BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Calorie Myth: How to Eat More, Exercise Less, Lose Weight, and Live Better

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I teach a college course on health, and am a certified personal

I teach a college course on health, and am a certified personal trainer and fitness instructor. This book is thoroughly researched, readable, inspiring and an excellent resource!

posted by 2637722 on January 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not For Me

I bought this nook book because I watched a video of an interview with Jonathan Bailor and was impressed enough to dig deeper into his "calorie myth" theory. His focus is on the quality of the nutrition in the calories, such as 100 calories of broccoli is just not the ...
I bought this nook book because I watched a video of an interview with Jonathan Bailor and was impressed enough to dig deeper into his "calorie myth" theory. His focus is on the quality of the nutrition in the calories, such as 100 calories of broccoli is just not the same as 100 calories of potato chips. A calorie is indeed not necessarily a calorie. We need to look into the nutritional value of what we put in our bodies.
However, when it gets to diet, i.e. what you consume, not, "dieting," I have hugs problems with what is recommended in this book. Although he gives passing mention to vegetarians and vegans (which I am), he clearly does not feel it is an adequate diet. Also, he recommends a very high amount of protein, more than is healthy in my estimation. So I would not recommend this book.

posted by Marthaeo on March 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    An excellent book for information on healthy eating and weight l

    An excellent book for information on healthy eating and weight loss. This will be my roadmap for my journey to health. Written in an easy to understand format with plenty of science to back it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Easy-to-read new nutrition and exercise information for those of

    Easy-to-read new nutrition and exercise information for those of us who are not “naturally thin.” This book has given me hope that my own body can heal itself of years of metabolic dysfunction if given the correct nutrients and the correct (and reasonable!) exercise. Short, yet packed with information in a refreshing writing style including illustrations and analogies that make the information easy to “get” and easy to find and continue to reference later. The author has included practical tools and “how-to’s,” condensing the scientific information into bite-size, practical chunks which are easy to implement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    onathan's book is filled with useful, life-changing information

    onathan's book is filled with useful, life-changing information for those of us trying to figure out how to get healthy, stay healthy and enjoy the life we are living along the way. While we all have different responses to certain foods and exercise, there are some things that everyone should know to figure out their own personal recipe for success. How to easily lose weight, build muscle and rid ourselves of certain ailments isn't a mystery after all. Science DOES know how to get our society healthier. We just haven't had it all laid out to us in this way before. Jonathan takes years and years of research, and over 1,300 studies and distills it down into an easy to understand guide for us. The book is something we should all read to make the best, most efficient decisions for our lives. This book should help us all get to a much better place!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    I have been listening to Jonathan Bailor and Carrie Brown podcas

    I have been listening to Jonathan Bailor and Carrie Brown podcasts for several weeks and looked forward to the book to have a hardcopy reference. It is very nice to have that. This approach to eating seems sound and I have only two complaints. The first is that he needs a better editor! The ‘Further Reading’ in Appendix D is listed alphabetically by the first name. The second is that some of the recipes seem to have inaccurate measures – e.g., 1 cup when I am fairly certain it should be 1 scoop – created a ruined smoothie but I will try it again. I’m still recommending the book but hope the 2nd edition corrects these problems. All of the emphasis on this being based on science leads one to think this will be correct in (almost) all the details.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    After reading The Calorie Myth it¿s as if a dark cloud of misund

    After reading The Calorie Myth it’s as if a dark cloud of misunderstanding and frustration has lifted and I finally understand why I have struggled with my weight my entire adult life! Jonathon Bailor does an amazing job distilling a decade of his hard core research down to easily understandable information about the science behind how our body processes and stores food and the role of hormones in our metabolism. As a middle aged woman, I feel like there is finally hope for me to return to a healthy size and an energetic lifestyle. After decades of hazy information about dieting and exercise it felt amazing to finally have a clear understanding. I may have spent decades eating like a crazy person but I pledge to no longer be inSANE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    What an eye opener!  Jonathan has done all the research and it¿s

    What an eye opener!  Jonathan has done all the research and it’s taken him years, but I’ve never found a more trustworthy source to hear from on the topic of what makes us and keeps us healthy or unhealthy.  I’m so grateful!  I chose 5 stars because this book has had a serious impact on my life in such a big way: what I cook/shop for/eat, and how I spend my time!  
    If you are interested in using your time wisely and knowing what is truly best for your body without spending the years (that Jonathan did) researching the truth, this book is for you!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I lost 50 pounds, gained muscle, feel younger and am full of ene

    I lost 50 pounds, gained muscle, feel younger and am full of energy without starvation.


