Customer Reviews for

The Bracelet

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Emilee

    Kk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2013

    This is a subject that I had not thought about in years. I saw a

    This is a subject that I had not thought about in years. I saw a review in the Sunday paper so I ordered the book and could not put it down What a story, one every girl and woman should read. I do hope this is not the end, please keep us informed on what is being done in the world to stop this business.This is not a subject that will make the front page of the paper or the evening news as there seem to be so many people in high places that are reaping rewards from this dirty business.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Oh my! The Bracelet is Soooo good! I absolutely could NOT put it

    Oh my! The Bracelet is Soooo good! I absolutely could NOT put it down! At times I was on the edge of my seat and couldn't read fast enough LOL. I wouldn't normally pick up a book like this but I am sooo glad I was given the opportunity to review it! I just fell in love Abby Monroe and her journey is one that will inspire and astound you! After witnessing a horrible murder, she just can't let it go. Through Abby, author Roberta Gately, shares the horrific and devastating life of human trafficking. The leaders and those who are forced to live this life will break your heart and anger you all at the same time. Although this book focuses on this serious issue, there is also a bit of a romance that is just perfect! 




    I highly recommend The Bracelet and I soo look forward to more from Roberta Gately! Thank you so much Leyane Jerejian for allowing me this complimentary book in exchange for my honest review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Excellent Human Trafficking Story!This is a fast paced story tha

    Excellent Human Trafficking Story!This is a fast paced story that takes Abby to the streets of Geneva, where she witnesses a murder. One of the things that stands out most for Abby is a piece of jewelry the victim has on: a bracelet with sparkling gems. Abby contacts authorities, but the scene of the crime is clean and Abby begins to doubt what she saw, blaming it on the side effects of a medication she is taking for sleep. Abby then travels to Peshawar, Pakistan as a UN nurse. Leaving behind a broken heart and wanting to find herself again, she takes on this very dangerous job assignment, considering how tumultous the environment is.

    Abby is housed with a Pakistani hostess, where she oversees reports on immunizations for women and children. She then decides to visit the clinic and begins to put a name with each number assigned to those getting vaccinated and learns about sexual trafficking. While she delves deeper into the stories of those at the clinic, she begins to question all those she meets and soon finds herself running for her life. With the help of a New York Times newsreporter, both try to escape the dark world and bring light to the 3rd largest export business in the world: human trafficking.

    The stories of the different women rescued from that dark world are given a voice through their talks with Abby and Nick. Soon, the bracelet, the world of human smuggling, and everyone’s role in that horrid life become apparent, with secrets uncovered and fraud at the highest level is discovered.

    Roberta’s writing is very elaborate and raises awareness on such an important human rights issue: human trafficking for sexual purposes. The story is very fast paced and told with such detail, that the reader will connect with the characters. I would have wanted to learn more about the bracelet and its significance, as well as Najeela’s role with her uncle and fiance. However, it was still an overall great book! -booksintheburbs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

     This book was fascinating and tragic at the same time.  It gave

     This book was fascinating and tragic at the same time.  It gave me a look inside the world of human trafficking at a time when my local church is getting involved in a local program dealing with human trafficking.  It is really scary to me to think that there may be women in my own community who are trafficking victims - but that is a story for antoher day - back to The Bracelet.




    Abby chose to go to Peshawar to get away from a broken heart and an unsatisfying job.  She wasn't really thinking about where she was going, but what she was running from.  When she sees a woman fall from a balcony in Geneva on her way to Peshawar, she has no way of knowing what that even will come to mean to her, but it is really just foreshadowing the events that she will experience in Pakistan. 




    She is pretty timid at first, pretty introverted, visiting the camp but not really stepping out side the boundaries she has erected for herself.   As she gets to know the women though, her compassion comes to the forefront and she really starts to relate to them and goes out of her way to befriend them.  Abby does not really understand how Najeela, an Afghan woman who works in the UN house that Abby lives in, does not want to do more for these women.  Najeela is just concerned with what her European boyfriend can give her in the way of jewelry,  and how she is going to get past her father's objections when she announces that she wants to marry him.




    Nick, a journalist who comes to Pakistan to do an article on Abby, also helps to push Abby out of her comfort zone.  Abby is determined not to cooperate with him, because she does not want to be the subject of an article.  But like with the women in the camp, her carefully constructed walls start to come down and soon her and Nick have stumbled upon some key players in the trafficking world. 




    LIke I said in the beginning, this was a fascinating read but the tragedy that is happening both here and all over the world is horrifying.  It was quick paced and really kept me glued to the pages.  I would highly recomment this one if you are looking for chick lit with a little soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A different kin

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A different kind of setting, taking place in Pakistan was an interesting place to this suspenseful thriller centered around human trafficking and the current happenings in this volatile country.  With the author putting two huge topics into one book, as the reader, I didn't feel overwhelmed, I loved how both the issues interacted with each other in the story and how one can affect the other.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Abby Monroe has lost her job as a nurse after Hurricane Katrina

    Abby Monroe has lost her job as a nurse after Hurricane Katrina wiped out the hospital in New Orleans where she worked. Soon thereafter her boyfriend Eric dumped her and moved from Boston to Oregon, saying he needed to do this alone. Now she's initially in Geneva, where she inadvertently witnesses a devastating crime which haunts her dreams for a very long time. Now, she just wants to get away which she does by being accepted for a UN job in Pakistan. The nightmare and sorrow of the past now becomes the escape route to reshaping her life but certainly not as expected at all!

