Customer Reviews for

The Casual Vacancy

Average Rating 3
( 1179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(331)

4 Star

(216)

3 Star

(155)

2 Star

(192)

1 Star

(285)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

420 out of 491 people found this review helpful.

Readers missing the point

I see a lot of readers giving this a book a bad review because of the language the writer used. They believe she does this to make a profit. These readers a totally missing the point. This writer doesn't need the money. She has made a fortune off of the Harry Potter...
I see a lot of readers giving this a book a bad review because of the language the writer used. They believe she does this to make a profit. These readers a totally missing the point. This writer doesn't need the money. She has made a fortune off of the Harry Potter series. She is now free to write about something for herself. She is giving you a glimpse into the world she has experienced growing up and into her adulthood. She doesn't care what the critics think; this book is for her. She shares the pain, anger, frustration, cynicism, sadness, and hopelessness, of the past she has experienced and risen above. I suspect it to be cathartic for her. It has made her the determined, driven person she is. Positive outcomes can come from negative experiences. Yeah for you J.K, you did it!

posted by eire11 on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

115 out of 534 people found this review helpful.

Lost All Respect

I have lost almost all respect I had for J.K. Rowling. Unfortunately I didn't read the sample before buying the Nook book, expecting innovative and engaging storytelling. What a waste of $20. It's sad that authors feel they have to use sex, drugs and swearing to succeed...
I have lost almost all respect I had for J.K. Rowling. Unfortunately I didn't read the sample before buying the Nook book, expecting innovative and engaging storytelling. What a waste of $20. It's sad that authors feel they have to use sex, drugs and swearing to succeed in the world today. It doesn't make for a great story, all it does is make those of us with morals uncomfortable, and perpetuates the idea that sex sells, so we must need more out there. I'll stick to books that are intellectual, not degrading, thanks.

posted by 1927985 on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Lost All Respect

    I have lost almost all respect I had for J.K. Rowling. Unfortunately I didn't read the sample before buying the Nook book, expecting innovative and engaging storytelling. What a waste of $20. It's sad that authors feel they have to use sex, drugs and swearing to succeed in the world today. It doesn't make for a great story, all it does is make those of us with morals uncomfortable, and perpetuates the idea that sex sells, so we must need more out there. I'll stick to books that are intellectual, not degrading, thanks.

    115 out of 534 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Disappointing

    I will not finish this book because of the vulgarity. I preordered and wish I had read a sample first. I dont mind a little profanity or sex but I find this offensive.

    76 out of 310 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Dismal

    In "Casual Vacancy," Rowling intriduces us to the grim and decaying society of a small town inhabited by wretched, struggling characters. Events touched on include (spoliers ahead) rape, child abuse of every description, neglect, cruelty, and self absorption at every turn.

    The humor and humanity that fill the Harry Potter series are thin on the ground here.

    Sadly, I cannot recommend this book to anyone.

    69 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Ick...Beware!

    I wouldn't even give it one star if it would let me. Very offensive. Total waste of money. DO NOT LET YOUR KIDS READ IT. Harry Potter this is not. I am very disappointed in the lack if intelligence or creativity in this book. It almost seems like JK Rowling was trying so hard NOT to write a children's book that she threw out any writing talent she possessed and just threw ignorant and vulgar crap at her readers. I will be looking into getting my money back.

    61 out of 280 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Dissappointed

    I hated this book. I read everything. ALL KINDS OF BOOKS! I dont have a problem with sex, language or any of the other things that sooo bothered other people. I just couldnt find anything worthwhile in these characters. It is a hard read. Mostly, I feel like this was 3 days of my life that I will never get back!

    58 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    A PITY

    Ms. Rowling, my congratulations on proving yourself to be simply another 21st century novelist who uses sex, language, and violence to become "successful" in the adult world.

    42 out of 215 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Ugh

    I wanted to like the book. After 50 pages, I find it quite difficult to want to continue reading. I was not put off by the vulgarity, or sexuality. It was the entire storyline.

