Customer Reviews for

The Breakthrough

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Saved My Life!

    Over the holidays, I had a lot of family visiting. Christmas really brought us together. When they left I missed them, but more family came for New Years. As of yesterday, everybody is gone. Miles and miles away from me again. It was so hard to see them all go, but I knew that crying was not going to bring them back. I decided to listen to the new Mary J Blige CD I received for Christmas. "Breakthrough" saved my life! The inspiration and wisdom in the lyrics reassured me that everything was going to be alright. Mary, if I could talk to you right now, there would be no limit to my thanking you. You are a strong person and an amazing musician. Keep going! No matter how much it hurts, time will heal you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SHE HELPS U KEEP UR HEAD UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This cd can give you the will to keep going.I like the fact that she holds nothing back.With her music you can hear the good and the bad.I think the people who dont like this cd are crazy.With age and time she has gotten better and it is always good to have someone you can put the 1st cd they made and the last one and see them growing.I think that the haters are just the ones who never understood the her at all. God Bless and keep it going cant wait for her next cd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Revenge of Mary J. Blige

    Upon hearing the first track from Mary J. Blige’s “The Breakthrough,” I thought of it as a kind of press release sent to her detractors, those who had labeled her last effort, 2003’s “Love & Life,” a failure. An almost militaristic beat rose from the silence, meet- ing synthesized horns that suggested royalty: a queen’s introduction, then the song open- ed up in perfect tempo. Her vocals were confident – almost cocky, and the result seemed like a statement. It was like she was musically saying, “I am happy, but it makes me no less a force to be reckoned with. I don’t need pain to be great.” Those who follow Blige’s career should be aware that in some entertainment circles, as well as amongst some of her own fan base, a conclusion had been reached about the singer. They were under the impression that Blige’s vast appeal (and success) was somehow the result of mining her life’s struggles, and consistently sharing her emotional findings with us through her music. She has done that extremely well of course (possessing a soulfulness in her voice that rivals that of Aretha Franklin), but if you believe such a thing, then it may make sense that a married, spiritually grounded, content Blige would succumb to “commercial” mediocrity or worse. But, something funny happened on the way to the studio …. Released in December 2005, just in time for the holidays, the CD was certainly anticipated (as most of her efforts had been), yet the track “No One Will Do,” has no connection to pain. The song communicates devotion, and the honesty associated with that. Maybe it is simply about true love, which is what she has seemingly found. The overall release appears to be about love, fidelity, faith, and perseverance. If this is the case, maybe she hasn’t lost her knack for chronicling her experiences through her music at all. This is merely the next chapter. It too is her life, and is honest progress. And, if this is her “breakthrough,” then what we find on the other side is worth revealing. The material here is a showcase for Mary J. Blige’s happiness through the songs themselves, incorporating all she does well in triumphant fashion. The radio hit, “Be Without You” is as close to perfect as a song in this genre can be. With its clapping beat, catchy chorus, and delicate, but hip-hop flavored, keyboard melody, the tune is rock solid. It is all held together by the lyrics, as well as her signature vocals … which are as good as ever. As is the standard for the R&B genre these days, guest artists are also present, which include Will I Am (from the Black Eyed Peas), The Game, and Jay-Z. Only her guests don’t steal the show, which can often happen. It ends up being quite the opposite here. In fact, on “Can’t Hide from Luv,” when Jay-Z declares, “this is beautiful music, Ladies and Gentleman,” there is no doubt that this is the case. He seems to be offering the “play-by-play,” as opposed to putting his own stamp on the track. Blige inhabits her work with a sonic urgency here, and a sharp sense of vocal command, so that there is never a doubt about it being her show. Even when Blige uses borrowed material, such as the clever re-working of The Game’s “Hate It or Love It” into a clever retrospective of her career, and personalizing U2’s “One,” on the final track, the quality of the CD doesn’t suffer … although the latter is a bit out of place (which might be why it is the last song). Including Bono himself on the track was a wise decision, and this sort of respectful inclusion was also bestowed upon Elton John when he played the melody from “Bennie and the Jets” on her song “Deep Inside,” from her 1999 release, Mary. Blige&#8217

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Album of 2005

    This album blew me away. It amazes me more each time I listen to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This CD the TRUTH !!

    You are gonna LOVE this ! This CD has Hit after Hit! I don't think I've ever been so pleased as a fan. I love it. Straight from the First Jam you will just be a happy and satisfied customer. It is a must have for Mary's fans and anyone slightly curious about Mary's music. Thank you Mary ! I can't wait for the concert !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mary truley breaks through

    Mary J Blige's latest cd release "The Breakthrough" doe's just that this cd shows just how much the artist has matured

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Breakthrough

    the mvp of hip hop soul & r&b is back wit this breakthrough. taking back her sit back a the top of her game showing beyonce,ashanit amier ,fahit evans , how it done. with a hot frist single ,fresh new look and an hot cd to back her up. after her an puff reteam up for her 2003 release of love&live which should have been title oil&water.they came out with an set of song that were lackluster and weak.but mary rise again with this 17 set disc .working with the like of jimmy jam&terry lewis,dre vidal,rodney jenkeis,jay-z, she hit us with an classsic. of hip hop ,jazz,pop, soul, hiphop soul the this is truely the breakthrought mary fan have been waiting for .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exhilarated and Deeply Moved

    Mary J.Blige's new album, "The Breakthrough" is not only outstanding, but also exhilarating and can deeply move a person down to the soul. In this cd she takes numerous amounts of drama from her life and relates it towards her music. One of the songs on this dazzling and wonderful piece of work is called, "Be Without You" celebrates the absolute love that her husband has brought to her life. This love is definitely expressed and spoken of in this song which has been proved by the fact that it has been on TRL's top 10 songs for many weeks. It also has been considered a hit to others. With this new and very credible album, Mary J. Blige emerges once again as a MVP among R&B artists. She seems to be more comfortable and confident with her music, which not only makes this album, here music, and herself outshine surface forth in the music world with great music, power, and even greater enthusiasm, than she ever had before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MJB is back!!

