Customer Reviews for

The Burgess Boys

Average Rating 3.5
( 117 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book n

I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns,...
I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns, no sex, and no intrigue - just good story telling with a message. If you hunger for a good story, this is it.

posted by sstrider on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

No recommendation

This is a dreary read. ...a dysfunctional family story-and mostly unlikable characters. Olive Kitteridge was a favorite! too bad this one didn't measure up.

posted by 10613983 on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    No recommendation

    This is a dreary read. ...a dysfunctional family story-and mostly unlikable characters.
    Olive Kitteridge was a favorite! too bad this one didn't measure up.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    I found this book very depressing. I was disappointed. It's no

    I found this book very depressing. I was disappointed. It's not what I thougfht it would be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    After reading "Olive Kitteridge I couldn't wait to read Str

    After reading "Olive Kitteridge I couldn't wait to read Strout's new book and was very disappointed. As each new event happened and each new character was introduced, I knew exactly what would happen. I really do not like a story where everything gets as bad as it can then in the last paragraph, all turns out right. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Strout Strikes Gold

    The Burgess Boys is the story of a family of siblings that come together to assist a son and nephew accused of a hate crime. He has bowled a pig head into a mosque during services. While he exits the scene to visit his father, the uncles relationships deteriorate. Strout really understands her brothers and Cassandra Campbell interprets all of her characters brilliantly. This book is for anyone who likes stories about families and relationships. I enjoyed Strout's Olive Kitteridge as well. I would enjoy leading a book club discussion of this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Disappointed.

    This is the second Elizabeth Strout book I've read. After reading both, I came away with the same conclusions. I was impressed by Ms. Strout's ability to build strong characters with great depth. BUT, in both books, I found myself pushing through to force myself to finish because of the weak story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    I was very disappointed with this book.  I found the characters

    I was very disappointed with this book.  I found the characters to be unlikable and annoying.  I just couldn't relate to the story. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    I had been looking forward to reading this book, and bought it a

    I had been looking forward to reading this book, and bought it as soon as it became available.  I expected to love it, and tried to, but just did not.  It was depressing to read  a story in which most of the adults were so dysfunctional, they could not  help a very needy young person (Zach) in the family.  Only Bob (uncle) and Abdikarim (Somali) appeared to be able to think of anyone but themselves.  I was actually relieved when I finished reading this story - it was that  uncomfortable for me.  I kept thinking that somebody would "get it together", but only Bob and Abdikarim  were on track.  I just don't enjoy stories where children are victimized.  Had I understood what I was getting into, I never would have begun reading this book.  I have given this book two stars because it was obviously well written - it just did not appeal to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    I thought her other books were great, but I couldn't get into th

    I thought her other books were great, but I couldn't get into this one at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    So-so

    Very uninspired and uninspiring-i kept waiting for it to get better and it just didn't

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Disappointing

    This is a very well writen book but also very depressing. It was sad and not one to read if you like uplifting stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1