Customer Reviews for

Bridegroom Wore Plaid

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ian MacGregor is the Earl Of Balfour. He needs a wealthy wif

Ian MacGregor is the Earl Of Balfour. He needs a wealthy wife to help with the support and care of his family and their estate. He waited as long as he could for the return of his older brother who left seven years ago to seek his fortune. He has no choice now but t...
Ian MacGregor is the Earl Of Balfour. He needs a wealthy wife to help with the support and care of his family and their estate. He waited as long as he could for the return of his older brother who left seven years ago to seek his fortune. He has no choice now but to marry money and produce the next heir. He picks a young woman and invites her and her family to his estate so that he can meet her and determine if it would be a good match. One of her chaperones catches Ian's eye and the sparks start to fly.
Grace Burrowes is extremely skilled in developing her characters and their supporting families. She is able to portray the family interactions so that you quickly become engrossed in the story line and identify with the characters. There is plenty of action in this book, some mystery, and with aotal of four couples finding each other, there is plenty of good loving!
I highly recommend this to lovers of romance. It is well written and engaging.

posted by bettysunflower on December 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just cant get through it

I saw a bunch if 4 & 5 stars so i thought i would like this book. But i couldnt get past page 50. Boring, boring book if you ask me. Rambled on and on, so many characters I couldnt keep them straight. Just didnt like it.

posted by 9294402 on August 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Ian MacGregor is the Earl Of Balfour. He needs a wealthy wif

    Ian MacGregor is the Earl Of Balfour. He needs a wealthy wife to help with the support and care of his family and their estate. He waited as long as he could for the return of his older brother who left seven years ago to seek his fortune. He has no choice now but to marry money and produce the next heir. He picks a young woman and invites her and her family to his estate so that he can meet her and determine if it would be a good match. One of her chaperones catches Ian's eye and the sparks start to fly.
    Grace Burrowes is extremely skilled in developing her characters and their supporting families. She is able to portray the family interactions so that you quickly become engrossed in the story line and identify with the characters. There is plenty of action in this book, some mystery, and with aotal of four couples finding each other, there is plenty of good loving!
    I highly recommend this to lovers of romance. It is well written and engaging.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    This is one of her best books! You really get pulled into this s

    This is one of her best books! You really get pulled into this story from the start and you don't want to let go, ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Lovely

    I have enjoyed all of Grace's books and this is no exception-highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Great story, couldn't put it down!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Loved Ian and Augusta, and the whole story!

    There isn't anything I do not love about this story. Four couples come together, the bad guy is stopped, and there are many happy endings. The plot was well written, the conflict was intriguing, and I loved the characters. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Highlanders....Yum

    Great highlander story. Lots of twists and sexual tension. Sexy Scots always make a read entertaining. First in a series. 267 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    So Good

    I loved this story. It was suppose to be about Ian and Augusta attraction to each other but had Ian's two brothers and sister finding love interest also. Then add one evil family member trying to munipulate the situation with Ian and several attempts at killing Augusta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    As posted at THE READING CAFE 16 AUG 13 Combined Review with On

    As posted at THE READING CAFE 16 AUG 13

    Combined Review with Once Upon a Tartan
    ARC provided by NetGalley for an honest review
    5 out of 5 for this reader folks!  I have to say, I REALLY REALLY love Grace Burrowes writing.  She is quickly becoming on of my ABSOLUTE FAVE authors.  I am currently on summer vacay and it is killing me that I have to put my book down as often as I am, because she writes page turning stories.  These two books are the first two books of her MacGregor Trilogy (note .. there is a novella in between book 1 and 2 but I have yet to read it).  Our genre is regency/historical/Victorian romance with a serious dash of yummy "trying to be proper, but serious are so much yummier when they aren't" highlanders.

    The stories revolve around the MacGregor family and the English folk that they seem to hate in one second and take a fancy to the next.  These families all seem to link into one another and create hilarious, action packed, angsty, HEA stories full of lust, bad guys, traditions and LOTS OF WIT!

    Let's meet them shall we??

    BOOK 1 - THE BRIDEGROOM WORE PLAID

    REVIEW

    I swear this book should of been called "The Highland Hookup"!  LOL  While we do have a main love story, there are quite a few other love stories that are going on that keep it exciting.  This is definitely a case of two families made for each other!  

    Our main character is Ian MacGregor.  He is an assumed Earl as his oldest brother has gone MIA and thus declared deceased.  With this comes the responsibility of being the head and provider of his family.  He is also assuming responsibility of removing the MacGragor family from ruin by agreeing to marry an English heiress.  

