Customer Reviews for

The Cases That Haunt Us

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very intelligent insight to the crimes.... a must read

If you are at all interested in true crimes, these are the most intriguing. The book gives you info into the crimes themselves then takes you through the thought process and the evidence(or lack there of) to come to the most logical and scientific conclusion. Definate...
If you are at all interested in true crimes, these are the most intriguing. The book gives you info into the crimes themselves then takes you through the thought process and the evidence(or lack there of) to come to the most logical and scientific conclusion. Definately a must read for the true crime buffs!

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good but Basic

I am very interested in criminology and particulary forensics and criminal profiling and have been researching it for years. I found this book was well written but the information it provided was basic. I mostly skipped the section on Jack the Ripper as I had read it ...
I am very interested in criminology and particulary forensics and criminal profiling and have been researching it for years. I found this book was well written but the information it provided was basic. I mostly skipped the section on Jack the Ripper as I had read it all before in various other books. The Black Dahlia case intrigues me, but again there wasn't really anything new here. I most enjoyed the Zodiac section, however I was dissapointed that it was not explored with more depth, but rather glossed over in terms of suspects. The crimes themselves were well documented but the potential suspects were virtually never mentioned. In all this is a good book, but it provides only a very basic introduction to these already famous crimes.

posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    Very intelligent insight to the crimes.... a must read

    If you are at all interested in true crimes, these are the most intriguing. The book gives you info into the crimes themselves then takes you through the thought process and the evidence(or lack there of) to come to the most logical and scientific conclusion. Definately a must read for the true crime buffs!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Had a hard time putting it down

    If you like true crime and the subtle details behind the scenes, then I highly recommend this book. Investigations of major unsolved cases were clearly broken down in a detailed and fascinating manner, yet in a somewhat layman, attainable style. I enjoyed every case and learned something new about all of them. From the Ripper, to Borden, to JonBenet Ramsey, the book spans a wide variety of unsolved crimes from various time periods. I highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Very interesting but a bit redundant...

    I have always had some interest in the cases profiled in this book. They are all haunting, indeed... The book is filled with a myriad of fascinating (although most times disturbing) details about the crimes. The author obviously is very good at what he does. He breaks each case down into several key components that help him (and the reader) draw their own conclusions regarding who COULD have commited these crimes & why. Although I did enjoy most of the chapters, I found that some of the book was just repeating itself. I suppose that is to be expected. There are only so many elements to a crime that can be examined. If you enjoy forensics/investigations/mysteries then I would bet you would enjoy this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    One of the best true crime books I've ever read

    My favorite part of this book was centered around the JonBenet murder investigation. I loved how Douglas supported his theory of the case with reasonable evidence that pointed away from the Ramseys. Before I read this book, I was really not sure what to believe about who was the real perpetrator, but after finishing that chapter, I concluded that it was just not logical to believe that the Ramseys -- especially Patsy, as others like Steve Thomas have suggested -- killed their daughter. So if you would like another point of view regarding that particular case, this is a good book to read. Douglas also covers other famous cases and murderers (or murder suspects) such as Jack the Ripper, Lizzie Borden, the Zodiac Killer, and the Linbergh kidnapping. Overall, an outstanding book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Veeeery cool

    The writers gave awesome details of the murders. Some of the book is biased because the author put his life experiences into different theories and things like that. Some parts were sloww but it was a good book overall.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    Good but Basic

    I am very interested in criminology and particulary forensics and criminal profiling and have been researching it for years. I found this book was well written but the information it provided was basic. I mostly skipped the section on Jack the Ripper as I had read it all before in various other books. The Black Dahlia case intrigues me, but again there wasn't really anything new here. I most enjoyed the Zodiac section, however I was dissapointed that it was not explored with more depth, but rather glossed over in terms of suspects. The crimes themselves were well documented but the potential suspects were virtually never mentioned. In all this is a good book, but it provides only a very basic introduction to these already famous crimes.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in true crime
    stories. You hear so much miss information in the media when true crime
    happens it is nice to get the prespective from a person who deals in
    facts. It is so easy for people to jump to conclusions and accuse people without following the facts. It is suposed to be inocent until
    proven guilty, not the other way around. Very interesting reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Good reading material

    Very good book. Author was very thorough with each individual case and explained in plain english and not a bunch of POLICE AND MEDICAL jargon the circumstances surrrounding each case and who he thinks is the culprit. Couldnt put the book down! Very good!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2003

    THE CASES THAT HAUNT US: Another well written piece by John Douglas

    I recommend this book to those who are curious about finding out more information on famous cases that remain unsolved like the Jack the Ripper & JonBenet Ramsey cases. John Douglas gives a well written overview of these cases, providing a lot of detailed information while stating some of his own views on what he believes what happened. THE CASES THAT HAUNT US is a must have for the personal book shelves of those interested or working in the Criminal Justice field just like my recommended books below.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Interesting read

    Interesting take on cold cases

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Interesting

    I found this book very interesting and informational. Although there were parts that were somewhat boring, I still consider this a must-read for any true crime buff. Douglas's insights and expertise certainly gave me a new view on some cases I thought differently about before reading this book. I plan on reading his other works now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. If you can get past the "yay me" that John Douglas seems to be doing a lot of then you'll probably find it interesting, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Chilling!

    Very interesting ideas on unsolved crimes from the man who developed the FBI Criminal Profiler division. Its pretty creepy but very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2010

    Information I had no idea about!

    I read this book years ago but it has always remainded one of my favorites. I think the author picked excellent examples of haunting cases and would love to read an updated version of this book if there is a copy available. Two thumbs up :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!!

    It was very entertaining. One of my favorite true crime books. I couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Better Than the Other Crime Egos

    John Douglas is rumored to have hated Robert Ressler and vice versa. It seems this books lays this to rest as they look at many of the same cases in widely divergent ways. For instance, Douglas was one of the first that proposed the 'Intruder theory' in the JonBenet Ramsey case and we know that although John Mark Karr was cleared of all charges, somebody fits the characteristics of a suspect that killed JonBenet than either of the Ramseys', which I thought was preposterous. One thing that seperates Douglas from the other profilers i.e. Ressler is that he has tremendous humility in this book and humanity for both victim and victimizer, in a strange way. There is no ego there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6