Customer Reviews for

The Casual Vacancy

Average Rating 3
( 1150 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(321)

4 Star

(211)

3 Star

(152)

2 Star

(189)

1 Star

(277)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

415 out of 484 people found this review helpful.

Readers missing the point

I see a lot of readers giving this a book a bad review because of the language the writer used. They believe she does this to make a profit. These readers a totally missing the point. This writer doesn't need the money. She has made a fortune off of the Harry Potter...
I see a lot of readers giving this a book a bad review because of the language the writer used. They believe she does this to make a profit. These readers a totally missing the point. This writer doesn't need the money. She has made a fortune off of the Harry Potter series. She is now free to write about something for herself. She is giving you a glimpse into the world she has experienced growing up and into her adulthood. She doesn't care what the critics think; this book is for her. She shares the pain, anger, frustration, cynicism, sadness, and hopelessness, of the past she has experienced and risen above. I suspect it to be cathartic for her. It has made her the determined, driven person she is. Positive outcomes can come from negative experiences. Yeah for you J.K, you did it!

posted by eire11 on September 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

113 out of 524 people found this review helpful.

Lost All Respect

I have lost almost all respect I had for J.K. Rowling. Unfortunately I didn't read the sample before buying the Nook book, expecting innovative and engaging storytelling. What a waste of $20. It's sad that authors feel they have to use sex, drugs and swearing to succeed...
I have lost almost all respect I had for J.K. Rowling. Unfortunately I didn't read the sample before buying the Nook book, expecting innovative and engaging storytelling. What a waste of $20. It's sad that authors feel they have to use sex, drugs and swearing to succeed in the world today. It doesn't make for a great story, all it does is make those of us with morals uncomfortable, and perpetuates the idea that sex sells, so we must need more out there. I'll stick to books that are intellectual, not degrading, thanks.

posted by 1927985 on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted September 29, 2012

    Readers missing the point

    I see a lot of readers giving this a book a bad review because of the language the writer used. They believe she does this to make a profit. These readers a totally missing the point. This writer doesn't need the money. She has made a fortune off of the Harry Potter series. She is now free to write about something for herself. She is giving you a glimpse into the world she has experienced growing up and into her adulthood. She doesn't care what the critics think; this book is for her. She shares the pain, anger, frustration, cynicism, sadness, and hopelessness, of the past she has experienced and risen above. I suspect it to be cathartic for her. It has made her the determined, driven person she is. Positive outcomes can come from negative experiences. Yeah for you J.K, you did it!

    415 out of 484 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Incredible read.

    To bind J.K. Rowling to her success as the author of the Harry Potter series severely restricts opinion of this subsequent work. Opening this book and expecting a magical work of art similar to what she was able to create with Potter is like searching for the toy in the cereal because it was advertised on the box. Seeing Rowley's name printed on the cover no longer indicates wands and wizards. Readers of this particular novel must understand that before reading the first few pages. Rowling proves, brilliantly, that she is not just a children's author.

    The Casual Vacancy pulls the reader into the lives and homes of a small English town in the midst of underlying political and personal turmoil. There are quite a few characters to keep up with, but they are each presented in a way that the reader shouldn't have much difficulty recalling them through the early stages of the book. The lives of these characters, along with particular delayed revelations about their pasts, allows for rich development. Nearly every character is presented as both protagonist and antagonist at some point within the pages.

    Many readers will undoubtedly notice that Rowling gives light to certain problems within today's society. These problems revolve around her character's lives and affect them in ways that drive the novel through to the end.

    The most interesting aspect of this novel, and possibly the most shocking to Potter fans, is Rowling's use of language. Both dialect and word choice are raw and true to the characters they come from. Rowling also presents a clear distinction between what characters say and what they think - allowing for variables within their lives and their interactions with others.

    I highly recommend this novel as both an involving read as well as a wonderful example of modern/contemporary literature.

    195 out of 217 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Dark & wonderful

    Its exactly as the author has decribed. Completely for adults. And she has done beautiful job of writting this. You would think she has always written like this. Dont except friendly happy fairy land. This is human nature, so raw and true. Love this book.

    141 out of 165 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    J.K is an amazing writer!

    I am only on page 9 and she already has me pulled in! I highly praise Rowlling's writing skills. I have been a fan of her writing since I was 13! I now aspire to work harder on my own writing. J.K. you are queen.

    106 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    The Queen Has Done It Again

    In all honesty, I was hesitant to read this. I've always connected JK Rowling to children's books but she proved that she's a universal writer. Not only did she captivate my heart with the Harry Potter series but she actually pulled me in to this book as well. I really can't wait to see if she comes up anything else.

    92 out of 112 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Awesome book!

    Again, as has been stated numerous times: this is an adult book! That said, I began reading it last night in bed----should not have done that, because I was up way too late reading! I can not put it down! She grabs your attention from the first page! I read a lot of British authors so I understand some of the odd wordings,but I can see where some people cannot grasp or visualize what dhe is writing about. Being an Eastenders fan also helps with the wording and visuals! Awesome book!

    89 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Dear "DO NOT LET YOUR KIDS READ! HARRY POTTER THIS IS NOT!!"

    The description states that this is an ADULT book! How smart do you have to be too see that it? Please use your common sense next time and leave your stupidity behind! Some, like me, enjoy a different taste from the Harry Potter author, vulgar lanaguage or not!

    81 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Great!

