Customer Reviews for

The Call of Sedona: Journey of the Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Everyone has to read! Truly inspiring and full of great wisdom!

I couldn't put this book down after getting it! Ilchi Lee's language is easy to read and connects with my heart and soul. I feel so moved by his words and experiences. This book really will change how we view life and will motivate us to make a change for ourselves, our...
I couldn't put this book down after getting it! Ilchi Lee's language is easy to read and connects with my heart and soul. I feel so moved by his words and experiences. This book really will change how we view life and will motivate us to make a change for ourselves, our families and friends, and the whole of humanity. This book is a MUST read for everyone who cares for the Earth and Humanity.

posted by GiJeuk on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

another charlatan

It was interesting to read this book. I had recently learned of Dahn yoga and attended classes. Not really what I would call yoga but it has some of the basic premises. Unfortunately this guy, Ilchi Lee, has done what other "gurus" have done - come up with an unbelievab...
It was interesting to read this book. I had recently learned of Dahn yoga and attended classes. Not really what I would call yoga but it has some of the basic premises. Unfortunately this guy, Ilchi Lee, has done what other "gurus" have done - come up with an unbelievable story in which they become enlightened and now they share what they have magically learned (which turns out to be their rendition of what has been around and/or what others have said), market it and make big bucks. He is not doing anything new or different that hasn't been around for years. He's just making big bucks. Ways to know...follow your intuition and watch the money trail.

posted by wiseoldowl on October 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Everyone has to read! Truly inspiring and full of great wisdom!

    I couldn't put this book down after getting it! Ilchi Lee's language is easy to read and connects with my heart and soul. I feel so moved by his words and experiences. This book really will change how we view life and will motivate us to make a change for ourselves, our families and friends, and the whole of humanity. This book is a MUST read for everyone who cares for the Earth and Humanity.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    An Amazing Read

    To be honest, I'm not one to read books about inspiration and how to live your life better, etc. However, I was handed this book by a friend recently and it was all I had on a 4 hour plane ride.
    Long story short, it really is a must read. I honestly haven't been to Sedona myself, but I felt entranced in meditation as if I was actually there. It's almost like a meditation tour guide book. The author actually guides you through different meditation practices, which I didn't do on the plane, but when I got home & office. It's really helped a lot in my stress management with co-workers & family. It gave me the opportunity to create "me-time" and now I feel like I actually know how take care of myself.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who's stressed out from the rituals of daily life. It really will help you have a different perspective on life. I'm really inspired to pass this book onto others.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    A MUST HAVE BOOK

    This book describes each vortex through your heart. The author's feelings are very much conveyed in this book. It is not only a guide but a mediation book. Each place that is described makes you feel that you are actually there feeling and seeing all the wonderful places in Sedona. It is a must have book because it is written for all ages. It is book that I will keep for the rest of my life.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Imaginative, Combines Travel with Inspirational Message

    If you've ever heard of Sedona or been there yourself, or if you feel that traveling is a way to discover not only the outside world but something deeper inside yourself, this new book by Ilchi Lee should strike you as worthwhile. First of all it was an easy read with poignant and richly described vignettes. The stories flow simply from one to the next, relying more on the underlying sense of mission and respect for the earth than literary techniques. The photos of many well and lesser-known red rock formations enhance the sense of Sedona's natural beauty.
    But I was most impressed that this book seems to be written with the basic idea that peace, harmony, social responsibility and personal growth are all things that can be motivated by a simple love and appreciation for the planet we live on. And the landscapes of Sedona become all the more beautiful when they stir the human heart to positive action!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    THE BEST BOOK YOU'LL EVER READ!!!

    This was an amazing book. It helps to open your heart & mind to your true essence. It gives you a clear understanding of our energy connection to the Earth and the beauty and potential that lies within our brain. I hope everyone can experience this ~

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    THE BEST BOOK YOU'LL EVER READ!!!

    This is divine! It helps you to feel your essence. Sedona has amazing healing power. You'll understand how important your energy connection to the Earth is and that you have great creative potential in your brain. This opens your mind and heart to really get back into the rhythm of life and take on your own life's journey. Very inspiring and full of hope! I hope everyone can experience this ~

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Amazing meditation

    What amazing meditative techniques. I was able go feel as though I was truly at Oak Creek Canyon with the water rushing over me, purifying. The beauty and healing energy of Sedona is vividly described by Ilchi Lee. His vision for the world and our responsibility for the Earth are laid out for all to see. And his meditation techniques help us to connect to the energy of Earth and appreciate all its beauty.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    A connection with Earth Energy

