Customer Reviews for

The Burgess Boys

Average Rating 3.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book n

I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns,...
I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns, no sex, and no intrigue - just good story telling with a message. If you hunger for a good story, this is it.

posted by sstrider on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

No recommendation

This is a dreary read. ...a dysfunctional family story-and mostly unlikable characters. Olive Kitteridge was a favorite! too bad this one didn't measure up.

posted by 10613983 on June 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book n

    I don't usually leave recommendations, but I decided this book needed to be talked about. I read Olive Ketteridge previously and knew this would also be a wonderful book. I love a good story with strong characters and this has both. There are no wild twists or torns, no sex, and no intrigue - just good story telling with a message. If you hunger for a good story, this is it.

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it, Also love Too Crazy To Live Too Beautiful To Die def re

    Love it, Also love Too Crazy To Live Too Beautiful To Die
    def recommend
    great read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    fantastic

    Her writing is masterful, with compelling characters who somehow manage tounveil their true selves in mid-life
    Love her writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book by Elizabeth Strout. I didn't want to put it

    Another great book by Elizabeth Strout. I didn't want to put it down! Iwas very tired at work for a few days staying up to late reading it. I loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This story patiently describes a harsh early life situation for

    This story patiently describes a harsh early life situation for two young boys. It shows how life 'moves on' regardless, and then, over time, we get to see the after-effects of early trauma on brothers. Readers discover how unhealed post traumatic effects DO play out, perhaps moreso on the brother who insists that he is the more strong and capable. I learned, in reading The Burgess Brothers, that here is no wound that can be left unhealed, or unacknowledged..or not passed on to the next generation. Elizabeth Strout tucked all of this into a poignant and engaging read - as she always does so well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    TOWN OF BURGESS/JACK FROST'S HOME

    This is where i live and hang out half the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Earlier this summer I finally got around to reading Olive Kitter

    Earlier this summer I finally got around to reading Olive Kitteridge. Was so blown away by that novel that I jumped right to The Burgess Boys. A marvelously compelling and absorbing story. Not to be overlooked! (I guess now I have to go back and start from the beginning, with her first novels! )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Recomend

    Not disappointing!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Excellent family drama

    After having read and loved Olive Kitteridge, I was anxious to read the next novel from Elizabeth Strout. I was not disappointed. This novel examines the emotional baggage many of us bring to adulthood and how it often taints every relationship we have. Jim and Bob Burgess are brothers with a painful past, and while Susan is Bob's twin, the two are not very close. Jim and Bob could also not be more different and Jim's demeaning hostility toward his brother is often painful to read. Susan's son, Zach, commits an act that turns the family upside down and the siblings must work together to protect Zach from the ensuing legal and political ramifications. Taking place in both New York and Maine, Strout deals empathetically with the issue of immigrants/refugees and their struggles to assimilate into a culture so radically different from their own. This is a timely, complex story about family, parenting, siblings, childhood, and American society. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Another great book by an exceptional author! Lots of lifes lesso

    Another great book by an exceptional author! Lots of lifes lessons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Brilliant!

    Elizabeth Strout did it again! Having read Olive Kitteridge and enjoying it so thoroughly I was delighted when The Burgess Boys was released. Ms. Strout really sets to print a dysfunctional family in a way that captures your attention. As is true in any family situation you never know what turn it will take. I'm sure we've all come across the Olive Kitteridges of the world but hope The Burgess Boys saga remains only in print. Can't wait for her next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    BORING, BORING, BORING

    IT TOOK ME A WEEK AND A HALF TO READ THIS BOOK. IF I COULD HAVE I WOULDEN'T HAVE EVEN GIVEN THIS BOOK A ONE STAR RATING. BESIDES THE BORING TOPIC THE F AND S WORDS ARE USED TOO OFTEN. ALSO, HER CHARACTERS IN THE SECOND HALF OF THE BOOK USE THE LORD'S NAMES IN ANGER AND SOMETIMES IN NORMAL SPEAKING SITUATIONS. THE AUTHOR SHOULD BE ABLE TO EXPRESS THE CHARACTERS FEELINGS WITHOUT VULGARITIES OR DOWNRIGHT CURSING. THIS BOOK IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY I PAID FOR IT. THE AUTHOR INSTEAD SHOULD PAY ME FOR READING HER BOOK.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2013

    A great follow-up to "Olive Kittridge"

    Elizabeth Strout is a master at portraying the people who lead very ordinary yet complex lives. She has captured the essence of siblings who lead lives apart, yet are inextricably intertwined. This story is heartbreaking yet hopeful. I found myself cheering for each character's road to self-discovery. Ms. Strout writes for those who are deep thinkers, those who aren't afraid to uncover the secrets of human behavior.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Excellent novel

    This is a beautifully written book that I couldn't put down. Sorry it had to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    A good read!

    Enjoyed this book very much. I would be open to reading other books by this author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Recommended reading

    Interesting characters, compelling story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2