    Like I said MJB is back. The queen of Hip Hop's new album the Breakthrough album as many catchy great and creative songs. Hands down its one of her best. Her single be without you made it all the way and in my opinon was her best song of all time the songs lyrics are so touching and heart warming I love it. Also on the album is "mjb da mvp" its a excelent song because its easy to dance to. One of my favirot songs is "Father in you" because its a song about how her father left her and its a sad story with a good beat and touching words that get right to the point. The songs on the album are ones you can just sit and listen to and others that just make you want to get up and dance. Thats why I gave this album 5 stars because it is such an outstanding album. I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Breakthrough

    mary jblige breakthought live up to all it's hype.she bring it with the opening track( no one will do) where she tell her man his the only one.with and hot soul sample.she take you back to gettho with the track (stop crying)were she kick a hot 16 bars.with her alter ego (brook).this song has all the right stuff to be and hit record.the hot dance beat ,the hot hook.another song that jumps out at you is .cant hide from love .with jay z her parther in crime mary start off saying( iam coming for you i aint wasting time casue all night long you been on my mind).she hook you in with the second vesre ( what you feel she a real woman for you frist time)the beat was perfectly put down by dre&vidal who made hit with usher.ciara.amier.now mjb. the aretha sounding (i found my everthing ) were mary have you saying WOW!!! she sing this song like a younger aretha . the track (father in you) mary tell her husband she need the father in him to keep her strong) putting a in dethp look in to the life of mjb .(good woman down) is a woman anthem that all needs to be said.(aint really love )the b cox song mary make a statement the has all black woman saying go head mary!!! (an then you take me to a level of some bulls**t you say you never had these problem form a white chick)the song (about you) will.iam.track with a sample from nina somone) were mary had landed the lead role of nina in the movie about her life. i put a spell on you. had a crossover appel to everybody.mary also sing a u2 hit song (one) with bono right by her side this song had alot of hype around it when they perform this song for katrina fund riase .she take the center stage and make bono take a back sit to her soulful vocal and take you there and back. the breakthrought mary has truly have one with this disc. after selling more than her other dice in the past with .(727k) in her frist week. this abulm will be the abulm of the year

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellence is synonymous with MJB

    This is one of the best cd's MJB has created since My Life. It is poetic, profound and deeply soulful. She comes alive in this testimony that goodness comes to those who wait. She recognizes the trials of her life and rejoices in the good things she now possesses. With every track, she renews your belief that she is the "Queen"! If you don't know...buy this cd and you will soon find out! It is worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MJB Never Left The Building!!!

    Mary, with the powerhouse voice, I am a huge fan who is honored to know your music, your heart, your soul! The album is Tripple Platinum right now as far as I'm concerned. God Bless you Mary!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    CLASSIC Album

    The Breakthrough Album is a Classic!!!! This Album in my opion is her best, yes her best so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mary Does It Big On This Album

    I think Mary really expressed herself on this album.She takes things that she went through and turns it into songs.I don't think she was scared at all to express herself on this album which was great.My favorite song on the album is "Good Woman Down",she really expressed what people might be going through or went through but that's all i'm saying just go and get the album and see for yourself.From the album I can conclude that Mary J. Blige has a really loving and caring husband that she loves deeply.I think anyone would love this album that understands Mary J. Blige and understands what she went through.A GREAT ALBUM!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Straight Banger!!

    I love this cd. I've always been a fan of MJB and I think this is one of her best!! Good Woman Down is my favorite. Keep doing your thing Mary!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    outstanding

    This album is great! Mary has matured! Worth every penny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    She's an icon

    No matter what she sings she is still one of the greatest artist of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mary J Blige The never ending Queen of Hip/Hop & R&B

    After a full review of the brekthrough, it let me know why iam a true die heart fan of Mary's there aint no other artist like her she always keep it real and give it to you straight with no chaser. And that's why she is still on top 15 years later there's no way you can't respect her.I love everyone she worked with on this album. Ijust wish that she could have worked with her bestfriend Lil Kim this time around. i wish her the best with her career and her personal life Mary is finally happy and that what she deserve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow !!! Mary's Back

    There is no words to describe this cd but... Beatiful. Mary's done it again. It's like Mary walked with me my hole life and then went into the studio and put my hole life on a cd. I love this cd. I bought it from fye and it was the last one they had. It's selling out fast. I suggest everyone one go get this cd asap!!! I guarntee you wont be let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mary Blew me Away!!!!

    On Mary J Bilge's new album "Breakthrough" she belts out her happiness and her sadness. In album's first single "Be Without You" she sings of the happiness of her marriage. She has collaborated with artists such as U2, Jay-Z, Will. i.am, Dave Young and Brook. On track 5," Gonna Breakthrough" Blige gives a club hip-hop feel and on "Take Me As I Am", Blige discusses her past in a smooth sultry sound. Overall "The Breakthrough" is a hit. Expect to see this album at the top of the charts!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2