Customer Reviews for

The Burning Stone (Crown of Stars #3)

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A great series

This series is not for those who get lost easily. Kate Elliott is the best author that I have read in recent years. She takes the reader to new levels as you follow the same characters through out the series and as you learn about the new characters that she is bringing...
This series is not for those who get lost easily. Kate Elliott is the best author that I have read in recent years. She takes the reader to new levels as you follow the same characters through out the series and as you learn about the new characters that she is bringing in she connects them all together. In this book she connects Biscop Antonia to Liath in a way that you would never think to consider. You meet people that you thought you knew and find out that there is alot more to them than you realised. She transports the reader to the land that she writes about and for those who are history buffs you can see the similarities between the places that she writes about and the real places that she gets her ideas from. At the beginning of her books she will tell you what areas of midevil history she has been researching and you can definately see the places in her writing. She has also made some connections weither intentional or not between her characters and the Kings of ancient Europe, (King Henry). Elliott is a wonderful author and I can't wait for the next book in the series to come out. I would give this book and it's series the highest rating I could and I would recommend this series to anyone who likes historical fiction, sci-fi, or fantasy. It is truely a combination of all three.

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Its a bit long and boring dont you think?

After reading the first volume of Crown of Stars, King's Dragon, I was hooked on the storyline which was well supported by the second volume, Prince of Dogs. Yet I found the third volume a very long and tedious read. The complicated story supported by numerous and evolv...
After reading the first volume of Crown of Stars, King's Dragon, I was hooked on the storyline which was well supported by the second volume, Prince of Dogs. Yet I found the third volume a very long and tedious read. The complicated story supported by numerous and evolving sub plots didnt seem to go anywhere. Unlike the fist two volumes, that have a start and an ending all of their own whilst being a part of a larger storyline continuum, the Burning Stone didnt have the start and finnish elements of a good story rather just the middle element, yet it does build the storyline for the next two volumes which are worth the read. So on its own, the Burning Stone isnt much of a read, but is essential in understanding the Crown of Stars epic.

posted by Anonymous on October 8, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Its a bit long and boring dont you think?

    After reading the first volume of Crown of Stars, King's Dragon, I was hooked on the storyline which was well supported by the second volume, Prince of Dogs. Yet I found the third volume a very long and tedious read. The complicated story supported by numerous and evolving sub plots didnt seem to go anywhere. Unlike the fist two volumes, that have a start and an ending all of their own whilst being a part of a larger storyline continuum, the Burning Stone didnt have the start and finnish elements of a good story rather just the middle element, yet it does build the storyline for the next two volumes which are worth the read. So on its own, the Burning Stone isnt much of a read, but is essential in understanding the Crown of Stars epic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2002

    A great series

    This series is not for those who get lost easily. Kate Elliott is the best author that I have read in recent years. She takes the reader to new levels as you follow the same characters through out the series and as you learn about the new characters that she is bringing in she connects them all together. In this book she connects Biscop Antonia to Liath in a way that you would never think to consider. You meet people that you thought you knew and find out that there is alot more to them than you realised. She transports the reader to the land that she writes about and for those who are history buffs you can see the similarities between the places that she writes about and the real places that she gets her ideas from. At the beginning of her books she will tell you what areas of midevil history she has been researching and you can definately see the places in her writing. She has also made some connections weither intentional or not between her characters and the Kings of ancient Europe, (King Henry). Elliott is a wonderful author and I can't wait for the next book in the series to come out. I would give this book and it's series the highest rating I could and I would recommend this series to anyone who likes historical fiction, sci-fi, or fantasy. It is truely a combination of all three.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2000

    Crown of Stars Series Amazing

    I cannot wait for the next version of the series to come out! Kate Elliot writes with such depth that you can see each character just like they were in the room with you. You begin to care what happens to the individual like you know them personally. Kate Elliot knows how to draw out the action, even when the book seems overwhelmingly long. Just when you catch your breath, the story STOPS and you can't believe the book is done! You search for the next volume, and are shocked when you can't have it RIGHT NOW! Keep up the excellent work, Ms. Elliot! You have a major fan for life!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I need him dead

    Nightfur is a traitor!!!!!!u can probably find him qweak kill him!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2005

    Even Fantsay needs to be realistic

    The book takes place in ancient times. It is in an age of magic and superstition. However we find the author putting words into the characters mouths that are far too sophisticated for such an age. In addition ( and this caused me to stop reading the book)she has one of the characters using terms of longtitude, plane of the epliptic, altitude etc. These concepts were not discovered until at least 1000 years after the period of the story. Apparantly the author believes she can say and do anything as long as she calls it fantasy--she could not be more wrong. You have to be truthful to the time and the characters. Maybe she needs to go back to writing school.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2003

    very good

    it was very intriquing but was deep, and sort of dragged on, but overall it was well written and worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2000

    Really good, but

    This third book in the series is good and well worth buying. If you liked the first two then you will like this one some parts read a little bit slower then the second novel but well worth reading this new one and watch for the fourth title soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2000

    An Amazing Book!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book! I have been into fantasy for a few years now, but this series is the best one I've read yet. I think that it is a must for all age groups! What I find incredibly amazing is how this book, the third in the series, is just as good as the first two, if not better! Usually in series they seem to get worse as it goes on, but Kate Elliott produced many suprises, and had an excellent plot! I never wanted to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2000

    Well written, for Gay Fiction

    Elliott is wonderful at making multiple plots understandable and myriad details managable. Though this is a Gay Fiction novel she does go overboard, making every male in the story either gay or bisexual. She compounds this flaw by at the same time making the all women in the story immune to the same failing. I think her huge inclusion of the homosexual themes have also kept her from reaching the largest portion of Fantasy and Sci Fi readers. Of course, this same tactic made teletubies insanely popular in the gay community, and if this is Elliott's goal I'm betting she will have fantastic success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1