Customer Reviews for

The Captain's Dog: My Journey with the Lewis and Clark Tribe

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Most Superlative Book on Earth

The Captain's dog is a historical fiction novel about the Lewis and Clarck expedition really captured my attention for it was dictated by Lewis' dog, Seaman.This is the first time I have read a book from a canine's point of view.Seaman is a Newfounland pup the smallest ...
The Captain's dog is a historical fiction novel about the Lewis and Clarck expedition really captured my attention for it was dictated by Lewis' dog, Seaman.This is the first time I have read a book from a canine's point of view.Seaman is a Newfounland pup the smallest of the litter.He thinks his life will never be exciting until Captain Meriwether Lewis buys him from an old riverman.He joins the Corps of discovery

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The 1st Opinion

The book, The Captain¿s Dog: My Journey With the Lewis and Clark Tribe, was a fast-moving book told in an interesting point of view, a dog¿s. Although not always historically accurate about forks in rivers and exact dates, dipction of aniamls, scenary, and Native Americ...
The book, The Captain¿s Dog: My Journey With the Lewis and Clark Tribe, was a fast-moving book told in an interesting point of view, a dog¿s. Although not always historically accurate about forks in rivers and exact dates, dipction of aniamls, scenary, and Native Americans was most of the time accurate. Some strong language, but not overwhelming for sixth grade. The diffcult story line, and details including in this book are both hard to follow, but one that needs to be read again to get the full effect of the expedtion. This book, is a suprisingly wonderful novel the second time around when small details link throughout the book. Some opinions expressed in the book are also fictional, and are not historically accurate. When studying the Lewis and Clark expedtion, this book would make, an excellent resource to help for better understanding of the Lewis and Clark expedtion.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    THIS IS AN AWSOME BOOK!!!!!

    Seaman is a Newfoundland pup, the smallest of the litter. He thinks his life will never be exciting until Captain Meriwether Lewis buys him from an old riverman. He joins the corps of discovery and his existence becomes a blast! Read this electrifying story to find out the rest!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    The Most Superlative Book on Earth

    The Captain's dog is a historical fiction novel about the Lewis and Clarck expedition really captured my attention for it was dictated by Lewis' dog, Seaman.This is the first time I have read a book from a canine's point of view.Seaman is a Newfounland pup the smallest of the litter.He thinks his life will never be exciting until Captain Meriwether Lewis buys him from an old riverman.He joins the Corps of discovery

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Awesome Awesome

    Im in awe

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    I like the cover

    Dogs are my forte

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Awesome

    Love it! Lots of adventure!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Seaman the Dog Tells his Story

    In this book, Seaman tells the story of his adventures on the expedition. He was born the runt of his litter and for him things seem like it`s just going to always be boring, That is, until he`s bought by Meriwether Lewis. Then his life turns into an exiting adventure full of fun and fleas. It`s a great book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2001

    The 1st Opinion

    The book, The Captain¿s Dog: My Journey With the Lewis and Clark Tribe, was a fast-moving book told in an interesting point of view, a dog¿s. Although not always historically accurate about forks in rivers and exact dates, dipction of aniamls, scenary, and Native Americans was most of the time accurate. Some strong language, but not overwhelming for sixth grade. The diffcult story line, and details including in this book are both hard to follow, but one that needs to be read again to get the full effect of the expedtion. This book, is a suprisingly wonderful novel the second time around when small details link throughout the book. Some opinions expressed in the book are also fictional, and are not historically accurate. When studying the Lewis and Clark expedtion, this book would make, an excellent resource to help for better understanding of the Lewis and Clark expedtion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Furious and Splash- URGANT

    I am so sorry, but I must quit rp due to rp hating parents. I would stay, but I can't. I hope this tribe thrives. Goodbye for the last time.
    ~¿urious clatter if waterfall and $plash of spraying water

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Talonface and Snowtail

    A massive black tom white white eye patches and paws walked in with a beautiful silver she cat with green eyes and brown flecks." Im Talonface. My sister Snowtail and i would like to join." The tom said.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Kitz

    Blackkit- *the white she-kit races in, breathing heavily*
    Whitekit- *the black tom looks around* Can me and my littermate have some food?
    -MLOAK

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    HERBPAW

    A little green eyed apprentice with white fur stands on a high rock. His raven fured friend Ravensflame says" this little apprentice should be a medicine cat. He found out about liquid meds!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Icetail

    Older than any other cat alive. Older than ur great grandparents great grandparent.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Drgontounge

    I understand. Good bye...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    ¿¿¿???

    So this is the tribe of endless prey...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Boring book

    It ls confusing.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Great book!

    I really enjoy historical books and this one is no exception. Great book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Awsome

    Yo yo its bojo

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    A Great Book!

    The Captain's Dog is retelling the Lewis and Clark expedition, but in a dog's point of view. The book tells how Lewis' dog Seaman goes through an adventure that causes him fear, pain, and excitment. This book helped me learn more about the Lewis and Clark expedition, but it also made me laugh. Seaman is a Newfoundland pup, who is experiencing the Lewis and Clark expedition. When you read this book you'll see that Seaman's view is a lot different from Lewis' and Clark's. They start off their journey at St. Louis, Missouri and make their way up to Ft. Clatsop. During their journey they meet Indian tribes, find new places, and Seaman even finds another dog. There are many characters, but these are the main characters, Seaman, Captain Lewis, Captain Clark, and Sacagawea. Although this book got boring at times, it turned out to be a great book. It's filled with lots of adventure and excitment. It may lose you at times, but stay with it because it's an awesome book. This book will teach you more about the Lewis and Clark expedition and even make you laugh. When you read this book you'll feel like your actually on the expedition!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2002

    An excellent book for adventurous readers

    If you read 'The Captain's Dog: My journey with the Lewis and clark tribe,' you will soon find that it NEVER gets boreing. It is a book where you just can't put the book down. It is filled with many exciting adventures and best of all....it is told in the point of view of a dog. Also, it has hardships, to make you think that the book will end in a different way. Infact, you'll never guess how the book ends. Trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2