Customer Reviews for

Call of the Wild and White Fang (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 420 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Amazing Book!!! I read this book in seventh grade Literature

An Amazing Book!!! I read this book in seventh grade Literature class and I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!! I'm eighth grade right now and I've already read this book three other times!!

posted by 12355535 on May 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

i like this book

i like this book bec it is about kid looking for gold and advntres and that is what i like

posted by caleb14 on February 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A bit strange, but a good read nevertheless

    These two books, being the Call of the Wild and White Fang, were very unique books indeed. The first novel, the Call of the Wild, follows the story of the domesticated dog Buck, who is rather wolf-like in appearance, who is unexpectedly stolen from his comfortable life and his loving master and thrown into the harsh challenges of a violent world. Throughout the majority of this first book, the story tells of Buck's hardships, as he is forced into the crude (and gory) sport of dog fighting, and is faced with ever-abusive (and changing) owners, all the while coming to learn of the law of kill or be killed. White Fang, the second of the two novels, follows the wolf called, obviously, White Fang, who, as opposed to Buck, is thrust into the confusing realm of men, which results in his gradual domestication.

    Both of these novels I largely recommend, although they are somewhat strange in their forthcoming, and at some points a tad gory, but not extensively. Full of action, yet embellished with a noticeable realism, Jack London gives as a grand portrayal of looking through a canine's eyes. Although the author seems like a low-life (if you were to read his autobiography! A drunk and having gone to jail on several occasions!!!), his writing doesn't at all portray it, and I strongly recommend that you give these novels a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Quite a good book

    This particular novel combined the two books, Call of the Wild and White Fang, both written by Jack London. The first book, Call of the Wild, is about a Saint Bernard named Buck who was born and raised in a luxurious life with very wealthy owners. Then one day, he was kidnapped from his opulent life and sold to Alaskan gold seekers as a sled dog. In order to stay alive in the Alaskan Wilderness, Buck must learn: to scavenge every scrap of food he can get, the "Law of Club and Fang", how to fit in with the pack and, most importantly, how to fight. Throughout his perilous adventure, Buck has to endure the cruelty of his malicious masters, an innumerous amount of wounds from thousands of battles, and the harsh conditions of the winter to survive the American Northwest. The second novel, White Fang, is about a wolf that is half dog that grew up in the Wild. the first few months of his life are spent with his mother in the Wild, but they accidentally stumble into the hands of indians who amaze him with their "powers". These ways of man cause White Fang to believe that they are his gods and that his calling in life is to serve them. His wolfness causes him to be shunned and hated by all dogs that he meets, which molds White Fang into a ferocious fighter, a very agile speedster, and makes the wolf much more faithful to men. This faithfulness introduces him to the evil part of mankind that changes him into a merciless monster that loathes anything and everything that is living. However, one man treats him differently from the others, but in a good way. Using the power of love, his new god rids White Fang of his hatred and replaces it with an affinity towards him.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    The Call of the Wild by Jack London centers on Buck, a dog that

    The Call of the Wild by Jack London centers on Buck, a dog that was born and raised in a life of comfort and ease on a California estate, but is kidnapped from his life of luxury and his loving master and thrown into the harsh challenges of the north. In order to survive, buck must listen to the Call and learn the ways of his wolf- ancestors to guide him along the way.
    Throughout the majority of the book, the story tells of Buck's hardships, as he is forced into the cruel and bloody sport of dog fighting, and is faced with many ruthless owners, all the while coming to learn of the law of kill or be killed. A major theme that is constant throughout the book is survival of the fittest, kill or be killed. Only the strongest and most fit will survive.
    I liked this book so much I would pick it up and reread it again. I like dogs so this was an enjoyable book to read. On the other hand though one of my dislikes was that there was some gore in the book, but no extensively, also some of the slang for the people, it made it hard to understand what they were saying and made for a confusing read.
    I do recommend that someone who likes dog and or animals to read this book.I do suggest it to be for an older audience though do to that there are some gruesome parts that may not be appropriate for younger people. I give this book a four star rating. I liked it very much and Jack London gives a portrayal of looking through a canine's eye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    The other one is way better!!!!!!

    Way better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Unnamed tom pads in.....