    Worth it

    31 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Amazing!

    I'll admit, I bought this ebook because J.K. Rowling wrote it and I love the Harry Potter books. In this new novel from Rowling, we see the same amazing ability to captivate an audience and I for one was thrilled to find that Rowling is just as capable of holding an adult audience's attention as she did with her Harry Potter books meant for a younger audience (though we all read them, didn't we?!) I found the language completely appropriate to the story Rowling was telling and not at all gratuitous. I will definitely be buying any novels Rowlong puts out in the future. She has proved to me that she is not just a fantasy author and is more than capable of writing fantastic thought provoking novels for adults!

    20 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Great!

    People please review the book based on the story. I want to know if i should by the book based on how people have responded to the story not the technical dificulties. Based on the sample i love it so far wish it was a bit cheaper

    20 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    I repeat ADULT novel

    MOST OF THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS ARE EXAGGERRATED? Or written by extremely conservative people, dont let this deter you.

    I find it odd that i see reviews that the vulgarity of the sample turned them off and how offended they were by curse words and "dont let your kids read this".......duh jk rowling said its a book for adults...

    That being said I found the sample very mild as far as potentially offensive context, maybe because I anticipated more based off the negative reviews that were either overexaggerated or just written by extremely conservative people, which is fine.

    Based on the sample I WILL be buying the book. I am very intrigued by how the well described characters are being sewn together. I find each persons story equally interesting and it is very easy to keep track of everyone so far. This is actually very well written , there isn't tons of unneccesary context describing the scene like some books (The Pillars of the Earth ...::shudders::) which is like the author saying "this is exactly the image you will see when you read this book!!" Instead, I notice I am able to use my imagination to design the characters and the homes and the cities.

    The parts that were most vulgar (I guess?) Was the son who loathes his father because of the type of man he is. So the author realistictly and accurately depicts what most of our teenage selves would have thought and wanted to say . Also I couldnt help but chuckle at one young mans crush on another girl..it may be semi awkward to read but it is comically accurate and somewhat relatible ...ahh hormones... once again based off the first 59 pages , if this is the pace of the vulgarity, I look forward to the rest of the book.

    Very well done so far Ms Rowling.

    Once again..this book is clearly not for ultra conservative or very young people.....and no thats not the political conservative its the actual meaning . Nothing wrong with being offended by swear words, just this book isnt for you....dont blame the author for not writing to your views instead of hers

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great Read

    Could not put it down. The characters were vivid and unforgetable.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Liked it

    Definitely not Potter but it didn't have to be. It stood on its own as a very dark and real depiction of life...that it's not perfect no matter where you sit. The language and descriptions were all necessary. Very English.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    the casual vacancy

    I was a little hesitant in buying this, but I was not disappointed.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    A Message to Skeptics-Mature Teens are Capable of Enjoying Adult Literature Too.

    I am 15 and at the risk of sounding horrifically concieted, i am rather advanced for my age, particularly in reading and maturity. (Heavily lacking in spelling, please forgive my awkward renditions)
    I am a die-hard Potterhead and despite knowing that CV would not be anything close to the whimsical world of HP I was extremely excited for this novel. However, I made the drastic mistake of reading the reviews of CV, which painted gruesome pictures in my mind. (I remain a teenager, after all. Ocasional rude thoughts and words are practically expected of us my modern society.) Hesitant now, I chose to try the sample before buying the book.
    Shame on me for allowing perfect strangers to mar my faith in JK's talent for storytelling. Yes, CV is obcene at times, and not typically suitable for 15 yr-olds. But, we can be ridiculously mature and look past such excentricities to discover the wonderfull story at it's core.
    Congrats JK, nothing will ever match HP (in my heart) but this was a magnificent effort. Well done!
    -Always

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am even more in love with J.K. Rowling

    This book is a must read for all adults. Yes it does have vulgar language and very explicit subject matter, but those people who are speaking ill off it must not have read the book in its entireity. The book deals with everything under the sun and Rolwing manages to create of world characters that you will love some and hate others. This book deals with very real life situations that many people face daily like bullying, cutting, death, and politics. I wasn't sure what to expect since I was such a Harry Potter fan, but I could not put it down. I was sad when I came to last few pages cause I knew the story was over. Please oh please keep writing J.K. Rowling. For those of you who are still unsure, remember she continues to make money from the Harry Potter series and always will. This book was written from her heart to entertain and share, not to make money.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    A perfect way to break from the Potter world

    I read this book with no expectations whatsoever, not daring to hope J. K. Rowling could equal the Potter books. I was thrilled when I realized I couldn't wait to get home from work and enter a world so totally removed from the Hogwarts realm and fantasy. Rowling sucks us into a microcosm of British village backstabbing politics also typical to small-town USA, but fleshing out the characters in morbid, fascinating personal details. You can't help turning each page wondering what is motivating each character as their backgrounds are revealed bit by bit. Not one character is flat, each is full of very human flaws that give you a stake in their subsequent actions. I couldn't put it down!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    F

    Yea good book

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    Well written, not too much "vulgarity"

    I really enjoyed this book, found it original and engaging. Other reviewers have complained about the swearing and sex, and I wonder if they read the sesame book. Nothing more than other books for a similar ADULT audience and prime time network TV!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Awesome!! :D

    I'm really excited to read this book, I read the sample and thought it was great! Also, people complaining about the type size which has been fixed (!) are getting kind of ridiculous.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 321 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17