    Abby receives a warm welcome from another UN worker, Najeela, and a cold, hard look from the UN housekeeper, Hana. Reeling from the sites of abandoned children and abused women at a nearby refugee cam, Abby meets an American Pulitzer-prize-winning journalist, Nick who initially strikes her as an arrogant waste of a guy but who later will be the link that helps her keep her sanity. Now Abby is enduring culture shock of the highest magnitude!

    In the days ahead Abby learns of the sexual traffic and opium businesses that just might be linked to someone she is coming to know well. Story after story is recounted by women who were sold as young girls in order to insure financial solvency for the girls' family, with devastating, abusive scars that will probably never heal permanently.

    The remainder of the story concerns the capture of those deeply involved in maintaining and promoting the illegal sexual and drug traffic not only in Pakistan and nearby Afghanistan but across the Middle East and Europe as well. Some characters are part of the secret sent to put a stop to this travesty of justice and the story ultimately reaches a violent conclusion involving some thought to be innocent and others who seemed unimportant who are pivotal to solving these crimes.

    The Bracelet: A Novel is a hard, tough story to take but a necessary one. This is truly "real" fiction and well told. It should be a story that fosters greater dialogue about how to cope with these pathological, evil deeds and their perpetrators. Finely told, Ms. Gately

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    PHENOMENAL.

    Wonderful and captivating writer! Inspiring as a future nursing student! Genius work, as always! I will be fondly awaiting the day that she releases another action jam packed edge of your seat phenomenal captivating inspiring enthralling wonderful spontaneous innocent nursing related book! Love you Roberta, Abby, and Nick!!! MUST READ AND RE-READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book from the publisher Thanks Gallery!! Again t

    I received this book from the publisher Thanks Gallery!! Again this is one of my branch out books. Not something I would normally read. But this book was so good. I love the cover its beautiful and classic. This story will grip you and not let you go until the end. A book about a real issue we face today. Human Trafficking is really something we have to worry about. My mother had a brush with this when she was a teen. She had applied for a babysitting job that would allow her to travel the world with the family. And at 18 that seemed wonderful. So she set up a time to meet. When she got to the house it was swarming with police. She later found out that they had been kidnapping young woman and sending them over seas. So read this book it will move you!
    "*I received a copy of this book for free to review, this in no way influenced my review, all opinions are 100% honest and my own."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Current topic, great read!

    Roberta Gately pulls the curtain back in her latest novel, The Bracelet, and enlightens the reader to the hideous and inhumane business of human trafficking. Thirty-year-old nurse Abby Monroe sets out on a journey and life’s experience she may never have had, had she not lost her nursing job in Boston or been dumped by her boyfriend, Eric. Desperate circumstances call for drastic changes and suffice it to say, Abby goes to extremes when she responds to an employment ad for an overseas assignment. She is on her way to a UN clinic in Peshawar, Pakistan where she will be evaluating an immunization program—not exactly the most desirable place for a fair complexioned, honey blond, American beauty. On the last leg of her journey to Pakistan, Abby sets out from her Geneva hotel, pre-dawn to take one final run. What she didn’t know was it would end in murder. Ms. Gately is specific in building a scene of peace and tranquility in the early morning hours only to rip the rug out from under the reader’s feet. In the next scene, screams are heard, a body is cascading downward and the mind’s eye zooms in on the first clue: a brilliant and ornately bejeweled, gold cuff—The Bracelet. Ms. Gately notes Abby’s frustration when she has her share specific details about the tragedy with a call to her best friend, Emily in Boston and a visit to the Police in Geneva. However, not only was a body never produced; but the notion of the mysterious bracelet was questionable as well. Once in Peshawar, Abby cannot shake the fact that nobody believes her account of the murder she is certain she witnessed. However, Gately redirects the reader for the time being and moves forward on another course. She introduces a new character, Najeela Siddiqui, administrative assistant at the UN Staff House. Gately successfully achieves the element of the diversities between Western-cultured, Abby and Pakistani Najeela. In spite of their cultural differences, she does a tremendous job in establishing an instant connection between the two women. It is when New York Times reporter Nick Sinclair is introduced that another facet to the plot is uncovered. On the surface, Sinclair is on assignment to do a cover story about Abby and her UN services in Peshawar. However, there is a dirty, tightly-kept secret that festers globally and Sinclair’s mission is to expose it. With his Pulitzer winning writing abilities and a fair amount of adventure, it’s time to blow the top off the dirty secret once and for all. Things never are what they appear to be on their surface and Gately is the master of spinning just that. She has managed to write an intriguing work of fiction and at the same time a compelling story that perhaps isn’t all too far from reality in many respects. She is compassionate in her address toward the many innocent unknowns throughout our world who have fallen prey to the inhumane crime of human trafficking that generates billions of untracked dollars on the black market. However, she does not lecture. Gately’s thought-provoking insights in The Bracelet deliver a clear message of her compassionate view of the subject matter. Gatley has hands-down passed the age-old litmus test of an accomplished writer in that, a writer writes what a writer knows - without question, Ms. Gately knew her topic and therefore, she wrote a fantastic book. Quill Says: Current topic equals great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1