Customer Reviews for

The Calling (Darkness Rising Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 149 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It

loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This book takes off running right where The Gathering left off.

This book takes off running right where The Gathering left off. After narrowly escaping not only being captured but a wildfire, the kids are finally safe and on a helicopter to meet up with their family members. Only, the helicopter isn't taking them to safety and soon ...
This book takes off running right where The Gathering left off. After narrowly escaping not only being captured but a wildfire, the kids are finally safe and on a helicopter to meet up with their family members. Only, the helicopter isn't taking them to safety and soon they find themselves on the run.

It's been almost a year since I read The Gathering and I will admit that I forgot about the story of the book and who the characters were. So with not having a recap in the beginning of this one, I was lost for the majority of the story. I remembered bits and pieces about Rafe and Annie being skin walkers but that was about it. So it took a while to get my bearings and even at the end I still didn't remember who everyone was. Clearly, I need to reread the first one again.

However, with reading The Darkest Powers trilogy, this book reads about the same. They are a group of genetically altered super humans. Each has their own unique ability like warlock, necromancer, shape shifter. There are also bad guys chasing them, questions on who can and can't be trusted and they find out that their parents are either not their real parents or are in on the whole thing. So I got the jist of the story. What I'm really looking forward to is this team meeting up with the Darkest Powers team and it looks like that is where they are headed to next!

posted by Book_Sniffers_Anonymous on December 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It

    loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    Can't wait to read!!

    I read the first book The Gathering and was very pleased. I can't wait for this next book to come out! Kelley Armstrong is an amazing writer. I've read almost all of her books.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Good book

    Don't expect anything over the top and you'll love it. This story is very fast pace and might be confusing at times but it is a awsome read. If you are a kelly armstrong fan than you'll love this book. WARNING: this is a teen book so don't read it just for the romance :-) If you like this trilogy try reading kelly armstrong's Darkest Power trilogy HINT: it might help you understand some key parts in this story

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Finally!

    I have been waiting to even see tha a sequel is comingout and now that it is it needs to come out NOW

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Ahhhh!

    I want it to come out nowww! :D

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Pretty Awesome!

    I really liked this book! It was fun and compelling! But to be honest, it had been so long since I read the first book that I was a little lost at first. I suggest anyone reading this book refresh themselves w/ the first book first. Btw I liked the little nod to the Darkest Powers series at the end of the book! Foreshadowing maybe? I hope Maya gets to meet her twin brother!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    AWESOME

    This book was so awesome!!!!!! I cant wait till the next one to come out and i cant wait till they meet chloe and the gang:D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    IM READY

    This will be the best yet

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book takes off running right where The Gathering left off.

    This book takes off running right where The Gathering left off. After narrowly escaping not only being captured but a wildfire, the kids are finally safe and on a helicopter to meet up with their family members. Only, the helicopter isn't taking them to safety and soon they find themselves on the run.

    It's been almost a year since I read The Gathering and I will admit that I forgot about the story of the book and who the characters were. So with not having a recap in the beginning of this one, I was lost for the majority of the story. I remembered bits and pieces about Rafe and Annie being skin walkers but that was about it. So it took a while to get my bearings and even at the end I still didn't remember who everyone was. Clearly, I need to reread the first one again.

    However, with reading The Darkest Powers trilogy, this book reads about the same. They are a group of genetically altered super humans. Each has their own unique ability like warlock, necromancer, shape shifter. There are also bad guys chasing them, questions on who can and can't be trusted and they find out that their parents are either not their real parents or are in on the whole thing. So I got the jist of the story. What I'm really looking forward to is this team meeting up with the Darkest Powers team and it looks like that is where they are headed to next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    One thousand times better than The Gathering! If you liked the G

    One thousand times better than The Gathering! If you liked the Gathering you will LOVE this. It's much faster paced and keeps you reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the second book in the Darkness Rising Trilogy. The firs

    This is the second book in the Darkness Rising Trilogy. The first book is The Gathering which readers are introduced to Maya,her family, and fellow schoolmates and friends who live in the tiny town of Salmon Creek, which is a medical research corporate town. It doesn't take long till Maya's life starts taking a strange turn. She begins to fall for bad boy Rafe and through this relationship discovers she's a skin walker, or were-puma would be a better term for it.
    The Calling continues where the first book ended. The group of teens are in the helicopter being evacuated. But things take a strange turn and the teens find them selves fighting for survival and making their way home. More of Maya's past comes to light as well as the project they were part of. Characters begin to show their true colors as well as emerging powers. This installment moved better than the first, which at times felt more like teen drama romance than the intriguing supernatural story it was. Not that there isn't any teen drama in this installment.
    I suggest, though it is not necessary, to read The Darkest Power Trilogy first, because this story does loosely connect to that set of stories, and knowing that information, makes this trilogy a bit more interesting as a read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Great series

    Loved this series! Couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Great book

    These are great books... that each are a half hour read and end in the middle, just to pick up in the next book. Yeah this is one of those series. I recommend reading, but warn you, this author wouldn't know commitment if it bit her in the ***. Dont fall in love with any characters and dont expect a good ending. THEN its a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    i love the book but it almost the same way in the darkest powers

    i love the book but it almost the same way in the darkest powers serise but i still love it keep on writting =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Nice Follow Up

    Even though this book is geared toward young adults, I as an older adult found this book very enjoyable. As always Mrs. Armstrong has written a strong female character with a fast paced story line. Overall a very good read. I enjoyed the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    DemonWolfGirl

    Anyone wona chat with me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Love!

    Anything by Kelley Armstrong is a great read! Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Kelley Armstrong is my all time favorite author ever! I read the

    Kelley Armstrong is my all time favorite author ever! I read the Darkest Powers Trilogy as well as these, and I would have to say I liked those better, but this series was exceptional as well! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Ftnn

    If anyone has been waiting for book 3 to come out?! WELL GOOD NEWS EVERYONE IT COMES OUT APRIL 9TH!!!!!! SO TWO MONTHS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I hate that I have to wait til the next book comes out. :( but t

    I hate that I have to wait til the next book comes out. :( but this book and series is good. I read this book within one day (fast reader) I loved it! Rafe and Maya are too cute together :) but I think Daniel might have some feelings for Maya...:)
    You will love this book...trust me..the suspense will have u pulling your hair out lol
    Can't wait til #3 comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8