Customer Reviews for

The Burning Time

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    I received this ebook through Early Reviewers. Overall I found i

    I received this ebook through Early Reviewers. Overall I found it to be a fast read. Drawing heavily on Lovecraft's Old Ones mythos, the story basically played out as a good versus evil story. Two strangers arrive in a small town, one a preacher who is actually an immortal creature working to spread chaos and violence, as he slowly gains enough power to open the way to Earth for the Old Ones to enter. He slowly brainwashes the populace, feeding off of the escalating violence and hostility as neighbours and family turn on each other with horrific results. John Root, a traveler who collects folktales and myths and is the latest in a family line whose job it is to seek out and fight evil like the creature masquerading as a preacher. He knows a mishmash of herbal medicine and magic and the author provides him with some interesting aspects such as a black medicine bag that is more of a tunnel to somewhere else than just a carrying case. 




    One thing that didn't ring true for me was that Cyrus Christian was known by other names such as Loki, Anansi, Trickster, etc. Yes, those are gods of chaos and mischief, but I don't see them as evil in the way that Cyrus Christian was portrayed, nor could I see them working to aid the Old Ones. It's a small point but it did bother me whenever those other names were used. I just felt it was not an accurate representation of Tricksters, but taken much beyond into something that was completely evil and horrific.




    The action moved quickly and the atmosphere of evil was well described but I felt like we were barely scratching the surface and that it might've been helpful, especially for those who are not familiar with Lovecraft, to have provided more background and detail of the Old Ones and this seemingly eternal battle between Root and his adversary, who we learn can't be killed. At times I felt that the town violence went a little over the top, especially when after it died down people just rationaized all that had happened and blamed it on the heat or electrical ions and moved on. I doubt that the kind of violence on the scale described could happen and that people could move forward afterwards or rationalize it in any way. That just felt a little too easy and didn't ring true. It began to feel that no matter what eventually happened, there had been so much damage to the people in the town that they would never be able to move back to a normal place after it. 




    I would probably recommend this book to anyone who enjoys horror and Lovecraft. It's a fast and somewhat enjoyable read if you suspend disbelief and just ride along with the story. It's not the best horror I've read and there isn't much that is new or creative but I did find myself wanting to keep reading to see what would happen and I did like the John Root character. If the author decided to make it into a series I would probably give a second book a try, especially if the author decided to dig a little deeper into John and his family line and there was some progression rather than just a repeat using the same basic story with just a different town. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    I got this book from the Early Reviewers for an honest review.

    I got this book from the Early Reviewers for an honest review.




    This book is pretty good for a mythos tale. If you like Lovecraft, this book is for you. I thought it was great how the town went nuts and turned on each other. The author really knows his lore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers' Favorite In The Burning Time,

    Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers' Favorite

    In The Burning Time, an unbearable heat wave is affecting Hastings Mills, a small town of 15,000 in upstate New York. Meanwhile, strange suicides baffle the small community. All the young women jumped from a bridge into the Allegheny River. As if that isn't enough, a man beat and killed his wife, and a woman killed her husband because he refused to go to church. A man named John Root arrives in town and he is on a mission to stop the evil force before it changes Hastings Mills forever.

    Thanks to J.G. Faherty’s undeniable talent, we are kept fascinated from beginning to end with this gripping horror tale. The story moves along at a good pace, and I was absorbed enough to finish it in two sittings. The plot is absolutely original, solid, and interesting. This is a classic story of good versus evil. It was easy for the villain to brainwash the townspeople and exploit their weaknesses. There were times when I thought the evil would win. All characters are well-developed and memorable - Reverend Cyrus Christian, the mysterious John Root, Danni Anderson and her younger brother Mitchell, just to name a few. Faherty took his time in introducing them, just as he took his time in introducing the town and the well-written plot to the readers. The prose is top-notch and flawless, and the dialogue is sharp.  