    31 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Full of Spoilers but I Am So Mad. (And not because of the horny teenagers)

    I was fine with the language, sex and horrid people...I was totally enjoying the book as the slow-starting story unfolded. I was staying up late to read as much as my tired eyes would allow. I was really liking how everyone was so two-faced and how the teens were emerging as the strong characters. I was excited to open my Nook so I could find what dirty secret would next be revealed. That stopped abruptly as I neared the end. I could not read a single page past ****spoiler alert**** the river scene. My heart is broken and I hate this book. I couldn't care less how it ended or what became of the wretched people and their wretched town. There is enough "real life" in real life. This book is marketed as scandalous and entertaining but ***huge spoiler*** killing a scared, neglected toddler just to prove how self-involded the town has become is NOT entertaining. And dragging it out so that the reader has hope after hope that someone will go to him. Simply awful. If I saw a three-year old sitting alone or crying for his sister, I would go to him immediately--even if I was from a hiddeous town. That's reality. A book full of people who can ignore a frightened child is simply morbid and unnecessary.

    14 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Don't waste your time.

    Was looking forward to reading the new book after HP but very disappointed. Couldn't even get halfway through the book before giving up.

    14 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    HORRID!!

    Do not waste your $17.99 plus tax. I kept waiting for the story to become interesting or at least better - never happened. Is there any way to get a refund from Rowling or B&N? I will not read any further "adult" novels from Rowling ever again - even if they are free books. She should have stuck with writing for teens about all things magical. I'm giving this 1 star only because I cannot give zero stars. It is a time sucker and a complete waste of funds.

    13 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Wish I had not bought it

    I bought this only because it was by J K Rowling. I loved the Harry Potter series and her style of writing and felt that I would like anything she wrote even though the description did not sound very appealing. I can't begin to say how disappointed I was after reading it.

    I know it was not supposed to be at all like the Potter series and that it was said to be an adult book. What when does "adult book" necessarily mean X rated? And it is not the vulgar language that makes me say that. It is the explicit sexual situations.

    Pagford is not a town I would want to live in. All the characters are petty, self centered people that hate their marriages, their children, their parents and their lives. They are either poverty stricken drug users or middle class people that want to expel all the lower class out of their town. There does not seem to be one really caring decent person in the whole of Pagford. I kept waiting for the story to improve but it never did. It had a most horrible and depressing ending.

    I am quite aware that there is poverty in the world and that many people live in squalid crime infested situations, but I was not expecting to spend $17 on this book to read about it here. I know Ms. Rowling supports social causes and I applaud her for it, but I feel she blindsided her readers by forcing it on them with this book.

    I will not be so quick to buy her next book.

    12 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Page 26

    was as far as I could get. It reminds me of everything I don't miss about the UK, which I doubf was Ms Rowling's intention. I didn't laugh and I didn't cry, but I did kiss $17.95 goodbye!

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Don't bother to purchase

    This book is confusing, boring, discusting and depressing. Not recommened to anyone. I am very disappointed.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Depressing

    I was so excited when i heard J.K. Rowling was coming out with a book written for adults. I thought it was a little too expensive for an e-book, but the Harry Potter series was such a joy, I thought this would be too. I wish I could get a refund. The Dursleys would be the nicest family in this community. The most interesting, as well. This story is about sad, dull people living little, squalid lives. I so admire Ms. Rowling, but this is not what i expected.

    9 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Disappointed

    I knew this book would different. Just didnt know a book for adult readers needed to be full of profanity. I started reading the book the first day it came out and cannot get into it. Am putting it down unfinished. Like previous commentors, i simply dont want to waste my time. Too many other great authors to read.

    8 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Too Bad

    It is full of swear words. Too bad. What makes anyone think adults want to hear the foul language. I do not. I can not reccommend it with language like that.

    8 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Can't Reccomend

    I am very disappointed in this book. I loved all the Harry Potter books. I can't believe the vulgar language. I thought Jk Rowling was better than this. If she thinks this is what it takes to sell books she is very wrong. Save your money!

    7 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    ??

    $17.99 for an ebook?? What the? Rip off!

    7 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    PRINT IS WAY TOO SMALL!!!!!!!

    I was excited to start reading her new novel, but SO disappointed to discover that the print is so small that I can't read it on my Nook. I tried to enlarge the print , but with no success. Have spent the last hour on a help chat line, and they were unable to solve the problem either and ended up dropping my chat without solving the issue. Asked for a refund , and was put on hold, then the chat was closed due to inactivity.....Not a Happy customer :(((

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Horrible

    One of the worst books i have ever read. I read all varieties of books and i find no offense in the topics written, however the book was flat out anticlimactic. It is as if the book never would get anywhere. Huge disappointment!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15