Customer Reviews for

The Bridesmaid (Home to Hickory Hollow Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommended for info on Amish

Simply written with nice ending. This gives a good picture of people trying to live within the Amish rules and yet fulfilling their personal talents.

posted by 16572734 on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

M

To the heartoheart reviewer....why do you write a small book in your review then reveal every plot point? Ppl like you ruin books for others. I would like to read and be surprised but thanks to vain, egotistical reviewers like you, the book is now ruined for me. Just be...
To the heartoheart reviewer....why do you write a small book in your review then reveal every plot point? Ppl like you ruin books for others. I would like to read and be surprised but thanks to vain, egotistical reviewers like you, the book is now ruined for me. Just because you have read it, dont presume to think your opinion is so very important that you must reveal every detail. I guess you think the rest of us is just too dumb to read a booj and get all the details. Thank you for ruining this book. You must take lesdons from harriet klausner

posted by 8888649 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Recommended for info on Amish

    Simply written with nice ending. This gives a good picture of people trying to live within the Amish rules and yet fulfilling their personal talents.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended-well worth reading

    Beverly Lewis never disappoints me. Another well-written Amish fiction. Whether you're a seasoned Amish fiction reader or a first timer, you're going to enjoy "The Bridesmaid".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Bridesmaid is the second book in the Home to Hickory Hollow

    The Bridesmaid is the second book in the Home to Hickory Hollow Series. I reviewed the first book The Fiddler.

    Joanna Kurtz has been a bridesmaid several times and some people, like her sister Cora Jane, are wondering if she will ever be a bride herself. Joanna is optimistic though that she will one day marry. Her heart is taken with Eben Troyer. They have a long distance courtship because he lives in Indiana. Will Eben be able to leave Indiana to move to Hickory Hollow to properly court Joanna? Should Joanna wait for him or move on?

    I liked reading Joanna's story. I appreciated her faith and her dedication. She had a strained relationship with Cora Jane which caused problems through the book. She also had a tough time because of her love for writing stories and her hidden desire to have her work published.

    This was an enjoyable book, and I have enjoyed it as I've enjoyed others by Be

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Bridesmaid

    I have read all of Beverly Lewis's books I can get my hands on. This is another sweet Amish story. Joanna Kurtz has been a bridesmaid several times, and her sister Cora Jane is always reminding her. Joanna at 24 is almost considered a old maid.
    Eben Troyer from Shipshewana, Indiana and Joanna from Hickory Hollow, PA have a chance meeting on a beach in VA. Guess not to far fetched considering they are all there to pay their respects to her Uncle who has passed...he is an Amish Bishop.
    Eben and Joanna are able to spend three glorious days together, and then promise to write. So begins a long distance romance. Can they ever get together? So many miles.
    Eben's family need him in order to keep their farm going...his brother has left and gone English. Joanna's roots are deep in Hickory Hollow, can she give everything she loves up?
    I loved spending time with these families....the meals, quilting bees, the gardening and canning. Visits with loved one, and new babes....feel good moments.
    Enjoy this fast great read! Hard to put down once you begin!!

    I received this book through Net Galley and the publisher Bethany House, and was not required to give a positive review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    The Bridesmaid is the second book in Beverly Lewis' series Home

    The Bridesmaid is the second book in Beverly Lewis' series Home To Hickory Hollow. I read the first book in the series, The Fiddler so when The Bridesmaid was offered I knew I had to read it! Joanna Kurtz is a 27 year old single Amish woman who is a writer who longs to be published but knows it's unheard of in her community. Joanna has been a bridesmaid several times for her friends and family. She meets Eben Troyer, who is visiting their area, and they have an instant connection.

    As everyone knows I am a HUGE fan of Amish Fiction so when The Bridesmaid was offered, I had to have it! Beverly Lewis is one of my must read authors! I have loved all of her books I have read including this one! Beverly Lewis writes with such expertise in the Amish Faith, culture, and neighborhoods. I loved the characters in this story especially Joanna and her writing. All the characters made the story so enjoyable. I found myself taken in from the start! I enjoyed meeting new characters in Hickory Hollow and finding out about old friends from the first book. I felt like I was there watching all of the events unfold in Hickory Hollow! Such vivid descriptions! I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Amish Fiction, you will not be disappointed. If you haven't read the first book, don't worry, you won't be lost or feel like you are missing anything. I cannot wait to read the rest of this series. I give this book 4.5 STARS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    The Bridesmaid Beverly Lewis Book Summary: Twenty-seven-year-ol

