Customer Reviews for

The Carpenter: A Story About the Greatest Success Strategies of All

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    The Carpenter is truly a MASTERPIECE! If you want to set yoursel

    The Carpenter is truly a MASTERPIECE! If you want to set yourself apart as a Leader in your organization and stand out this book is it! If you are already are a Jon Gordon fan you will LOVE this book. If this is your first time reading a Jon G book you too will LOVE this book and become a fan!!

    Jodi House

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Jon Gordon's The Carpenter reminds us that there are no overnigh

    Jon Gordon's The Carpenter reminds us that there are no overnight success stories in life. Through the story of a man who learns a hard lesson about the true meaning of life and being the leader of a company Jon Gordon empowers readers to influence and lead their teams in life through a motto of love, serve, care. For anyone who wants to better themselves personally or professionally, The Carpenter will help you self analyze what you and your team can do differently and better than anyone else in your industry. Because if your heart is in your business and you genuinely love and care about your team and customers, you are bound for success! An avid fan of Jon Gordon's books, this one is truly my new favorite. Gift it to yourself or someone you know. It just may change your life!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    I love the fact that Jon Gordon teaches us to stick to it. What

    I love the fact that Jon Gordon teaches us to stick to it. What you put in is what you get out. There is no entitlement to success. The philosophy of giving it your all, with balance, is the way this country became great. The Carpenter is about someone who becomes ill and a Carpenter saves him and gives him another chance at life. Along the recover path The Carpenter gives him advice on how to be successful. I have read the entire series of books Jon has put out and this one is right with my two favorites, The Energy Bus (a must read) and Training Camp (fits my background in Athletic Administration). I guarantee you will get hooked once you start reading Jon Gordon’s books and you will use his knowledge in become a better boss, employee, parent, friend, sibling, etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

     I am continually amazed at how much Jon's books speak directly

     I am continually amazed at how much Jon's books speak directly to me. In the beginning, chapter after chapter seemed to be written as a mirror to many business owners' life story, including mine. Now, with Jon's help, I have an action plan to help sustain and grow my business and my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Jon Gordon's book is a reminder about the importance of taking t

    Jon Gordon's book is a reminder about the importance of taking the time to design your own masterpiece.  Nothing is going to come overnight or easily.  Everything takes time.  This book also reminds us that while you are creating your masterpiece remember to also #LoveServeCare yourself and others.
    Another great book!  A must-read! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    The Carpenter helps you create your Masterpiece in your life.  T

    The Carpenter helps you create your Masterpiece in your life.  This is a book that I can use as a husband and father but will also be 
    able to use as a teacher and coach.  When I got my copy, I could not put it down until I was finished.  This is a must add to your library.  
    Truly a book that everyone will be able to relate to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    This book is wonderful!!!! I have read it and it applies to me

    This book is wonderful!!!! I have read it and it applies to me so well! I have underlined so many quotes! I intend to share this book with all my family and friends and coworkers. I recommend this book highly!!!! Jon Gordon is a wonderful writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    This is an awesome read! Very inspirational! I can't say enough

    This is an awesome read! Very inspirational! I can't say enough positive and encouraging words to describe the book! Just to say everyone should read it! I loved, loved the book! Life changer for me! 




    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    This is an amazing book that provides hope to those who are over

    This is an amazing book that provides hope to those who are overwhelmed with life challenges and can't find their way out.  This book provides a simple framework through three powerful actions of loving, serving and caring for others.  At a time in life where we get lost in busyness and stress and began to let fear overcome us and rule our lives, this book provides a powerful message of choosing faith over fear.  It is written so clearly, it is a quick and easy read, but one that will have you thinking about your perspective on life each day after reading it.  Jon Gordon has an amazing personal story and uses those experiences to help create real world situations in his books that are easy to relate to.  A much needed message in today's world and a must read for all!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    It's no secret that I love the books that Jon Gordon writes.  Th

    It's no secret that I love the books that Jon Gordon writes.  They are told in a simple manner in very matter of fact statements that make sense.  The fact that Jon is always able to tie many things together that help inspire people to not only better themselves, but become better leaders to help/serve others.

    The Carpenter tells a story of a man who, stressed by work and life in general, collapses in his morning run and finds himself in the hospital.  He has been saved by "J", who in saving him in the street also teaches him several steps to save many things in his life and to see what success really is.  It's one thing to build something, it's another to create a masterpiece.  

    In the book, you see Michael's transformation to just getting through day by day to work toward his (and his family's) dream.  You see him go through struggles, setbacks and challenges and you get to see how he deals with them.  

    Jon's books are always full of great quotes to help you remember the important pieces and inspires you.  You learn how the things you do can inspire and teach others as you work through.  "There's no such thing as an OVERNIGHT SUCCESS but there are timeless principles to help you stand out. "

    I enjoyed reading this book and I am looking forward to re-reading it many more times and to use the #LOVESERVECARE principles in all aspects possible.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone - along with many of his others.  It is definitely worth the purchase!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    This book will remind you to always "Love , Serve, Care&quo

    This book will remind you to always "Love , Serve, Care" and to really take pride in what you do in life.......no matter what it is!!   An easy, inspirational read!!
    A "must own" in your collection!   Become a Jon Gordon fan......it is worth the time and dollars spent!!
    Celeste Alexander

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Jon Gordon has a way of writing that will leave you believing he

    Jon Gordon has a way of writing that will leave you believing he wrote that book just for you. I've been a Jon Gordon fan for a while and have found that he and his books have been an integral part of growing our company and our team.  Our employees feel like Jon is a part of our company because of how his principals and strategies for success have become so ingrained in what we do.  The Carpenter is another HUGE building block for our growth and I highly suggest it to anyone who would like to enhance their role in leadership, business, or family.

