Customer Reviews for

The Castle in the Attic

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I love the book so much i could marrie it if i could

Get get get this book is amazing i love it so much get it now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Too much like the Indian in the Cupboard

This story is too much like the Indian in the Cupboard.Amost like she just changed ''the indian'' to ''the castle'' and ''the cupboard'' to ''the attic''.

posted by ANIMALOVER93 on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    Castel in the Attic review

    It was outstanding.Something I could read over and over again.I read the book in gate class and we are now writing a play on it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Classic From My School Days

    Reviews Of Unusual Size!

    ***Re: Ten year old William's dear friend and nanny is leaving him and returning to England and he's quite distraught about the whole thing. In an attempt to appease him and to show how much she cares for the boy, Mrs. Phillips gives William a beautiful stone and wood castle that has been in her family for generations, complete with silver knight! William is enchanted, but still quite upset over losing his best friend. When the knight comes to life in William's hand, complete with magic spell and curse that needs breaking, William sees a way to keep Mrs. Phillips a bit longer and save a kingdom in need.

    ***Outstanding: This is a cute children's book. I remember reading The Castle In The Attic when I was around the same age as William and desperately wishing the same thing would happen to me. William is kind of unique for the time. He's a bit needy and nerdy, but he's also a confident gymnast. The plot is a fun one, with curses, people turning to lead and dragons.

    ***Unacceptable: Sir Simon, the silver knight is kind of a weak character. He gets himself lost abruptly and never really accomplishes much. The villain suffers a bit too.

    ***Summary: An enjoyable and quick read that has held up well over the years by using the universal themes of loss, adventure and how totally awesome castles and knights are.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Alex

    This book is awsome i like the book alit and i hope you get it too its nice and youu will enjoy it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Cool

    It is one of the best books i have ever read but you need to be a fast reader if you want to read this book•its a really sweet book if you like drama and you have a big imnagation then this is the book for you

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    I really enjoy this book. Read it many times.

    I really enjoy this book. Read it many times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Springs from real kids' feelings

    Good book for 5 to 9 years of age. I thought it might be too similar to Indian in the Cupboard, but there are different lessons to be learned here and different relationships explored. I used this as a read-aloud book with my 5-year-old twins, and they were absorbed, though I would guess a bit older child would understand more of the relationships between child and nanny, child and parents, etc. I liked that the boy did gymnastics and that the writer explored this a bit. Writing was descriptive enough to let you see and feel what is happening without bogging down. Great adventure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Pretty good

    I thought this book was pretty good. I really enjoy fantasy type books, so I thought this was good. I like the knight. I thought he was funny. If you like fantasy books, you will like this book too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    An Exciting Read!

    This story is about a boy named William, his sitter, Mrs. Phillips, Sir Simon (otherwise known as the Silver Knight), and Alastor, the evil wizard. The plot takes place both in the present and the past. Everything began when Mrs. Phillips decided to move back to England. William was disappointed, because he really liked her, so he decided to shrink her with a little magic token. He got this token from the Silver Knight, who was part of the gift he received from Mrs. Phillips a couple of weeks before she was to leave, which was a model castle. She gave William the castle to play with, but the lead knight came to life under the special touch of William. He name was Sir Simon. The knight has to get the other half of the token back from the evil wizard, Alastor, in order to return Mrs. Phillips to her original size. William also shrunk himself so that Mrs. Phillips would not be cross with him, and to help Sir Simon to find the token. They set out on the adventure through a forest, but will they make it through the forest? Even if they do, will they be able to defeat the evil wizard? The majority of us didn't care for the ending, but that's because we like a lot of action. We really liked the action in the middle of the book (there is some fighting!), we liked the magical element of the story, and we liked all the special details that made us feel like we were inside the book! The story really grabs your attention and sometimes makes your heart skip a beat!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2004

    Must Read

    I like this fantasy book because there were a lot of twists and turns. In the boy's attic, he found a castle and he went back in time to help a knight get back his land. My favorite part was when the boy went to the bigger castle where a lord was trying to find a fool to entertain him. The boy said he knew how to please him because he knew gymnastics. Later the lord called him to his gallery of stone people to see his gymnastics. That is when the boy turned evil lord into stone by knocking the lord over using his gymnastics and snatching a disk and turning the lord into lead. The lord was so evil to his people! He turned a cat into a diagram that breathed fire. The dragon also showed the most evil pictures in his eyes to scare people so they wouldn't come near the lord's castle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    This book is ful of excitment

    I think that the book The Castle in the Attic is an acteptional book by Elizabeth Winthrop. It kept me in suspense. The book was exciting and i wanted to keep reading and reading the it. The plot was unpredictable unlike other book that it doesn't even pay to read them because you can tell what the ending is. The books charactors are realistic and I can see and hear what they are saying vividly. I already read the book four times and I think that i am going to read it again. The sequal the Battle For the Castle is also good but i thnk that this one is the best yet. Keep writing Elizabeth Winthrop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1