    The Bridesmaid
    Beverly Lewis

    Book Summary: Twenty-seven-year-old Joanna Kurtz has made several trips to the altar, but never as a bride. The single young Amishwoman is a closet writer with a longing to be published something practically unheard of in her Lancaster County community. Yet Joanna's stories aren't her only secret. She also has a beau who is courting her from afar, unbeknownst even to her sister, Cora, who, though younger, seems to have suitors to spare. Eben Troyer is a responsible young Amishman who hopes to make Joanna Kurtz his bride--if he can ever leave his parents' farm in Shipshewana, Indiana. Yet with his only brother off in the English world, intent on a military career, Eben's hopes for building a life with his dear Joanna are dimming, and patience is wearing thin. Will Joanna ever be more than a bridesmaid?
    Review: It took me a while to get into the book when I started but then it took off!! I breezed through it. I had mixed emotions about Joanna and Eben in the beginning. I was not disposed to like Cora Jane especially with some of the things she did but Joanna had such a real and amazing love for her sister. I loved going back to Hickory Hallow. That was a special treat, especially with the recent movies of Shunning and Confession that have come out. I really found it to be fun to see where Katie grew up with that community today.
    I really could empathize with Joanna about the way the Pastor was. I think that it was a little more than necessary since the Pastor’s admonishments were heavy handed to Joanna alone. If true than he should have included her parents in the talk since she lived in their home. Than to include her parents in it at the end when he amended his conditions was less realistic
    Over all it was a great standalone book that was well put together with realistic characters and an interesting premise along with some fun complications. The ending was almost too convenient but realistic because life does work out that simply in the end.
    I would like to thank Library Thing and Bethany House Publishers for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly recommend Beverly Lewis

    This is a very heart warming story that ends very well leaving you with a happy feeling. I will be looking forward to the next novel in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    really good

    Has you wondering if she will alway be a real good story

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Joanna Kurtz wonders if she will always be a bridesmaid at a wed

    Joanna Kurtz wonders if she will always be a bridesmaid at a wedding.  She prays that is not to be her fate.  She does not want to be a Maidel, she would love to have a husband and children.  But wants to marry for love not for the sake of marriage alone.  




    While attending a funeral out of town she meets Eben Troyer, a young Amish man close to her age.  They spent time together visiting, sharing and talking.  There was definitely a strong attraction between the two of them.  Then it was time for each to go home to their own towns.  They wrote letters and once a week they would talk on the phone.  Eben wanted to court Joanna but he had commitments to his parents and their farm.  Joanne had also committed to her church and was sure she would not get permission to transfer her membership. Even her sister was fast to point this out.




    How will this young couple overcome the barriers they face to church and family?  So many obligations and  restrictions. 




    The book brought out the importance of family and church.  Prayer and reading scripture in search of God's will and His plan was foremost for this young couple.  They definitely had to endured with patience.  




    This author always has a life's lesson in her writings.  As long as you are open to the Word it can be applied to your daily life.




    I highly recommend this book.




    Disclosure
    I received a free copy of this book from Baker Publishing/Bethany House for review.  I was in no way compensated for this review.  It is my own opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    God has a plan for each of our lives, his timing is very different from human timing. God is aware of the "Big Picture."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    Great Read

    Beverly Lewis captures the Amish life well as she has experienced it first hand. This is the story of a young girl dealing with the ways of love and faith in her protected world. It is an interesting look into the every day lives of the Amish and a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    The Bridesmaid by Beverly Lewis is the second book in the Home t

    The Bridesmaid by Beverly Lewis is the second book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series about a quiet Amish community in Pennsylvania. Joanna Kurtz was introduced in the first book, The Fiddler, as an imaginative and sweet Amish woman. In this book, she becomes more fully rounded as a woman well past the age most Amish women are married, and friends and family are starting to consider her a Maidel, old maid. Joanna has always sought refuge in her secret writings, stories that she writes in journals, never intending to share them with others, mindful of the Amish ban on seeking publicity or praise. When she meets Eben Troyer from Shipshewana, Indiana at a family get-together in Virginia Beach, the two have an immediate connection that grows quickly into a long distance relationship through letters and clandestine phone calls. But Eben didn't tell her that his ability to move to Hickory Hollow is dependent on his brother Leroy's returning to the Plain life. Have you ever read a story and found the characters bled over into your real life? I'm embarrassed to admit this, but last night when I went to bed (in the middle of the book) I caught myself asking the Lord to help Joanna and Eben's relationship. That's truly a sign of a good novel, where the characters are compelling and the story poignant. Some readers may become frustrated with Joanna and Eben's passivity, but their trust in the Lord is a powerful message to the story. I didn't like the character of Joanna's younger sister, Cora Jane; she seemed to vindictive and judgmental that when she has a change of heart, it didn't seem realistic because it was too radical. I truly liked Joanna and Eben and felt that some of the other plotlines: the quilt, Cora Jane, and Leroy, distracted from their story at times. I also wish that Amelia, the main character from the first novel, had made an appearance, but I still enjoyed the book and will definitely pick up the next book in the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1