    Janell Adams

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Jon has done it again and written another inspiring book. Like

    Jon has done it again and written another inspiring book.

    Like Jon's other books, it's a quick read packed with powerful words, beliefs and tools to help one get through life.

    This book came at the appropriate time for me as I just recently learned my job was being eliminated and "The Carpenter" showed
    me how I have total control by loving, serving and caring. Having done those I can already see a difference in my life and what is
     happening with it and me!!!
    Highly recommend this book (and all others by Jon)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    During my ¿day job¿ as a life coach, I¿m always looking for book

    During my “day job” as a life coach, I’m always looking for books to recommend to my clients and subscribers. One of my go-to authors for books that can help change your perspective in this game called “life” is Jon Gordon. His books approach living in the style of modern day fables, allowing him to take deep truths and shifts in thinking into easily digested prose that doesn’t feel like a self-help book

    The Carpenter opens with Michael, awakening in a hospital. During an early morning run, his body simply gave out from the level of stress he’d been living under trying to nurture a growing family and new business. The man who tended him and got him to a hospital was a Carpenter. When Michael tracks him down to thank him, he ends up hiring him to build a bookshelf in their home.

    Talking with the Carpenter during his time working on their project, Michael quickly learns that he is more than just a Carpenter; he is also a builder of lives, careers, people, and teams. As the Carpenter shares his wisdom, Michael attempts to save his business in the face of adversity, rejection, fear, and failure.

    The lessons he learns along the way mirror the truths I regularly work with my clients.

    There’s no such thing as an overnight success.
    That we must choose love over fear.
    That we must serve if we want to lead.
    That we are not our thoughts, so it’s important to talk (positively) to ourselves instead of listening to our inner critic.
    Never do anything out of obligation – do it out of service and with gratitude.
    Your optimism today will determine your success tomorrow.
    Believe in your dreams and you will accomplish what seems impossible.

    That if you want to build a successful life and business, your caring will lead to success.

    I’m recommending this book, in a literary way of enjoyment, to everyone. I’m putting it at the top of my list of must reads for anyone that works as a manager, leader or sports coach. It’s also a must read for anyone going the entrepreneur route.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    As a fan of all of Jon Gordons books, this is by far my favorite

    As a fan of all of Jon Gordons books, this is by far my favorite, the story will give you insight into how to construct a team and your life using Love, Service and Care, it will also give you the tools to make it happen. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    The Carpenter came along for me in a difficult time. I fell in l

    The Carpenter came along for me in a difficult time. I fell in love with the characters because they were so relatable. I can't put my finger on it, but when I got finished reading The Carpenter, I felt at peace that everything was going to be ok. The Christian underpinnings of his books leaves me with some sort of comfort that I know God has a plan for us and if I am just patient that it will all play out just as it is meant to be. In the meantime, I can use the strategies that Jon Gordon gives to help me in my journey to get through the difficulties because he makes them so easy to apply to your every day life. You can not go wrong reading this book. If you are going through anything personal or professional, it is in your best interest to read The Carpenter. My hope for you is that you will have the peace and comfort I was left with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Wonderful book. The perfect message with love,care, serve as the

    Wonderful book. The perfect message with love,care, serve as the theme. Would be perfect to use with many groups of people to develop similar vision. 
    Pam waymack 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    This latest book by Jon Gordon truly inspires and instills the c

    This latest book by Jon Gordon truly inspires and instills the continued messages from his writings that it is what you believe and what you feel that makes the difference in your success. By following the characters he so beautifully creates you get so wrapped up into their lives that by the time you realize they could just as easily be you, and your life, you already have several tools to enrich yourself along the way. If you have not read Jon's other books, you really should. They all provide such exceptional insight into what you really can do, and what you really can become in your life if you would only approach it with the right attitude and the right focus. It's about what CAN be done, and Jon's The Carpenter shows just how easy you can change your views and build a new future for you, your family, and those in your life. Impact you first, then use this to impact the lives of others. Buy more than one, because the more you giveaway to others, the greater the future you can help build by becoming a Carpenter too! Cannot thank you enough for this book Jon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Like all of Jon Gordon's books this book details what it means t

    Like all of Jon Gordon's books this book details what it means to truly be a success through teh use of a masterful story with a practical message that you can immediately begin to apply in your daily life. Once again, Jon's message of love, serve and care goes straight to the true heart of leadership.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Another Jon Gordon Masterpiece!  It is amazing how Jon speaks to

    Another Jon Gordon Masterpiece!  It is amazing how Jon speaks to the reader - in more ways than one.  We each can create a masterpiece through living 3 simple words  Love, Serve, Care.    Thank you, Jon Gordon, for challenging me to  "live by design",  to be a craftsman and to  "Never do anything out of obligation. Do everything with gratitude and love.  It's more powerful that way."   

    Teresa Beck Bontempo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2