Customer Reviews for

The Buzzard Table (Deborah Knott Series #18)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Maron's two series' collide again just like they did in Three-Da

Maron's two series' collide again just like they did in Three-Day Town, the last book in this series. This time New York police detective Sigrid Harald travels to Cotton Grove with her award-winning photographer mother, Anne Lattimore Harald, to visit Sigrid’s ailing gr...
Maron's two series' collide again just like they did in Three-Day Town, the last book in this series. This time New York police detective Sigrid Harald travels to Cotton Grove with her award-winning photographer mother, Anne Lattimore Harald, to visit Sigrid’s ailing grandmother. They get together with Judge Deborah Knot and her husband, Sheriff's Deputy Dwight Bryant for dinner at Mrs. Lattimore's Victorian home. This is where they meet Mrs. Lattimore's long lost nephew, Martin Crawford, an ornithologist researching a book on Southern vultures. Anne is charmed by her newly found cousin but something makes her believe they have met before.

When a string of suspicious murders hit the county Deborah, Dwight, and Sigrid once again work together to catch a killer, uncovering long-buried family secrets along the way.


I am a long time fan of Margaret Maron. She plots a mystery masterfully. She keeps the reader engaged from the first word until the last. I love the way she has blended both of her protagonists in these last two stories.

These characters are still fresh and evolving even as we finish this 18th book. Dwight has some things in his past that he has not shared with Deborah that will see the light of day in future editions and in this story had him facing some tough decisions. Deborah's relationship with Cal took a turn that made this reader actually shed a tear. Sigrid's connection to Colleton County gives her reason to visit and help Dwight and Deborah in the future now that her series has ended. Cameo or surprised appearances are always nice.

The buzzard theme was a little strange at first and I probably learned much more about turkey vultures than I ever wanted to, but true to Maron's style she brings it all together in a way her readers will love.

This book could be read as a stand alone but this series is best when you start at the beginning. Deborah has a huge family and without the background from previous novels it can be hard to keep them all straight. You will also see the way family is really the tie that binds all of these wonderful books together.

posted by Dollycas on November 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Choose another book!

Sorry I wasted my time reading this book. I have read other books by this writer, and don't remember them being so poorly written. It seemed to be more about what the characters were eating than developing a meaningful plot.

posted by 358288 on November 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Maron's two series' collide again just like they did in Three-Da

    Maron's two series' collide again just like they did in Three-Day Town, the last book in this series. This time New York police detective Sigrid Harald travels to Cotton Grove with her award-winning photographer mother, Anne Lattimore Harald, to visit Sigrid’s ailing grandmother. They get together with Judge Deborah Knot and her husband, Sheriff's Deputy Dwight Bryant for dinner at Mrs. Lattimore's Victorian home. This is where they meet Mrs. Lattimore's long lost nephew, Martin Crawford, an ornithologist researching a book on Southern vultures. Anne is charmed by her newly found cousin but something makes her believe they have met before.

    When a string of suspicious murders hit the county Deborah, Dwight, and Sigrid once again work together to catch a killer, uncovering long-buried family secrets along the way.


    I am a long time fan of Margaret Maron. She plots a mystery masterfully. She keeps the reader engaged from the first word until the last. I love the way she has blended both of her protagonists in these last two stories.

    These characters are still fresh and evolving even as we finish this 18th book. Dwight has some things in his past that he has not shared with Deborah that will see the light of day in future editions and in this story had him facing some tough decisions. Deborah's relationship with Cal took a turn that made this reader actually shed a tear. Sigrid's connection to Colleton County gives her reason to visit and help Dwight and Deborah in the future now that her series has ended. Cameo or surprised appearances are always nice.

    The buzzard theme was a little strange at first and I probably learned much more about turkey vultures than I ever wanted to, but true to Maron's style she brings it all together in a way her readers will love.

    This book could be read as a stand alone but this series is best when you start at the beginning. Deborah has a huge family and without the background from previous novels it can be hard to keep them all straight. You will also see the way family is really the tie that binds all of these wonderful books together.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Is anything ever as it appears upon first glance? Judge Deborah

    Is anything ever as it appears upon first glance?

    Judge Deborah Knott has comfortably adapted to her marriage to Dwight and mothering his son Cal. Deborah was raised around 11 brothers so there is not a lot a man can fool her about. Yet there is a man living obscurely under the pretense of photographing birds who has a story to tell of why he is there that does not quite make sense. He is connected to a well distanced cousin of Deborah’s so he should not raise eye brows but when a young woman is killed too close to where he is staying red flags start flying every where.

    Dwight is working this murder dealing with too many suspects all with a motive to want the woman removed from their life. Yet, as Dwight pulls the pieces together a teenager trying to stay out of trouble finds himself near death for making a poor decision. On top of that you add another murder that has the FBI cloak and dagger drama going on and Dwight is knee deep in what is happening in his town. The connection again is the strange man with quick lies and some very sketchy details about what he is really doing in Colleton County.

    Margaret Maron provides readers with everything they look for in a book and more. There is the captivating mystery of course, but every story is woven around the personal aspect that makes Deborah and Dwight so enjoyable. This book in particular when have every fan of Ms Maron’s grabbing a tissue by the end.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Doesn't Disappoint

    I look forward to Margaret Maron's Deborah Knott books and this one didn't disappoint. Good characters, interesting plot. Love the locale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2015

    I have loved this series from the first book I read and The Buzz

    I have loved this series from the first book I read and The Buzzard Table is no exception.  I love Deborah and her whole family!  The bits and pieces we get of those not directly involved add to the picture and the warmth of the series.

    This book presented a twist that gives us a little different view of Dwight than we have seen before which makes it special for me.  Margaret Maron makes her characters especially real and whole and I love that.

    For those who read Three Dog Town or who have read the Sigrid books, she had come down south to visit her dying grandmother and makes some contributions to the resolution of two of the three mysteries.  Deborah still doesn't seem to care for her but she does seem more open and I appreciated seeing more about Sigrid. It is time to bring out that series and read it again.

    Dwight has his hands full when a local real estate agent disappears and there are no clues to what has happened until someone anonymously reports a body in a unofficial dump. Later a pilots death looks suspicious but again there are no clues and the FBI takes over the case.  Finally another local is seriously injured and there are possible connections with both cases.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Another good read by Margaret Maron

    Enjoyed this book. Had a good plot and story line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    highly recommend

    I always look forward to reading about the Knott family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Must Read

    One of the best of the Deborah Knott Series. I own all of them and can't wait for another book to come out. If you are a fan of Margaret Maron this is a must have and if you are new to this series it would stand alone, but you should read all of them, Can't reccomend this hjighly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1