    I wish to join this clan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Icestatic

    Oops. Typed it in wrong...)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Re vote

    I vote pineclaw for leader and quick for deputy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    RiverSoul

    She slinked in, her gaze sweeping across the clearing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    FoxTrot

    He sat up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Hrbivjsbcn

    Bwucuwnj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    FoxTrot

    He groomed his pelt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    FoxTrot to All; MOVING TO

    "We are moving to 'Russisan Edition,' no spelling mistake! It's Russisan, not Russian!" He blinked at Amypond, "'Russisan Edition Result ten." He mewed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    J B

    JUSTIN BIEBER IS SO CUT $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$%??????$$%%$$%$%%$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$/*****???????????????????????@@@@@@@@########$$$$$$$$$$$$$

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Buck's call to the Wild

    This Jack London classic is great for readers of any age. Buck will capture your heart from the first paragraph as you read about his trials and adventures during the Gold Rush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Call of the Wild

    The Call of the Wild was just magnificent. It had great discription and fully described everything. Also, it answered every question that was asked by me in the end. It really kept my attention thoughout the whole book. My favorite character would be Buck, because he never gives up and keeps pushing though every problem he faces. I would recommend this book to someone who loves action in a book, and doesn't mind reading. I don't like reading but this book was great. It would probably be in me top ten favorite books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    White Fang

    Two men are out in the wild of the north. Their dogs disappear as they are lured by a she-wolf and eaten by the pack. One of the men is soon eaten along with another dog. Only Henry and two other dogs are left, they almost get eaten until at the last moment they are saved by a group of traveling men. The wolves continue to search for food and split up. The she-wolf mates with another wolf and only one of her pups survive, and grow into a strong young wolf. The she-wolf and White Fang go to an Indian village where the she-wolfs master is. He soon sells her but keeps White Fang. White Fang is terrorized by the other dogs in the village. This makes him turn very vicious killing some of the other dogs. White Fang is then traded and used as a fight dog. He is later saved by a man named Scott. He tames White Fang and teaches him to love. <BR/> The book White Fang by Jack London is one of my all time favorite books. It has a good story and plot that anyone who loves an adventure will enjoy. One thing that I enjoy about this book is that it is very descriptive so you feel as if you are right next to White Fang throughout all of his adventures. Another thing I enjoyed about it, and others might too, is that Jack London wrote realistic dangers and believable situations that you can relate to in one way or another. My favorite thing about the book is that it is not predictable and keeps you eager to read more and more until you are finished, and that is saying a lot for me because I am not much of a reader. <BR/> I had a hard time finding things I disliked about the book, I actually tried to go back and find things. I was unable to find something I disliked so I put into consideration what other people might not like about it. One thing that I found is the fact that the minor characters in the book come and go rather quickly which can be irritating to some people. The final thing I put into consideration is that it is a very long book, 25 chapters worth, so if you are looking for a quick read this is not the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    this book is great

    This book is about a dog buck who has a well lived life in california. then one of the butlers sells buck to gold miners for 100 dollars. buck goes on adventures he would never forget and he also experences the call of the wild

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Great book !!

    THe book 'Call of the Wild' is a great book. For example, if you like dogs, dog sleding, and snow. Buck is a dog that lives in the wormth of Santa Clara Vally. Buck gets taken and beaten. He now is a sled dog. So if you like the outdoors, and dogsleding this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    Great book, you must read!!

    This story is non-fiction drama about the Sled dog. The main characters of this story are Sled dog called Buck, and his master John Thourton. Buck lived a great life in California, and Buck was kidnapped by the house gardener Manuel. Buck was sent to Alaska, That's where Buck's journey begins. I think This novel is enjoyable because It has good morals about how to treat animals. I also enjoyed this story because It had touching moments. Many readers may enjoy the moment that Buck's escape and makes his way into the wilderness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2006

    the call of the wild

    the call of the wild is a kind of drama friction about the dog which named buck,buck was a common husky dog,but he has kidnapped by someone and has sent to Alaska ,he could not adjust for a while,to everything, when his owner Hal tried to kill buck.,when Buck was too tired to pull the sled,Hal's friend John saved Buck,and took buck his home and healed and treated really nice,at that time,it was first time to feel 'love' but John got killed by canadian indian Yeehak and buck was alone again , Buck felt something in his mind,it was a call of his mind it was wild them ,he decided to go back to wild th point of view of this story is third-person and setting is alaska .the plain style of this story is figurative. I think protagonist of this story is john and the piction is an archaic word. The theme is bravery and love.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6