    I have read many of this authors previous books and this one is by far the one that touched my heart and soul the most. In simple language Ilchi Lee creates a desire to visit many spiritual places in Sedona to feel the earth as he describes it and recognize the oneness within. This work is a masterful mix of travelogue and spirit. The places he describes come to life thru a different viewpoint and the meditations that conclude the book are very powerful for connecting to the earth energy. The book leaves a strong desire to visit Sedona with a new eye.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Very Deep & Beautiful Experience

    When you read The Call of Sedona, you can feel a deep connection with the mystery and wonder of the Earth and with your own life inside of you. The book is written very simply and the message is deep and will likely penetrate your own heart as well. I recommend this book to anyone who loves the Earth and is also interested in viewing the landscape of their inner self at the same time. The first time I read it, I finished the book within two days. Highly Recommended, and also filled with beautiful nature photography from Sedona and the surrounding areas.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Inspirational

    I recently finished reading ¿ The Call of Sedona Journey of The Heart¿ by Ilchi Lee. I was profoundly moved and impacted by the simplicity and meaningful words of wisdom of the author. The message that author is sending out to the humanity is so encouraging and inspirational. I was fascinated by author¿s description of all those spiritual and natural beauty of Sedona. I was inspired by his personal stories, experiences, and visions. This is a book that should help us to cultivate, to open up our eyes and hearts to reach out for those who are unreachable. This book is a reminder to human beings to pause for a moment and thinking about future of humanity, and not to forget the purpose of being on earth and going through this precious journey which is called ¿LIFE¿. I¿m so glad being able to take this short journey with the author¿s mind by reading this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    A MUST READ!!!

    I personally cannot inagine sitting down, let alone, reading a book. I got this from a friend of mine and she really encouraged me to read. So I did and I honestly couldn't put it down. It was really an amazing book.

    Please take your time to read this book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    If you want to meditate this is great!

    This book teaches practical meditation. There is a sincere wisdom in Ilchi Lee's perspective of what it means to be a human being right now.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Answer for YOU.

    What an inspirational book!! I've been to Sedona many times and this book gave me a new view and deeper meaning of Sedona. It's more than the story of Sedona. It's story about one's journey to the enlightenment and and how we can collaborate with all. I am very awakened.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Book of the year! A must read for all.

    I found this book to be a tremendous inspiration to my life. I know it is going to help so many people find their purpose in life too.

    Thank you Ilchi Lee.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Peace from a book? Yes! You must check it out.

    From the introduction, I could feel a calmness come over me. There is an energy, a spirit in this book that I can feel deeper each time I read even a paragraph. Tha descriptions are so vivid that I sometimes feel as though I am experiencing the same as the author is describing! If you are feeling stressed or lonely, this book is a must read. If you are willing to open your mind, you will feel your energy, maybe for the first time. And as you feel your energy more and more, as the author states "There's a feeling of peaceful comfort and safety that is hard to describe".

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    A book to read over and over.

    We are using this book in a Book Club/Meditation Circle that I'm involved in. It is very powerful. The guided meditations at the end of the book are very insightful. Ilchi Lee has a true message that is delivered in this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    PREPARE TO BE MOVED . . . I love this book!

    This is a very well written book that is easy to connect with. You can actually feel the author¿s heart and sincerity as he describes his experiences and the beauty of the earth. I have also tried some of the training techniques listed in the back and they have been incredibly helpful in my life. I bought this book as a Christmas present for all my friends and family. If we all just took 10 min a day to connect with ourselves and the world around us we would all live much more peaceful and happier lives. This book teaches you how you can do that. I¿ve read it 3 times now and each time I pick up something different. A definite must read for anyone looking to create more peace and happiness in their lives.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    PREPARE TO BE MOVED . . .I love this book!

    This is a very well written book that is easy to connect with. You can actually feel the author¿s heart and sincerity as he describes his experiences and the beauty of the earth. I have also tried some of the training techniques listed in the back and they have been incredibly helpful in my life. I bought this book as a Christmas present for all my friends and family. If we all just took 10 min a day to connect with ourselves and the world around us we would all live much more peaceful and happier lives. This book teaches you how you can do that. I¿ve read it 3 times now and each time I pick up something different. A definite must read for anyone looking to create more peace and happiness in their lives.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Excellent, a very inspiring book.

    This book is a one of a kind, very deep and will awaken your senses. The journey is very beautiful and rewarding. Once you read this awesome book, you will really want to visit Sedona. To truly experience it for your self. A deep thanks to the author and much love.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Sedona Calling

    Now I REALLY want go to Sedona and meditate, not just sightsee. Very touching story and easy read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3