best to explain why this book appealed to me greatly in the beginning, then totally fell flat. *Takes deep breathe*

    Let's start off with the good points. This story appeals to the reader cause of the synopsis. A boy sneaking through the window to comfort a friend after abuse. He shields her, protects her, and loves her. He does this for years. Loving her at a distance until the time she noticed him. Then she does. The story is still flowing well from here. Amber takes notice to Liam and their relationship is sweet and funny. I loved their flirting with sexual tension. And then is goes down hill...

    The main character Amber has been through a lot. In the beginning, it is explained to the reader that Amber does not liked to be touched. So... why she all of sudden she turns in a sexual deviant is beyond me. She goes from one extreme to another, literally making my jaw drop.

    Then there are the cliche moments that make me say,"Seriously?" I expected more out of this plot. I wanted more of Liam and Amber's love to continue to grow, not go all crazy on me. I loved their flirting, their sweet sentimental moments but is is ruined by the characters emotions and roller coaster plot line.

    *Sigh* This story has so much potential if it wasn't for the Jennifer Lopez plot line from Enough. I like that the father comes back to haunt them but, SMH, I just couldn't handle it anymore.

    And the ending. I liked the ending. I'm all for a happily ever after and I am glad that things worked out for the characters in the end. Still, after I closed the book I felt extreme disappointment. I felt deceived in this is not what I thought it was. The story started off great but completely fell flat.

    The Boy Who Sneaks In My Bedroom Window is a book that is too much drama and not enough plot. It strays far too away for my liking. Take my advice and tread carefully if you decide to read it. It keeps you engrossed with plenty of up and down moments, but after so much it becomes enough for me to read anymore.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    I read this book back when it was on wattpad and I absolutely lo

    I read this book back when it was on wattpad and I absolutely love it!!! I recommend it to everyone it is amazing.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    I was excited to read this book and I was expecting to enjoy it.

    I was excited to read this book and I was expecting to enjoy it. I don't have extremely high standards for book. I normally read them to pass time and for entertainment. My last novel was The DUFF and I enjoyed it. But this book started of decent (not even good) and then it dragged on forever. And then I hated it. I could care less about the grammar but I guess what really got me was the tone and the repetition. There was a lot of repetition and childish phrases ("I really am the luckiest girl in the world" was the last phrase in the novel). The protagonists’ personality was very inconsistent. One moment she was like a little girl and the next she was super sexy. One moment she was scared and then next she was okay. I thought it was nice the author made the character believable by making her immature but next thing you know she makes her seem super experienced and not immature. So things that worked for the novel were then killed by the author. It seemed like I was reading a teenage girl's diary or fanfiction. It really really reaaaallly read like a fanfiction. The everyday details of the protagonist's life were shared in a straightforward fanfiction-like manner. This with the overblown drama, repetition and stupid decisions the characters made were annoying.

    The ending is a 5 year time skip epilogue and the protagonist is still speaking like she was 16 (when she is now 21). If you were abused like that and live on your own in a big city with you bf, you will probably mature. But Amber did not.

    The character of Amber really never got any consistency what so ever. And the gimmick of the story "guy in her bed who is a bad boy but sweet" got old fast. Liam (the guy) was sweet and his pov was shared which was cute but I guess the other 85% percent of the novel with Amber (the girl) suffocated the novel.

    It really was like a too long fanfiction. :( Everything seemed too unlikey even for fiction. And a good tone was missing. These things, even for my low standards, didn’t let me enjoy the novel. Too bad.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Before I say anything else let me just say that I love Liam! Ok,

    Before I say anything else let me just say that I love Liam! Ok, now on to my review. I really liked the story line of this book. I can understand why some people thought it was unrealistic because of the depth of the story and the ages of the characters. In my opinion though it worked. There are a lot of teenagers who are forced to grow up at a young age, therefore they are capable of having adult relationships and feelings; even though they are in their teens. My only negative comment about this book would be the grammer. There are several words that are misspelled, words in sentences that just don't make since, and some words left out that would have made the sentence flow better. As long as you are not one to nit pick at that kind of thing I would definitely recommend this book. Although, if you have ever had to deal with abuse or things to that nature please use caution going in, as it could cause flashbacks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Fantastic!

    I was so in love with this book i bought it at 10pm and finished the book by 8am that morning....i felt like a giddy girl reading this..it literally gavr me butterflies just reading .definetly top 5 on my list

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    One Star

    The story is sweet, but weak. Very predictable. Not worth the money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Boring & redundant

    Three stars is being generous. Started off good but then became boring & redundant. Very mature content. I'm thinking the five star reviews were based on the numerous sex scenes which weren't that great but young teens might enjoy them. Lots of British spellings & terms which might be misconstrued as typos.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    amazing, amazing, amazing!!!

    amazing, amazing, amazing!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    i thought this was an amazing book and that everyone should read

    i thought this was an amazing book and that everyone should read it!!! <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Love love love!

    I remember when i first read this book before it was actually published and i fell in love! I couldnt stand havung to wait for the author to upload another chapter. Its a great read worth buying!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Book lover

    I hope the author writes a story about jake and kate to didnt get enough of them in this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    I actually read this in one sitting. I just couldn't stop readin

    I actually read this in one sitting. I just couldn't stop reading. The characters really pull you in. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 342 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18