    I can't believe after I wasted so much money trying to lose weight, this $20 book told me everything I needed to know to change my life.

    I read his first book 2 years ago. His research backed information changed my life. After previously failing to lose weight several times, this book finally made everything clear for me. I am very strong now and did not have to starve myself to get in better shape. After reading so many books on nutrition and dieting, this book actually worked. This is something I can do for the rest of my life. My kids and family are now applying his simple information to improve our health.

    I also strongly recommend that you find his podcasts and view them starting at the first episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Thank you so much Jonathan Bailor for bringing all of this resea

    Thank you so much Jonathan Bailor for bringing all of this research out in the open. I have struggled with my weight most of my life. I have been following these principles for a few weeks and have lost weight and have a lot more energy, and I’m not starving! My husband is also changing his eating habits and has so much more energy as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Jonathan Bailor presents scientific proof simply and effectively

    Jonathan Bailor presents scientific proof simply and effectively. He has made my life easier by doing the research for me! Knowing that there is evidence out there for why my body type is the way it is, honestly, lifts a burden off of my shoulders. I know that reading this book, I will be able to transform my life for the better and I can become a healthier me for the rest of my life.

    Thank you Jonathan for standing up for those of us who do not want to starve ourselves skinny forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This book is full of great information presented in a clear way.

    This book is full of great information presented in a clear way. It adds a lot of valuable information to the subject of weight loss. I like that there are no special pills, meds, foods or magic potions to buy and consume to take advantage of this great information. I also enjoy the podcasts and find them very useful. Well thought out! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Very sensible and scientifically supported diet recommendations.

    Very sensible and scientifically supported diet recommendations. I am eager to try some of Jonathan's eccentric weight training suggestions as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    I have listened to and love all of Jonathan and Carries podcasts

    I have listened to and love all of Jonathan and Carries podcasts so some of the information was repetitive. However, I did appreciate the exercise chapters as I was not exactly sure what to do. The drawings were helpful and I am sore today so I must be doing something right. Also, I was happy to see the recipes, but I wished that there were more. I am willing to try this lifestyle to find out if I can remove my hormonal clog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    I have long been a fan of Jonathan Bailors podcast and awaited t

    I have long been a fan of Jonathan Bailors podcast and awaited the delivery of this book with much excitement! I was not disappointed. Everything is explained in simple terms yet back up by science and research, this is where other books have failed before. It is easy to read and peppered with humour. My copy is already worn out with notes in the margins and highlighted sections!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    In a week, I've already lost four pounds and feel so great becau

    In a week, I've already lost four pounds and feel so great because I'm not eating breads. This book should be required reading by everyone since it so clearly points out all the myths about weight loss that we're told about. After hearing the Smarter Science of Slim podcast, I couldn't believe that as a culture, we've bought into all this. It's just common sense. My grandparents never dieted and they kept a relatively healthy weight all their lives and each lived to be 83 or more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    I read and then followed the The Smarter Science of Slim for ove

    I read and then followed the The Smarter Science of Slim for over a year now and it completely changed my life. The Calorie Myth is the follow up to that book and contains all the vital information from the SSoS and more. It is even easier to understand and comes with a guide to kickstart your new SANEr life.

    Rather than regurgitate the same old rubbish we've been sold for 50 years to eat less and exercise more, Jonathan Bailor has clearly explained the science that shows that we don't need to starve ourselves or spend our lives a the gym. We can eat mounds of delicious healthy foods and live full and active lives without having to consciously think about it.

    I battled for years to eat less and less, was eternally hungry and obsessed about foods, only to get fatter and sicker and when I sought medical help to be told to eat even less. When that didn't work I was told I was obviously cheating!! Finally I am armed with the right information to make the right choices. I'm no longer fooled by the low-fat high-sugar fake-food marketing efforts and no longer struggle with my weight or my health!

