Customer Reviews for

The Calling

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a spellbinding and enchanting tale

    Adrian is one of five immortal brothers created at the dawning of time to protect mankind from those who will use dark magic to destroy life magic. Although much of humanity has forgotten this powerful quintet of warriors, a few life magic practitioners still believe they will come if the world needs them.--------------- Thus when someone possessing incredible levels of magic goes rogue, Adrian, whose brother Tain vanished seven centuries ago, begins a quest to stop this maverick from eradicating humanity his fear is that Tain turned. Adrian meets life magic witch Amber Silverthorne, who seeks the demon who murdered her sister for no apparent reason. Adrian and Amber are attracted to one another and make love whenever they can, but the quest comes first. As they receive aid from paranormal and mortal individuals, the duo treks from Seattle to the Arctic with points in between hunting a killer and trying to learn more about THE CALLING.------------------------ This is an interesting opening saga starring an immortal who uses his superpowers especially mind control to get what he wants in this case he wants Amber. However, for the most part Amber can thwart his mental efforts to force her to do his bidding. Though sidebars to establish a contemporary earth filled with magic and supernatural beings take somewhat away from the prime theme of the Immortal and the Witch making love in between the latest good vs. evil war, this s a spellbinding and enchanting tale.------------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    Nice Concept

    Adrian and his brothers are the immortal protectors. Just like Crimson city there will be multiple authors. Can't wait to see how the series unfolds. Thank goodness they're spaced relatively close togheher. It's worth reading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    This is a NO GO for me

    I didn't even remember buying this book but that's the only reason I finished it. The story itself was ok, witch searching for answers about her sister's mysterious death, and the immortal searching for his long lost brother, but man! The author seemed like she had just introduced Amber and Adrian and then they were kissing. Really? There were 2 fight/battle scenes where I was really into and then it was over. The ending was so abrupt it was ridiculous. I think it's probably to get readers to hurry up and buy the next one, but that didn't work with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Good book! Attention.

    I am not surprised JA is my favorite author. I am a paranormal romance fan. However, beware that this series is wrote by two other authors. Robin t. Popp and Joy Nash. I haven't found book 2 and 3 yet. Unaware of the fact I purchased gathering and redeeming. Authors should have Informed readers. Disappointed. Will continue to search. Will read others still if can't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    I'll admit that when I wen to Jennifer Ashley's site and saw the

    I'll admit that when I wen to Jennifer Ashley's site and saw the cover art for the Immortals I wasn't interested. Then when she announced a revamping of a few of the books I decided to read it. I was not disappointed. Reading almost all of her other books I was not surprised to be hooked so fast in to the story line. Can't wait to read the rest of the books in the series. I'm sure each one will be just as great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Immortal Guardians

    I'm so glad that this book is finally available. I purchased the first four books at the same time and finished them in just a couple of days. As the rest of the books came I bought all of them. That was before I had my NOOK. I can't wait for all of them to come out on NOOK?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great book

    Loved all the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Good story and characters. Wonderful adventure. Enjoyed.

    This is the first in a series about 5 immortal brothers who are charged with saving people from, primarily, demons. Adrian, the oldest and strongest, has been searching for his missing brother Tain for centuries. When he receives a call to help a witch in Seattle he responds because he believes she may help lead him to Tain. Amber, the witch in question, is casting a spell to discover who murdered her sister, another witch, and why. Soon they are off and running on adventure that takes them across the western hemisphere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good first book in series

    247 pages. Very nice start to a good paranormal series. I was not disappointed JA has done it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    This book is a first in a series about Immortal Warriors. Immort

    This book is a first in a series about Immortal Warriors. Immortal Warriors created to defeat any and all traces of death magic to keep the balance between life magic and death magic. Immortal Warriors are tasked to keep this balance intact yet when one of the Immortal Warriors goes missing and none of the Goddess Mothers want to go after the missing warrior. The warriors abandon the task of keeping the balance between life magic and death magic any more. Here are the rest of my thoughts on this book:

    700 years has passed since Adrian's brother and fellow warrior Tain has gone missing. For Adrian, not a day goes by when he hasn't searched for his brother Tain yet not finding any clues as to his whereabouts in all that time. Adrian dreams are more like nightmares as far as he's concerned regarding Tain and his disappearance. When he's nearly killed during one of his dreams by a demon, he begins to hunt for the mystery woman from his dream; little did he know his whole world is about to change completely. Amber Silverthorn is trying to find her sister Susan's murderer in the very warehouse where Susan died. Amber is determined to get the answers she needs no matter the cost even if it's her life that ends. When a demon attacks Amber for trying to get answers she seeks only to be stopped by tall, dark, deadly, and handsome stranger who happens to be a warrior that appears out of nowhere. Amber is wary of this stranger which is to her credit and pleases Adrian all the more. Adrian recognizes that Amber is a soul used to tragedy inspite of her age and inexplicitly drawn to her. Adrian has felt this kind of attraction to a woman for a very long time or if ever. He nudges Amber with his mind to relax and share with him what he wants to know. Amber finds herself sharing things with Adrian that she normally wouldn't share yet feels comfortable doing so. Amber always knows when Adrian is using his mind magic skill on her but doesn't seem to really mind though. As Amber and Adrian get closer, the more they realize that something needs to be done about the increase in death magic which is getting dangerously close to tipping the balance between life magic and death magic. Adrian suggests that a spell called The Calling should be sent out to Adrian's other brothers as a way to seek out the balance between the two magics. Will Adrian's brother Tain be found? Will Adrian share his feelings? Can the balance be restored? Will the Calling work? Your answers await you in The Calling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A creative story

    Amber is a witch in a world where magic and magical creatures are common knowledge. She is trying to find out who killed her sister when she is attacked by a demon and is saved by Adrain, the sexy immortal warrior, and of course, sparks fly. Adrian is on a search for his brother, missing for 700 years. The two must team up with other magical creatures, including a dragon, a werewolf, and a vampire, to solve the murder of Amber's sister and to find Adrian's brother.

    I've never really liked books where the magic is "out," much preferring the secretive aspect, but I enjoyed this book a lot. The characters were well created and very likable. The author was able to give each of them their own personalities, which I enjoyed. I really liked the array of magical creatures and the characteristics given to each of them.

    I've never read a series where the books were written by different people, and I look forward to seeing how the different writing styles change the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    Immortals are a favorite!

    Immortals - yummy! The best part is that Jennifer Ashly combines all the elements of the demon world and makes a great beginning to this series. I a looking forward to reading about the other characters that are mentioned in the first book.

    My only problem is that the 2nd book - by Robin Popp is difficult to get. So if you do not mind skipping over that one until you can find it - go ahead with the rest and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well written.

    Good for any time you want to escape the real world and the usual dull days of your lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Interesting book

    I think it was very good also very sad learning what happened to his youngest brother Tain. I loved how there were so many different species. Amber's a half human earth witch her courage amazed me in a big way. This is one series I highly recommand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    wonderful

    I picked up Jennifer Ashley just on a whim not sure if I would like her or not. I loved this book. Adrian is the perfect tortured hero.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3