BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Calypso Directive

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Much better than expected

    Fantastic read - very hard to put down. Great interplay of all the characters and plot lines. Ending leaves room for a sequel. Nice touch with the prequel too. Book reads like a movie and would a great sci-fi-ish action film. Very glad I took a chance on this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    A book I could not put down! Calyplso Directive kept me on the e

    A book I could not put down! Calyplso Directive kept me on the edge of my seat to the end of the book. I can't wait to read Brian Andrews' 'Ring of Flowers' as well! Being a molecular and cellular biology student, I found this book absolutely fascinating as well as entertaining. It will be suggested to staff and students alike throughout the bio department! An amazing story that really makes you think about what could happen as we gain more and more biological information. Recommended for everyone interested in the 'what ifs' of life!

    I won this book on Goodreads First Reads.

    Carrie A. Watson

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Thrilling Read!

    I loved The Calypso Directive!! It was recommended to me by a friend, and I was not disappointed! I read this book cover-to-cover in a matter of days! The rich plot twists, exciting international chase scenes, and overall pace of the book was gripping! Not only that, but if you're like me and enjoy learning something new --- in this case about the biotechnology world --- you'll love this book. It's obvious that Mr. Andrews did his research. I'm also a bit of a conspiracy theorist and couldn't get enough of the 'The Think Tank' and its operatives---fascinating stuff! I highly recommend The Calypso Directive, and I'm anxiously awaiting Mr. Andrews' next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    An exciting and intelligent page-turning thriller.

    Loved it! A great first novel by a promising new author. Andrews has produced an intelligent page-turning thriller, while creating memorable characters and timely plot twists. I hope there is a series being built around the operatives and futuristic technology of "The Think Tank". As Robin Cook's best seller "Coma" dealt with what was and still is a real-world medical problem, the reaping and selling of human organs, the Calypso Directive is the name given to an effort by agents of an international drug company to steal, patent and commercialize someone's personal genome. I found the author's well-researched medical information about genomes and viruses to be very interesting. I loved the international chase sequence, was fooled by a great final twist at the end and learned something in the process.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Refreshingly Fun & Smart

    This was a terrific read and I was very impressed with the perfect balance of pure thrilling entertainment, character development, and subject specific expertise. Because of this, I would strongly agree with the reviewer that mentioned that it reads like a movie! I typically read books in many different genres and this is one of the best reads that I have had in a long time. I am really looking forward to / hoping for a sequel to this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    More than anything else, the Calypso Directive is just a really

    More than anything else, the Calypso Directive is just a really fun read. The action-packed plot -- like the motorcycle chase featured toward the book's close -- revs up fast and keeps the needle in the red till the story's hair-raising conclusion. As the reader, you can't peel your eyes off the page as the psychotic villains and the Think Tank's cohort of uniquely skilled agents (something of an A-Team for intellectuals) close in on Foster, the unlikely "hero" whose special genetic gift has thrust him in the center of a race that pits his own freedom and self-preservation against a pharmaceutical giant's unwavering quest to exploit his "source code" for all it's worth. Who will get to him first? And what will they do with him when and if they do?

    Will Foster is a beguilingly charming hero. He reminds me of Harrison Ford in the Fugitive -- always on the edge of being caught, but somehow, through sheer will to survive combined with an uncanny ability to evade capture that seems to surprise him and the reader both, he manages to stay a step ahead...almost...until all the competing forces converge in an eye-popping, cold-sweat-inducing, electrically charged climax that left me feeling like I was the one dodging bullets and running for my life! Pack this in your beach bag this summer and dive into a first-class adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Brian Andrews in his new book, "The Calypso Directive"

    Brian Andrews in his new book, "The Calypso Directive" published by Arcade Publishing brings us into the life of Will Foster.

    From the back cover: An unprecedented genetic mutation, an underground think tank, and an unscrupulous pharmaceutical company collide in this dazzling debut thriller.

    For one hundred and fifty-five days, Will Foster has been locked in medical quarantine without his consent. The doctors claim he is infected with a deadly virus, but this is a lie. Encoded in his DNA is a mutation that provides immunity from disease for all who possess it, source code that Vyrogen Pharmaceuticals aims to commercialize as a multi-billion dollar gene therapy.

    Against all odds, Foster escapes his laboratory prison and steals a virulent strain of bubonic plague as insurance. To help him unravel the mystery inside him, Foster contacts the only person he can trust-a former lover and microbiologist living in Vienna- and the two become fugitives, hunted across the heart of Europe.

    Under the guise of averting a plague pandemic, Vryogen hires an elite, underground Think Tank to track down Foster. But when the team sets a trap for Foster, they discover they're not the only ones in the hunt. In a race against two deadly assassins, can the brilliant minds of the Think Tank unravel the truth before time runs out for their quarry?

    In a novel where conscience clashes with greed, loyalty with suspicion, and paranoia with reality, THE CALYPSO DIRECTIVE deftly explores the issues of genetic exploitation and piracy. Captivating, controversial, and courageous, Andrews debut is sure to thrill and leave you wondering what secrets are locked in your DNA.

    I have to admit I just enjoy to no end these kind of thrillers where the hero is on the run pursued by a bunch of killers who sole objective is his elimination. Brian Andrews has pumped up the plot even more as Will Foster has a sample of bubonic plague that he will use before he is killed. Paranoia increases when Vryogen, who has their killer on the hunt, hires The Think Tank to send another killer after Will. Now the chase is on across Europe and all Will wants to do is stay alive. "The Calypso Directive" is a riveting, page-turning thriller as the life of Will Foster is in deadly danger practically from page one. Mr. Andrews packs in a huge amount of action, adventure, and suspense as Foster tries to figure out a way to turn the tables on his pursuers and bring down the company that is trying to kill him. May I never get myself into this kind of situation because I could never get out. Good thing Mr. Andrews could figure out the way out and give us a wild ride while getting there. Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy this book as you will want to finish it before going to bed. "The Calypso Directive" is an exciting adventure from start to finish.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Fascinating plot involving human biological experimentation and

    Fascinating plot involving human biological experimentation and the crossroads of biotechnology and ethics. It's so timely and relevant given the US Supreme Court has agreed to consider in the 2012-2013 term how patent existing rules apply to self-replicating technologies. In fact, this case may affect patents on other cutting-edge technologies, including man-made cell lines, DNA molecules, nanotechnologies and organic computers.
    So The Calypso Directive is not just an arresting reading where the Prague's escape makes Grisham's "The Firm" a mere stroll in Memphis riverfront, but also a contemporary theme in which our civilization will reckon with for centuries to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1