    No matter what genre you prefer, The Burning Time is a story you should read. You won’t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    This is an excellent book about the old fight of good versus evi

    This is an excellent book about the old fight of good versus evil and how common, everyday folks, under the influence of a charismatic stranger, can become twisted monsters they never would have imagined. If you're a Lovecraft aficionado, you'll definitely enjoy this novel.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Things aren't going well in Hastings Mills. The weather is unbea

    Things aren't going well in Hastings Mills. The weather is unbearably hot, a man chased his wife through a street and beat her to death, women keep jumping off a bridge to their deaths and a husband who says he won't go to church is killed by his wife. Things started to change when two strangers arrived in town. One man, Reverend Cyrus Christian is collecting blood sacrifices to offer the Old Ones in his attempt to release Hell on Earth. Whatever town he goes to, evil reigns supreme and Hastings Mills may never be the same. The other stranger, John Root is the only one who can stop him but he has troubles of his own and it will not be easy keeping the elder gods from inheriting the Earth and bringing chaos in their wake.

    The Burning Time by J.G. Faherty is a classic story of good versus evil in a small New England town. Fans of H.P. Lovecraft will enjoy The Burning Time because it dives deep into the Cthulhu mythos and there is an atmosphere of despair and dread that hangs in the air throughout the book. What I really enjoyed about this book was the character of John Root. John isn't your normal everyday hero. He isn't confident in himself and he doesn't really want to be who he is. He comes from a family who practiced magic and he feels his life purpose is to stop evil because that's what his mother did.

    John has fought many supernatural creatures in his time and he carries all the scars with him. When he sleeps he has constant nightmares and everyday he relieves his failures. Despite his feelings he does his duty and doesn't complain about it, which is what makes him such an excellent character.

    One of my favorite scenes was when John realizes that a boy he is helping looks at him as a hero. Instead of enjoying the fact that someone looks up to him, he wonders when he's going to fail and disappoint the boy. There was also a good scene where three hell hounds attacked the house that John is staying in that was very well done.

    The only bad thing in this book is while the atmosphere is great, it lacks suspense because things get so bad in Hastings Mills that it feels like evil has already won. I think the theme J.G. Faherty was going for though was that no matter how bad things get, there will still be some good. You can't have good without evil and the battle will always rage on between the two. There were also two main characters that were introduced in the book that I would have liked to have seen become a bigger part of the story.

    There are quite a few terrifying scenes in this book. Hastings Mills is a town where everyone is loosing their minds and there are stories within the story that were disturbing. The Burning Time is a hard-core horror story that takes a close look at a whole town that is collectively loosing its mind and it will have you shaking in fear anytime you see a stranger enter a small town.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've not read a huge amount from this specific genre. But after

    I've not read a huge amount from this specific genre. But after reading this, I want to read more. This book is fun and exciting. JG does a great job of keeping you wondering what's going to happen. You want to know what will, but you don't. It's a great read.

    I love the characters. JG does a great job of creating an awesome character arc and storyline that surround them. You get really invested in them and what to see what JG is going to throw at them next.

    The mixing of the myths in, add another flavor to it.

    This is a great book, I recommend it those that enjoy Lovecraft and this genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    J.G. Faherty pens "The Burning Time" in an well writte

    J.G. Faherty pens "The Burning Time" in an well written, exciting plot, with extremely well developed and interesting characters. This is one book that will hook you right from the start and won't let go until your finished. I loved how the author was able to keep me guessing throughout the book, which is a rare thing to do. Highly recommended for all adult readers.




    This review is based on a complimentary copy from the author which was provided for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    An Awesome thriller!

    An awesome good vs. evil thriller that will keep you enthralled. A small town is under attack by someone evil but who is it? The author did an excellent job keeping you in the dark until the very end. I especially like the irony of one of the characters names but I won't tell you who. You'll have to read it to find out. Plot and characters have good depth and it was very well written. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1