Customer Reviews for

The Burning Times: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    If you liked Mists of Avalon...

    This one is up there with that! It's not specifically Arthurian, but definitely a novel of the Craft and the Old Ways, and the protagonist is an Abbess of a convent and also a witch... Her life and growing up in the old ways and need to hide her abilities is very easy to sympathize with. This author has either done a lot of research or is a priestess herself, as she knows what she's talking about. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2004

    Not about France

    This dull book is about religion and romance but its relationship to France is meaningless. The author has little appreciation for French history or culture, and the book could have been set anywhere. If you want to know about French history and the Avignon region, go elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    Excellent Page Turner

    I really enjoyed this book. Not only did it keep me guessing until the very end, but the twist was also very entriguing, and I totally didn't see it coming. It paints a wonderful picture of France in the 1300's, with a mysterious and entertaining religious and magical backdrop at the same time. Definitely something I'd recommend, especially if you can find it on sale!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Wonderful read!

    I picked this book up because it looked interesting to me (I love historical fiction mixed with turbulent religious times) and it was a 'bargain book' as well! What a surprisingly wonderful story! It captured me from the first few pages and kept me hooked until the last paragraph in the epilogue!! I would recommend it highly. This book uses witchcraft, Christianity and mythology against the backdrop of war and the Black Death in 14th century France to captivate the reader. The main character is Sybille, a midwife who is taught the pagan ways by her beloved grandmother, but must seek the refuge of Franciscan nuns in a convent during the Inquisition. Is Sybille a witch or a Catholic saint? You'll be guessing the answer to that question up until the very end of the novel! A great page-turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    A GREAT Book!!!

    This Book was GREAT!! It kept the me on the edge of my seat. I didn't want to put it down. It is beautifully written and I think Jeanne Kalogridis used language wonderfully. The details she used were great. In the end it all came together. I hope she writes another book about Sybille and Luc and their adventure through France at that time. I would tell everyone to read this book. And I hope to read more of Jeanne Kalogridis' stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    A wonderful spiritual novel

    I loved this book. If you are not spiritually inclined, you can read it as a great magical fairy tale (with a very real historical background). But if you are open to the spirituality presented through Sybille, this book might inspire you to search out and follow your own destiny. Either way, it is a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting historical romantic fantasy

    In 1357 France, the Inquisition agents of Cardinal Chretien arrest Franciscan Abbess Marie Francois. They charge her with heresy for practicing pagan rituals and magic, and for communicating with the devil. They plan to burn Marie at the stakes so she can serve as an example to those who stray from the right path of worshipping God. <P>The reluctant Dominican scribe, Michel, who prefers to save souls, rather than dispatch people to the next life, is chosen to obtain Marie¿s confession. However, Michel feels Marie is pure, good, and holy instead of an evil witch. He decides to prove her innocent of the charges even after she admits her grandmother taught her the pagan ways. Forced to flee Marie whose birth name is Sybille joins the ¿Race¿ and seeks out her lover Luc de la Rose for the good of her ¿people¿. <P> THE BURNING TIMES is at its best when it stays with fourteenth century realities like the Black Plague, the French Inquisition, the burning of witches at the stakes, and the pagan religions. When the plot veers into fantasyland, it loses speed as a different type of tale emerges. Likewise, key characters are impacted especially the heroine. As Marie she is an incredible individual struggling against a rising tide, but as Sybille she seems mythological as if she truly is Diana the Huntress. Known for her vampire tales, Jeanne Kalogridis has written an intriguing historical fiction that will attract readers, but the talented author took too big of a bite with this story line(s). <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1