    Jonathan has explained the science that supports our optimal health. If you want be in optimal form then you need would to follow his directions exactly. However he also shows how regular people who just want to live a normal healthy and fit life can do so without having to spend their lives counting calories and exercising till they drop. He explains the research that shows that your metabolism is damaged by eating poor quality foods, and explains science shows it can be repaired by changing to a high quality diet.

    Read it for yourself and arm yourself with the right information!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    I stumbled across Jonathan's podcast one day after just finishin

    I stumbled across Jonathan's podcast one day after just finishing another recent health audio book. I am always trying to do two things at once, hence listening instead of reading. But, I couldn't wait to get my hands on this book. Now everything I have been listening to in his audio messages weekly are now highlighted in this book to share with others quickly. Thank you Jonathan for telling the truth and forever changing my life and all my family & friends I can sing your praises to! I look forward to learning more about myself along they way. P.S. Carrie Brown & her SANE recipes rock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    I have "fought the battle" for many years and definite

    I have "fought the battle" for many years and definitely feel like a yo-yo when it comes to weight. I got to the point of being sick of the battle, but then would begin to suffer the effects of having too much fat. I did NOT follow the "fad" diets. I followed what I (and many others) thought were reasonable, tried-and-true plans. I was brought up with the understanding, like so many other fellow scale-watchers that it comes down to "calories in, calories out", "eat in moderation", "you can eat anything you want, just eat smaller portions".

    Since listening to the podcasts, I have learned there is just a bit more to the picture. Quite a bit more! Information that was not and has not been provided to us in the same way that so much other misinformation has been deemed newsworthy. (Nope, the food manufacturers and the diet industry won't get rich with this eating plan.)  After listened to all the podcasts, I began to change what I ate. I knew the old methods of "dieting" didn't work. I was willing to be open-minded and give it a try.
    The book provides all the data found in the podcasts plus much more. Yes, we all (already) know that vegetables are important and we should eat as many as we can. But - MORE important - Mr. Bailor explains What NOT To Eat. His explanations include much descriptive "why?" information and mountains of scientific studies to back it up. Perhaps, for those of us who have given up on the old standby (plans), there IS hope!

    Read the book. Listen to the podcasts. What have you got to lose? : )

    P.S. With the increase in veggie-comsumption, I highly recommend the book "Eat Smarter! Soups" by Carrie Brown. If, like me, you are NOT a veggie-lover, this book will help you along the way. It is filled with tasty, filling, and easy soup recipes that follow the guidelines of Jonathan Bailor's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    Bravo to Bailor! If you are going to buy and read one book amon

    Bravo to Bailor! If you are going to buy and read one book amongst the mountains that are available regarding better health, diet and nutrition, and fitness; this is the one to buy. Filled with scientific evidence and based on personal experiences, the Calorie Myth is a completely sustainable and lifelong program to achieve and maintain better health and nutrition. This should be a “must have book” to take along to your next Doctors appointment. It will educate and enlighten but most important, it will change you life….for the better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    After losing a stone in 3 months by exercising, calorie counting

    After losing a stone in 3 months by exercising, calorie counting and following the traditional advice I hit a plateau.  I was some way off my target weight hungry and lethargic. So I upped the exercise with a 3 month high intensity exercise DVD programme.  I managed to lose another stone which was less than I expected and was constantly starving.  The more exercise I did the more I ate.  Something needed to change as I had more to lose but importantly I wanted something that would keep it off.  I discovered the Smarter Science of Slim podcast by Jonathan Bailor and the SANE and eccentric principles within.  Finally some clear guidance about what to eat, backed by science.  Following the whole foods found in nature principles with lean meat and fish I managed to drop 2 stone in 4 months without ever being hungry. By massively reducing the amount of refined sugars and grains I eat I no longer get hungry a couple of hours after eating and from the science in the book I know why.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    This is by far one of the BEST BOOKS in Health and Wellness toda

    This is by far one of the BEST BOOKS in Health and Wellness today.
    If you can wrap your mind around the ideas in this book your health and weight loss will benefit with out a doubt. Jonathan gives more than enough evidence to debunk the Calorie Myth and does so time and time again.
    My advice would be to read this book and try it for yourself. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4