    Enter the Daniels family.  Eager to marry his daughter Genie to a titled man, Baron Atstax (AKA CREEPOID) moves his entire family in for a long visit with the MacGregor family.  Part of this family is Augusta who is the Baron's niece and chaperon to Genie.  It is Augusta who Ian takes a shine too though.  Don't feel bad for Genie though, she has her eyes set on Ian's brother Gill.  Ian's other brother is hooking up with another Daniels member as well, and Ian's sister is falling in love with the Baron's son.  Have you processed all that??  LOL

    A slow simmering relationship (which comes to a serious hot, steamy boil), between Augusta and Ian begins.  These two are clearly made for each other.  They embark in a physical and emotional relationship believing that they only have this short time to treasure before saying goodbye.  In the midst of this budding relationship, the ugly Baron Alstax is plotting Augusta's murder as he is a devious, selfish and harbouring a secret that could land him in some serious hot water.  Ian begins to slowly put the pieces together and between his family members, some of the Daniels family and his smart, beautiful  Augusta, weave together a terrific climax of this story.

    The bad guys NEVER win in a Grace Burrowes novel, but she can seriously make you sweat!  LOL

    BOOK 2  - ONCE UPON A TARTAN

    REVIEW

    This was a fantastic continuation of this trilogy.  In the first book we met our heroine of this book.  Hester Daniels in book one was a easy going, full of life young lady coming into her own.  Between these books, Hester is involved in a scandalous affair that she has taken to heart and has come back to Scotland to take care of her niece and properly hide from society.  My heart really broke for Hester in this book.

    One day, in trots this English, arrogant, aristocratic, pompous man named Tiberius Flynn (Tye), Earl of Srathroy and future Marquis of Quinworth who is claiming to be a paternal uncle to Hester niece Fiona.  Fiona just adores this man from the beginning while Tye is a little taken back by the little girl who one minute has impeccable manners and the next minute can be found singing in tree branches and mucking around horses.  However, little Fiona is known to take her Uncles hearts and wrap them around her finger, and soon Uncle Tye is in this position.

    Hester and Tye really dislike each other at first and go at it with their words, bantering back and forth.  Soon enough though they begin a friendship which develops into a fierce lusty and loving affair. They are stuck between a rock and a hard place though as they stand across from each other on opposite sides of a dilemma. Tye is very much a mutli-layered character and I loved seeing some of these layers peeled back.  He is put into a horrible position by his family, to claim custody of a niece the family took no interest in.  He is also finding a much needed peace in this country and in Hester's arms.  Hester has issues she is working out and it's wonderful to see her come back into the strong beautiful woman she is.  She is extremely loyal to her niece and she was just overall an easy leading lady to adore.

    Like all of Grace Burrowes stories, she develops situations that you know will work out, but shock you with the amount of thought and creativity it takes to get there.  I was so happy with this book and while there are some similarities to the first book, there was so much more to be had here!  Sorry .. no spoilers .. WINK!  LOL

    You can read these as stand alones but you would enjoy the second book so much more with the first book read.  We see many of the characters return and get a continuation of their story.  If you love the highland settings and a good regency romance, I highly recommend this series.  Grace Burrowes always delivers a thorough well thought out stories with some depth to her characters.  She writes the steamy classy but hot too!  LOL

    HAPPY READING! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Highly recommended!

    With a strong female character reminiscent of Lizzy from Pride & Prejudice, this wonderful story will transport the reader to a time where notions of duty and honor are more important than feelings. While the page count seems low, the author does not dwell on small details, making this story last through all of the most significant twists and intrigues, and making the reader fall in love with the characters as their hearts and passions are exposed. Very well written, clever and witty dialogue, and a mysterious plot amidst a most charming setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I like regency romances, and it was

    I really enjoyed this book. I like regency romances, and it was a nice change of pace to have one in that time period, but not in London during the "Season". I love stories of highlanders and Scotland so this fit the bill. Ian and Gus were such a good match, but their circumstances were keeping them apart. Her cousin, his intended is falling for his younger brother. And another hot younger brother is falling for another cousin acting as chaperone. Lots of action and romance, and well worth the read. I'll have to look at more from this author. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Enjoyable read.

    Well written. Strong protagonist and story moved along at a good pace. Surprised me - enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    This was an enjoyable romance with an unusual set of circumstanc

    This was an enjoyable romance with an unusual set of circumstances. The main characters were likeable and used tender language. If you choose this book pull up a comfortable chair, you are in for a pleasant afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the story! Didn't want the story end. Enjoyed the charac

    Loved the story! Didn't want the story end. Enjoyed the characters and the interactions. Great for a fun read to take you to another place forget your on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    well worth the time

    well worth the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Enjoyable Victorian Romance (LVR)

    Great plot, wonderful characters, lots of loving and happy endings... another grand slam for this author :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Couldn't put the book down

    Loved it.:-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Whinnny@msn

    Story lines in these bpooks are great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Loved it!!

    My first book by this author...definitely not my last!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Soooo romantic

    This was such a beautiful love story. Augusta was sweet but strong and Ian was everything a hero should be. Theirs was a story I could not put down. If you like romance you cant miss with this one. Bravo Grace!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2