Customer Reviews for

The Brenner Assignment: The Untold Story of the Most Daring Spy Mission of World War II

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My new favorite WWII book

I have been on a WWII reading kick lately, I have read both of Rick Atkinsons WWII books, Band of Brother's, Shadows in the Jungle, and The Brenner Assignment. This has been the most riveting of the books I have read latley. When I got to page 160ish I couldn't put it...
I have been on a WWII reading kick lately, I have read both of Rick Atkinsons WWII books, Band of Brother's, Shadows in the Jungle, and The Brenner Assignment. This has been the most riveting of the books I have read latley. When I got to page 160ish I couldn't put it down, the story of behind the line espionage and and missions carried out to shut down the Brenner Pass is what movies are made out of. The story is amazing, the writing stlye is very good (simplistic, compared to Atkinson's mastery of the English language) I have read this book a few month's ago and I am now coming back to write a review of it, should say something about it. Don't hesitate to read it, it's a must read book.

posted by Goumierswerehardcore on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Information good, writing not so much

While the information of the book is quite interesting- the plot to cut the supply lines off late in the war, I thought the writing was very lacking. Using far too may repeating descriptions, and far to cut up.

There were two basic missions, and going back and fort...
While the information of the book is quite interesting- the plot to cut the supply lines off late in the war, I thought the writing was very lacking. Using far too may repeating descriptions, and far to cut up.

There were two basic missions, and going back and forth between the two until one was fatefully ended made it quite hard to read- especially since the two were related only since one was going to meet up with the other to achieve the main goal.

The built up tense prose was also not needed- by implying that being a POW for a few weeks was anything like being one for many years was weak.

I'm not quite finished with the book, yet, but will finish to learn something- not because it's a good book or the writing is all that great.

It's too bad, as this had a lot of potential.

posted by 4149099 on November 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    My new favorite WWII book

    I have been on a WWII reading kick lately, I have read both of Rick Atkinsons WWII books, Band of Brother's, Shadows in the Jungle, and The Brenner Assignment. This has been the most riveting of the books I have read latley. When I got to page 160ish I couldn't put it down, the story of behind the line espionage and and missions carried out to shut down the Brenner Pass is what movies are made out of. The story is amazing, the writing stlye is very good (simplistic, compared to Atkinson's mastery of the English language) I have read this book a few month's ago and I am now coming back to write a review of it, should say something about it. Don't hesitate to read it, it's a must read book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    A great read; true, and exciting!

    One of the best I've ever read of this genre; and I've read a lot of them. Well-written, keeps you interested at every turn. A remarkable story of bravery and intrigue in WWII. Don't miss it. You won't be able to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Excellent read. For readers of history, this is a must read

    A very exciting and well written story from World War II. The book was extremely well researched bring forth the details of this exciting story from those who lived it. A story of real American heroes. Truly a difficult to put down book, or in my case, to put down my NOOK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Should be a Movie.....

    This book is an incredible read. Filled with a cast of amazing characters. You feel like you are there. I've had an interest in WWII history for many years and this is one of the great stories of the war. This book should be a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    Information good, writing not so much

    While the information of the book is quite interesting- the plot to cut the supply lines off late in the war, I thought the writing was very lacking. Using far too may repeating descriptions, and far to cut up.

    There were two basic missions, and going back and forth between the two until one was fatefully ended made it quite hard to read- especially since the two were related only since one was going to meet up with the other to achieve the main goal.

    The built up tense prose was also not needed- by implying that being a POW for a few weeks was anything like being one for many years was weak.

    I'm not quite finished with the book, yet, but will finish to learn something- not because it's a good book or the writing is all that great.

    It's too bad, as this had a lot of potential.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    A Real Mission for the war buffs

    We have all read and seen many "war mission" books and films in the last few decades, especially by Alistair Maclean, Cornelius Ryan and Frederick Forsythe. Most of them were fictional creations by these authors based on some real incidents. Here is a book that is well researched and written with great command of the subject, "The Brenner Assignment" by Patrick K. O'Donnell; a true WWII mission in the Dolomites between Austria and Italy by the Brenner Pass, is full of the igredients that reads like a great work of fiction. Begining with heroic characters, base preparations, deployment, intrigue, frustrations, tragedies, ambushes, brutality, politics, manhunts, recue and bravery bordering on insanity and dedication depicting patriotism is a fantastic series of events that leads to victory with irony. I sincerely hope this thrilling and poignant read gets optioned out, by hopefully Director Ridley Scott, as he is the one to pull off this kind of a mission with its atmospheric quality. This book is military history at its best in terse prose capturing all the danger, actions and the personal ironies involved. I can't help but think that it will be the best "war mission" film if made well without cutting corners. I recommend this book very sincerely.

    Raju Peddada

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Extremely interesting!

    Interesting and informative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Spellbinding!

    The author does a wonderful job of intertwining the main characters. Fantastically written account of little known behind the lines activities in the Italian Alps during WWII. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    You'll like it. I did!

    The Brenner Pass through the Alps between Italy and Austria has been a route of conquest and commerce since before the Romans. The last combat took place there in the 1940s when Germany, the Allies (US OSS), and the Italian partisans (the communist Garibaldi Brigades, Giustizia e Libertà Brigades, and socialist Matteotti Brigades) fought the last year of WWII. They fought to stop supply to the Nazis, to cut off the retreat from the Nazis and to start the civil war in Italy.<BR/><BR/>This is the untold story of brutality, intrigue, combat, and even a little romance. You'll like it. I did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    Intriguing

    Is amazing how the author writes this book, his passion, trips and interest for write the untold war history, the history is intriguing about the missions, combats and escapes in the mountains in Italy in the world war II.<BR/>Recommended.<BR/><BR/>Isabel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    Great ride!

    This book has everything you want in a war story: special ops, mountain escapes, bands of partisans, an exotic countess, close combat, etc. <BR/><BR/>And since the action is in Italy, it may have a fresh feeling to readers who are more familiar with the Western or Eastern fronts. <BR/><BR/>The action is excellent and the characters are memorable.<BR/><BR/>Strongly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Brenner Assignment Thrills

    This untold story of a secret mission behind enemy lines captivates from the start. Not only are the characters intriguing but the inter-twining plots are captivating. The action makes you want to picture the scenes unfold as you read them. A movie version is definitely in order.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2