Customer Reviews for

The Care and Keeping of You, 1: The Body Book for Younger Girls

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

121 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

Hi

My mom bought this book 4 me before it was on nook. Great way to introduce younger girls without confusing of freaking them out. The only negative i have is that the pictures might be a bit too graphic 4 some girls, depending on maturity. I am 11 and liked this book bec...
My mom bought this book 4 me before it was on nook. Great way to introduce younger girls without confusing of freaking them out. The only negative i have is that the pictures might be a bit too graphic 4 some girls, depending on maturity. I am 11 and liked this book because it didnt make me feel that awkward about puberty. I used 2 feel self consious because i was much more developed then most girls in my grade and even some of the older girls. This book helped me to get over that fear! I recommend this book 4 ages 8-12, even if they arent in puberty yet. It will definetly introduce them to the whole concept before they start developing. Thx sosososo much american girl! U know how to make girls feel good about themslves.

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Gross!!!

The illustrations are way to graphic for 9-12 years old!!!

posted by CJ20FL on March 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Hi

    My mom bought this book 4 me before it was on nook. Great way to introduce younger girls without confusing of freaking them out. The only negative i have is that the pictures might be a bit too graphic 4 some girls, depending on maturity. I am 11 and liked this book because it didnt make me feel that awkward about puberty. I used 2 feel self consious because i was much more developed then most girls in my grade and even some of the older girls. This book helped me to get over that fear! I recommend this book 4 ages 8-12, even if they arent in puberty yet. It will definetly introduce them to the whole concept before they start developing. Thx sosososo much american girl! U know how to make girls feel good about themslves.

    121 out of 131 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    My daughter read this at ages 9 and 10. An excellent age to open

    My daughter read this at ages 9 and 10. An excellent age to open this book. AG delicately addresses basic care for young girls and prepares them for the changes to come. I read it, then she read it, and she came to me excited to discuss and share what she learned. I've recommended it to all my mom friends - and you too!

    74 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I recently have this book to my 8 nearly 9 year old daughter.  I

    I recently have this book to my 8 nearly 9 year old daughter.  I thought it was perfect.   It introduced many things that in an appropriate way.  
    Unlike in my girl days, girls today are beginning their journey to womanhood as early as 8 years old.  It is imperative to open a conversation with them so they feel comfortable coming to YOU to get the right information!  This book is a safe way to start the conversation with them.

    49 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Anonymus

    This book is a really helpful introduction to puberty, if you have never heard of puberty, this book will teach younger girls a few things to remember as they go on a roller coaster ride known as life.
    (I reccomend for girls 8-10)

    41 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    The Ten Year Old That Wantsta Know if This is Right for Her

    Absolutely! Even if you weren't just starting to even wear bras, I would still reccomend this for you, and even for any other girls that haven't even hit puberty yet. I read this book before I did,and reading it now especially helps you so that you are more comfortable and prepared for whats coming up. I think this is the perfect time. Again, I would highly reccomend it for any girl around the age of 9ish. This gets my full five stars(:

    40 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Amazing

    Amazing its a really good book get it and im only ten

    31 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Y

    I read this book when I was starting to get discharge in my underwear and growing boobs and its really good it saved a whole lot of akwardness. When you first start getting boobs it gets sore I recomend getting a bra when you can see yoir boobs threw your shirt. Get a bra when your ready. Discharge is a sticky substance that is in your underwear it is white if it is yellow you should see a doctor. If you have any questions im here.

    30 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Awesome

    I love this book i completly understood it and i no longer have any questions so now i know what is going to happen there is some pictures that might freak some little kids who are like 8 but i am ten and i did not care because it is just showing what it is or how to do it or just to see what it looks like. But overall i love this book!

    30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    good for 9 -11

    good for 9 -11

    30 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Gross!!!

    The illustrations are way to graphic for 9-12 years old!!!

    23 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Appropriate 10th Birthday Gift

    I gave this to my "granddaughter" on her 10th birthday. After rolling her eyes, she started reading it a few minutes later. This book will be a good prop for starting conversations about growing up. It will help her bring up any questions she might have. Totally appropriate for a 10 year old. I recommend it.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Book

    This is an overall good book. I read it before it came on Nook? and it had a lot of my questions answered. Thank you American Girl for having this book! It helps with eating, puberty, and more you need to know for entering womanhood. Some of the pictures might seem inappropriate for the younger but they are true and they help. Thank you for reading this review!

    Ta ta,
    Rewiewer13

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Helpful

    I thought this book covered basically everything a girl would need to know. Thank you, american girl!

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    GREAT conversation starter for daughters and parents!

    I love the level of detail and the appropriateness for my 9 year-old daughter. We've enjoyed sharing a special bond while discussing the changes she can expect in the next few years.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    ?

    You should totally get this book it is so good girls that are changing. It will make you more confident and you will be prepared.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Great book

    I highly reccomend this book to girls who are afraid of puberty or dont know what it is. This book talks about bras,periods, and every thing in between i'm nine i love this book

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Very good

    This book helped me a lot. Its a must-have for girls

    15 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Shilokhcddr

    This book realy helped me i got into a fight with a fiend i did what this book said and it woked it's tow in one

    14 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    K

    This book is a great book and it tells girls all about entering womanhood and it also talks about bras, periods, and much more. I highly recommend it.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Book

    Look i bought this and its not in my libary I'm dissapointed

    13 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4