Customer Reviews for

The Burgess Boys

Average Rating 3.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book n

I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns,...
I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns, no sex, and no intrigue - just good story telling with a message. If you hunger for a good story, this is it.

posted by sstrider on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

No recommendation

This is a dreary read. ...a dysfunctional family story-and mostly unlikable characters. Olive Kitteridge was a favorite! too bad this one didn't measure up.

posted by 10613983 on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book n

    I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns, no sex, and no intrigue - just good story telling with a message. If you hunger for a good story, this is it.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Definitely Reccomend

    As soon as I saw that Elizabeth Stroud had a new book coming out I pre-ordered The Burgess Boys! I was hooked on the author after reading Olive Kitteridge which I loved. This book is ultimately a story of a family's entertwined lives and how each member fits into the family dynamic while dealing with a crisis. I enjoy reading Ms. Stroud's style of writing, it keeps me turning the pages. Some may find the interaction between the family members uncomfortable to read at times but it is true to the story.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No recommendation

    This is a dreary read. ...a dysfunctional family story-and mostly unlikable characters.
    Olive Kitteridge was a favorite! too bad this one didn't measure up.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Basically boring but well written.

    Somewhat interesting family dynamics but moved too slowly and was at times boring. Story line seemed interesting but fell flat of my xpectations.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Elizabeth Strout - The Burgess Boys As in her Pulitzer winning n

    Elizabeth Strout - The Burgess Boys
    As in her Pulitzer winning novel Olive Kitteridge, Elizabeth Strout’s The Burgess Boys is populated by flawed characters living in an imperfect world where grace comes from unexpected sources.  One should not assume that her writing is in anyway formulaic however as both books are exceptionally well written and reveal insights that have this reader at least questioning past, present, and future.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    I found this book very depressing. I was disappointed. It's no

    I found this book very depressing. I was disappointed. It's not what I thougfht it would be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    Not a book for Everyone

    Elizabeth Strout has her own style of writing, which pleases the literary critics. However, subject content is another matter. This book did not hold my interest, and I found it difficult to get through the entire book. In fact, other than emphasis on social issues of the day, I was left wondering what point she was trying to make, and when she was going to get to the story. We get enough of such concentrations by the media, we don't need acclaimed writers to devote an entire book to such. I was truly disappointed. I book so highly recommended is not one I would recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it, Also love Too Crazy To Live Too Beautiful To Die def re

    Love it, Also love Too Crazy To Live Too Beautiful To Die
    def recommend
    great read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Good charecters Rectwr

    Slow at times but great writer

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    ?

    This is a book review site not a chat room!!!!!!

    2 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2015

    In musical theater, it is widely known that an actor will have a

    In musical theater, it is widely known that an actor will have a particular strength towards acting, singing, or dancing. The “Triple Threat“, or one who is exceptional on all of those, is a rare find. I have always thought that authors fall in to similar characters. There are those who excel at character development, those who incite nail-biting with their strong plots, and those who create an amazing sense of place or time.

    Personally, I am most captivated by a good plot, and perhaps my fingernails are proof. I can make great assumptions about a character and forgive stereotypes, and a setting with endless descriptions can make me snooze. A recent exception for me, however, was “The Burgess Boys”, by Elizabeth Strout.

    Set in small-town Maine, “The Burgess Boys” follows a family’s struggle as a teenaged nephew pulls a prank that engenders racial tensions and protests across the nation. One uncle, a high-profile lawyer arranges for his defense, while trying to hold on to his marriage. The other uncle, a Legal Aid attorney quietly keeps the boy’s mother from falling apart, while wrestling with a divorce that still unsettles him years later.

    The plot is strong, although not a page-turner, but it is the characters that pop off of the page and grab on to you. Nothing is glossy, and nothing is far-fetched. There are real hurts, joys, challenges and sacrifices. Elizabeth Strout writes as if she has pulled back the curtain on a gut-wrenching drama and is letting you take a peek. However, she wisely refrains from doing anything that is over-the-top.

    “The Burgess Boys” was a departure for me, but one which I am thankful I took.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Boring. Hard time getting into the story - didn't finish it.

    Boring. Hard time getting into the story - didn't finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    fantastic

    Her writing is masterful, with compelling characters who somehow manage tounveil their true selves in mid-life
    Love her writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Definitely a good read

    I read this wonderful book for a book club discussion. There are so many interesting characters and story lines that our discussion took many paths. I would definitely read other books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Study of Family Dynamics

    I found this to be an interesting story of an imperfect family as they find themselves dealing with a criminal act of the nephew. As the family history unravels, it is clear that the characters have all contributed to make the family very dysfunctional. However, in the end, the more successful brother, not suprisingly, was less able to cope with his failings than his other siblings who had lived most of their lives feeling inferior. I really liked the book, but felt the ending was a bit abrupt. It did make me continue to wonder how the characters would proceed in life. So sometimes an unknown ending is what makes us ponder about the characters longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book by Elizabeth Strout. I didn't want to put it

    Another great book by Elizabeth Strout. I didn't want to put it down! Iwas very tired at work for a few days staying up to late reading it. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Excellent family drama

    After having read and loved Olive Kitteridge, I was anxious to read the next novel from Elizabeth Strout. I was not disappointed. This novel examines the emotional baggage many of us bring to adulthood and how it often taints every relationship we have. Jim and Bob Burgess are brothers with a painful past, and while Susan is Bob's twin, the two are not very close. Jim and Bob could also not be more different and Jim's demeaning hostility toward his brother is often painful to read. Susan's son, Zach, commits an act that turns the family upside down and the siblings must work together to protect Zach from the ensuing legal and political ramifications. Taking place in both New York and Maine, Strout deals empathetically with the issue of immigrants/refugees and their struggles to assimilate into a culture so radically different from their own. This is a timely, complex story about family, parenting, siblings, childhood, and American society. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    After reading "Olive Kitteridge I couldn't wait to read Str

    After reading "Olive Kitteridge I couldn't wait to read Strout's new book and was very disappointed. As each new event happened and each new character was introduced, I knew exactly what would happen. I really do not like a story where everything gets as bad as it can then in the last paragraph, all turns out right. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Strout Strikes Gold

    The Burgess Boys is the story of a family of siblings that come together to assist a son and nephew accused of a hate crime. He has bowled a pig head into a mosque during services. While he exits the scene to visit his father, the uncles relationships deteriorate. Strout really understands her brothers and Cassandra Campbell interprets all of her characters brilliantly. This book is for anyone who likes stories about families and relationships. I enjoyed Strout's Olive Kitteridge as well. I would enjoy leading a book club discussion of this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    James

    Waits

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6