Customer Reviews for

The Bride & Groom First and Forever Cookbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love it

I'm a newlywed, and inexperienced cook! I've tried several recipes and they are always a hit with my husband and others. Some ingredients can be difficult to find, but I'm not the type to look very hard. This is my favorite cookbook.

posted by Anonymous on February 13, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

How about a book for brides who didn't go to the CIA?

This book has great recipes for Culinary Institute graduates. Most new brides don't know how to cook at all. I am one! How about recipes for simple food that that can be made after a hard day's work. Brides work too!

posted by Anonymous on January 11, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2006

    Love it

    I'm a newlywed, and inexperienced cook! I've tried several recipes and they are always a hit with my husband and others. Some ingredients can be difficult to find, but I'm not the type to look very hard. This is my favorite cookbook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    How about a book for brides who didn't go to the CIA?

    This book has great recipes for Culinary Institute graduates. Most new brides don't know how to cook at all. I am one! How about recipes for simple food that that can be made after a hard day's work. Brides work too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    Bride and Groom First and Forever Cookbook: Recipes, Tips, and Techniques to Start You off Right

    I bought this book because I desparately need to learn how to cook real dishes for myself and my new husband. After seeing it on the Today show, I thought this book would be perfect! Unfortunately, a lot of these recipes are hard and there's no way I can whip them up. And my husband turns his nose up at the recipes - says they're too gourmet for him :( I give up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this cookbook. I received it as a wedding gift

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this cookbook. I received it as a wedding gift 8 years ago and you should see the state it's in now. A cookbook with food all over it has been well used! :) I love so many of the recipes in this book but our absolute favorite is the buttermilk pancake recipe which both my kids and husband adore. I make it ever Saturday morning. I am buying a copy of this book for a good friend who also loves to cook. Whenever I make a recipe she likes she asks me, "Is the recipe you used from THE cookbook?", meaning the Bride and Groom Cookbook. Often the answer is, "Yes!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bride & Groom First and Forever Cookbook

    I have now purchased 8-10 of these cookbooks for wedding gifts. I am particularly pleased that it gives alternate ingredients, which is helpful to beginning cooks. My favorite recipe? Chicken Soup For Your Soul Mate. Not only is the title The Best, it is absolutely delicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My Go-To Cookbook - It's the Best Ever!

    I give this book to all of my friends who want to start cooking better meals or generally want to know how to cook. I thankfully bought this book several years ago and it is now very warn. Nearly every recipe in it is excellent and the sisters who wrote it have so much passion for it they pass it right to the cook at home. Buy it! It's the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    I bought this book as a wedding gift to my husband and myself! It is fantastic. We recently moved to Israel and we do have a hard time finding some of the ingredients, though I know exactly where they would be back home! Every recipe I have attempted has been a hit with my husband and I. I would highly recommend this book as a shower/wedding gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    The perfect shower gift.

    Beautifully photographed. Easy recipies and ingredients. Makes gourmet cooking a couples sport.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Not so difficult!

    I got this from a friend who cooked the great salmon the night she gave it to me. From the herbed popcorn to the Mexican chicken salad, the recipes are a hit with my picky husband. The chili and roasted chicken are his favorite and the pancakes are worth the extra effort! But the best part is almost everything is for 2 people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2005

    Great Cookbook

    I got this cookbook as a wedding shower gift and my husband & I love it. It has made cooking fun. The carrot cake is to die for! I would highly recommend this cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2004

    Outstanding

    This is the cookbook I reach for most often (and I have a LOT of cookbooks!). Every recipe I've tried has been outstanding - from the chili to the pesto shrimp pasta to the nectarine tarts. I am desperately searching for another general cookbook by these two authors! Highly recommend for the new bride or anyone who wants an elegant, easy cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Must Buy

    This was the best wedding gift! I have cooked so many dishes from it and they are all 5 star. My husband does not like fancy stuff, but cooking from this has gotten me praise to his co-workers...this is the best book. I actually was trying to find more books buy the same authors. I am afraid to try other cookbooks it is that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    BEST GIFT EVER!

    I got this book as a wedding gift and have not put it down since I said, 'I do.' Its full of yummy reciepes and makes cooking a joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Great Eats!

    My husband and I bought this book for ourselves. We love it. Many recipes are easy and use ingredients that are cheap and easy to find. There are many shortcuts that include using already prepared sauces and crusts. The potpies are great and the chili is delicious. The roasted potatoes are the best ever. The caeser salad dressing is to die for and the beef burgundy is a true tummy pleaser. This is a perfect book for a rookie or seasoned cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2003

    Bride and Groom First and Forever Cookbook: Recipes, Tips, and Techniques to Start You off Right

    I thought this cookbook would be a great step into the world of cooking for my fiance and myself, but the recipes are way to complicated for beginning cooks. I'm looking for recipes that have less than 10 ingredients and some that take only 30 minutes to prepare. The kitchen equipment section is helpful to have on hand, but the bridal registry departments gave me the same information. Pretty pictures but I need more help than that :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1