Customer Reviews for

The Bridge: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous!

Loved the book but didn't realise it wad a (short story)!

posted by 8609174 on October 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Eh

I liked the story but had I known it was just a novella, would not have bought it. Not worth $9.99.

posted by 14605493 on October 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Eh

    I liked the story but had I known it was just a novella, would not have bought it. Not worth $9.99.



    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Devoured book in only an hour and a half

    I enjoyed the short story and felt peace as I got to know the characters of The Bridge. I also feel duped because it wasnt a true Karen Kingsbury BOOK.
    I learned a lesson just now! I will now research length of a "book" before I instantly hit the BUY and CONFIRM buttons on my Nook. I feel taken advantage of for a lack of a better description. My future readings of Karen Kingsbury will be done from the good ole fashion libraryLi

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    I absolutely love Karen Kingsbury. I have read all of her novel

    I absolutely love Karen Kingsbury. I have read all of her novels that she has written to date. I was really looking forward to reading this book but I am disappointed that it is only 145 pages and I paid $10 for it. I know it will still be a fantastic book and I am looking forward to reading it.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Anonymous!

    Loved the book but didn't realise it wad a (short story)!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Disappointing

    Very predictable and way too expensive for the 100 or so pages of text. If I had known that it was a short story I would not have bought it. I feel cheated.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Not my favorite

    I really like all of Karen's books but I thought this one was a little short and predictable

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming, Inspirational, Romantic and reminiscent of ¿It¿s

    Heartwarming, Inspirational, Romantic and reminiscent of “It’s a wonderful life”, are just a few descriptors that come to mind as I reflect on “The Bridge” by Karen Kingsbury. This charming Christmas novella completely satisfies the inspirational Christmas “feel good” novel that we are all craving during the Christmas season.
    As the novella opens, we meet the lovely Molly Allen and are introduced to her simple and a little lonely live in Portland, Oregon where she heads up an animal rescue shelter. It is the day after Thanksgiving, a day that she reserves for thinking on an old friend and one she hoped would be more- Ryan Kelley. Ryan is a guitar player who had just been touring with a popular country band, but as things happen in the music business, he is currently unemployed and looking for a new gig. Molly and Ryan, years ago were inseparable in their college days in Franklin, Tennessee, and although they were never technically dating per se, they had a very strong connection with each other. Because Molly’s overbearing father did not want Molly forming any attachments while she was off at college, (He wants her to come home and learn the ropes of running the family business) Molly and Ryan needed to keep up appearances that they were not involved. And so they would meet secretly in the upper room of a charming little book shop called “The Bridge”. The Bridge was run by a wonderful couple named Charlie and Donna Barton who in many ways became surrogate parents to both Molly and Ryan. Charlie and Donna poured their heart into their bookstore and especially into all their customers who entered their doors, offering help and love anyway they could. Molly and Ryan love and respect the Barton’s immensely and it is at The Bridge where their relationship continues to grow.
    Sadly, because of misunderstanding and miscommunication Molly and Ryan part ways and now 8 years later they still think of each other with longing and regret. Tragedy strikes the Barton’s in a way that draws both Molly and Ryan back to the small town of Franklin to come to the Barton’s aid. Old feelings are rekindled and grace, friendship and love are prevalent in a very satisfying ending that all will enjoy.
    As always Karen Kingsbury gives us great character’s that we can cheer on to overcome their obstacles through God’s love and grace. If you are in the mood for a Christmas miracle sort of story, where second chances come to life, friends rise up and come to each other’s aid and God is the author of it all, then do pick up “The Bridge” by Karen Kingsbury, you won’t be disappointed.

    4 stars

    I received a complimentary copy of The Bridge from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Only 100 pages of actual story!!

    This was good but it is a SHORT STORY, not a novel. After subtracting all the non-story pages (dedication pages, blank chapter pages, book club discussion questons, interview with Kingsbury, and chapter from an upcoming book) there are only 100 pages of actual story!! I was shocked when I reached the end. Again, a good story but it lacked depth. I'm sorry to say I've been very disappointed with Kingsbury's most recent books. I didn't even bother to read the Bailey Flannigan series. Coming Home was a slap in the face to long time Baxter family fans.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    don't pay the price

    for only 120 pages of actual story, i was very disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Too Short & Expensive

    Enjoyed this story but too expensive for less than 145 pages of actual reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Maudlin and predictable

    The story line was so juvenile it should have been expanded to somehow maintain reasonable mystery. Were your staff members hesitant to tell you the truth? This was not up to your.usual standards.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Anonymus

    This story was short, boring and predictable. Wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Crappy sample!!!!!!

    Very bad sample! Didnt even get to the first chapter! Very disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    I loved this book, as with all books by her!!!

    I loved this book, as with all books by her!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I have never been disappointing in Karen Kingsbury's woke & this one was no exception. Read the Prequel & the book. Although it was shorter than I had expected, it was wonderful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Vance

    I sit down at a desk, holding my head with my eyes closed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Rose

    She smirked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Nathan

    Res 8 is my dorm? U need mee at viking tales?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Sun

    Strolls out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Ansley

    K im there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7