BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Capitol Albums, Vol. 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Capitol's "butchering" of Beatles albums

    contrary to what the article states, the original cover of the Beatles "Yesterday & Today" LP had NOTHING to do with the fact that Capitol Records "butchered" the U.K. versions of Beatles albums. according to John Lennon in a 1974 interview, "surrealist" photographer Robert Whitaker had brought various props along for the photo session, resulting in the infamous LP cover. along with the "usual" posed pics also done that day, the "butcher" photos were sent out for use in promotions, etc. only to be recalled due to public outcry at the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Already available.

    All of the songs contained on this box set are already available on the original Palophone CDs from the 80s. If you own those discs as I do, then it is a waste of money to purchase them again. Also, the sound quality is far superior on those discs. This is just another way to get people to re- buy the exact same music that they already own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unbelievable!

    Take it from me. This box set is the best thing to ever come out on The Beatles. This is unquestionably the greatest recording of music ever done before, taking into account the full history of music across all artists. Why? Because all previous versions of CD releases of these songs were mostly in mono. You can't hear the separation of the instruments. But in stereo these early versions are a knock out! You hear the harmonies split into 2 or 3 different places. You hear instruments that are standing alone that can't be heard on any of the fake versions of the mono recordings. You get guitar licks that are cooler than any other anywhere that couldn't be heard until now. No one doubts that The Beatles were the best music group ever. Only here you hear what they sounded like in their early days as if you were sitting there in the studio. There should be a ban on mono versions. Even poor stereo is 10 times better than any flat mono version. If you want to know what The Beatles really sounded like in their early days, quite frankly these are the only recordings that will do it. No other version even comes close!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thank You

    I must admit. I haven't heard these cds yet, but I have all the American LPs. First of all, sound quality is subjective. Who doesn't want to hear "She's a Woman" with reverb? Or "I Feel Fine"? The English mixes of "Dr. Robert", and especially "And Your Bird Can Sing" are dreadful. Let's hear that Quick slap delay on John's voice. Not too overpowering. His voice needs to wrestle a bit for space with the guitar. The vocals are too loud on all the early Beatles stuff, and the recordings are too dry, in my opinion. "Help"? Where's the cool "Secret Agent" intro on the English version? Gone. Boy are the guitars low on "Here, There, and Everywhere". I know the American versions are abbreviated albums, but the mixes rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    For fans who've waited for the American verisons of the first four LP's on CD

    The music needs no introduction -- what more can be said of Beatles classics "I Want to Hold Your Hand", "She Loves You", "You Can't Do That" and "I Feel Fine"? That this is the first time the first four American LP releases are on CD, plus finally available in stereo, makes it worth getting 'The Capitol Albums, Vol 1'. The sound of the stereo versions is worth it alone -- even if some of it is the 'fake stereo' that some have long complained about. Good as it was back in the 80s when Beatles CD's first appeared, and that they were in the original British album configuations the group intended, it's nice to have the US versions that we Americans grew up with, even if they eventually were to cause the Beatles to do the 'butcher cover' in response to what Capitol did to their albums. Beatles music is generally five-star quality, but I gave this box set one less star due to the slip-shod packaging -- they really could've done a better job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ummm, what happened here?

    Being a listener of the MFSL releases of the Beatles catalog from the 1980's, I must admit that I am used to a high standard for quality. Sadly, these 2004 releases (especially the stereo versions) sound pretty poor. They aren't terrible, but frankly, I have original vinyls that sound better. Of course here is the advantage of having the non-MFSL released hits, (as they only published the british catalog), and for that I would recommend it. But coming from an audiophile, I was somewhat disappointed. Also, the novelty of the stereo/mono seems like a gimmick, as the releases are relatively similar as it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Add it to your collection

    To be honest, I have not paid attention to the Beatles for awhile since the released of the previous Beatles CD (Let It Be/naked) and (Number 1). There wasn't special about them and it was just ok. But this past few days, I was going through Sunday's ad and saw the released date of the Capitol Albums, Vol. 1 and I thought I was dreaming at first. Finally, a new material from the best band in the world!!! I can finally hear the stereo versions of most songs from Please, Please me, With the Beatles, A Hard Days Night, and Beatles For Sale. Is not the actual British released album which I would rather prefer but that is just fine. Who knows, maybe we might see the day of light of these albums in Stereo eventually. But for now I will just enjoy these four CDs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Beatles American releases finally remastered on CD!!

    Incredible music -a must have for any Beatles fan!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1