Customer Reviews for

The Cat That God Sent

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Cat That God Sent

Just finished reading the sample of this book. It promises to be a great read. I can honestly say the book's cover is what enticed me to try it. The pic reminds me so much of the Main Coon cat I had for 15 years. He was trained to travel and walk with a leash plus p...
Just finished reading the sample of this book. It promises to be a great read. I can honestly say the book's cover is what enticed me to try it. The pic reminds me so much of the Main Coon cat I had for 15 years. He was trained to travel and walk with a leash plus play hide and seek. It seems like the cat's personality in the book is much like the one I had. Now to buy this book as the sample left me at the point of Jake accepting the mouse offered to him for dinner :-)

posted by 2501166 on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

:)

This book better be good,'cause I LOVE CATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 18379219 on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    The Cat That God Sent

    Just finished reading the sample of this book. It promises to be a great read. I can honestly say the book's cover is what enticed me to try it. The pic reminds me so much of the Main Coon cat I had for 15 years. He was trained to travel and walk with a leash plus play hide and seek. It seems like the cat's personality in the book is much like the one I had. Now to buy this book as the sample left me at the point of Jake accepting the mouse offered to him for dinner :-)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When the new Pastor, Jake Wilkerson, arrives at his new rural ch

    When the new Pastor, Jake Wilkerson, arrives at his new rural church in Caudersport, PA, he finds a cat on his doorstop. The cat adopts Jake, and is soon named Petey. Is it a coincidence that the cat is there? I think not!
    Jake comes with a secret...he has lost his faith. A Minister without faith?
    When Petey arrives he seems to make it his mission to help Jake. He sure does!! You delight in some of the things that cat says, no he can't talk, but we can read it. At times he is hilarious!
    We meet all the different people who attend the church, some appear gruff, and end up with hearts of angels. Of course, all want to meet and greet Petey. Now you think someone would be against having a cat in church...nope!
    One thing for sure is Jake's taste in Woman sure could be better. Can he redeem himself? Or is history going to repeat itself?
    One thing I didn't care for was that the ending appeared rushed, and there wasn't much epilogue. I felt the story needed more added at the end.

    I received this book through Litfuse Publicity Blog Tours, and was not required to give a positive review.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jim Kraus in his new book "The Cat That God Sent" publ

    Jim Kraus in his new book "The Cat That God Sent" published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Jake Wilkerson.

    From The Back Cover: Meet Petey, your not-so-average cat-on a mission from God

    Disillusioned young pastor, Jake Wilkerson, has just arrived at his new assignment in the small rural church of Coudersport, Pennsylvania. Also new on the scene is Petey, a cat of unknown origins and breed-but of great perception.

    As Jake sets about doing the business of ministry, Petey's continued interference brings chaos to the community of curiously off and eccentric people-residents like the faith-avoiding veterinarian Emma Grainger and Tassy, a young runaway with a secret. An expert at hiding his fears, Jake wonders if all this-and the cat to boot-is more than he can handle. What is Petey's real "mission"? Perhaps something larger than Jake--or even Petey--can possibly know.

    "The Cat That God Sent" is about drawing back to God after we have "lost" our faith. Jake Wilkerson is the new pastor at Coudersport and he is carrying his own burden. "Petey", the cat, is waiting for him when he arrives. Together these two have to deal with not only Jake's problem but the issues of the congregation as well, especially Emma Grainger and Tassy. "Petey" is a joy and I wish that I could have a cat like him. "The Cat That God Sent" is about our fears and what they can do to us as well as our secrets and how they can destroy us if we do not let them go. Mr. Kraus has given us a wonderful story full of fascinating characters that live and breathe on the pages. "The Cat That God Sent" is a highly enjoyable adventure. I look forward to more from the talented Mr. Kraus.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    :)

    This book better be good,'cause I LOVE CATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I love his books

    Wish you had more........Thank you †

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    What a humane down to life story!!

    The Church Cat was a very rewarding book. I can imagine in real life this story taking place, i will read it again,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    Sweet read for animal lovers

    Sweet, feel-good story. Uplifting and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    What a lovely book! Pick up the book and you will smile!

    A lovely book about faith and our connection to a higher power using characters that we all can relate to. Haven't quite finished the book, but will the story is keeping me interested to do so.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    cat lovers delight

    As a person owned by many cats over the course of my life, I seriously doubt that any cat is as perceptive as Petey. However, the book is a great read. The story moves quickly with just enough suspense to keep the mostly predictable plotline interesting. And the ending had me in tears. Looking forward to reading the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Never Underestimate the Power of a Cat! Pastor Jake Wilkerson's

    Never Underestimate the Power of a Cat!

    Pastor Jake Wilkerson's faltering faith has cost him his job and his fiance. He takes a position as pastor of a small church in rural Pennsylvania, hopeful his past won't catch up with him. Greeted by a stray cat who gifts him with a dead mouse upon his arrival, Jake moves into the parsonage, adopted and accompanied by his new and very vocal feline friend. A wounded paw necessitates a visit to a veterinarian who insists the cat needs a name in order for her to treat his wound. The cat is dubbed Petey. Jake is also visited by a young woman who has nowhere to go, and seeks his advice, complicating his life further. On Jake's first Sunday as pastor Petey slips into the sanctuary and makes himself at home on a chair on the platform near Pastor Jake, causing the congregation to burst into laughter. As word spreads throughout the community regarding the cat who attends church, Jake's congregation begins to grow from week to week, bringing people together in a common bond.




    This very entertaining story of three unique individuals hiding from themselves and the issues that plague them are impacted by one very unique stray cat. Petey talks in various cat sounds and plays a very important role in affecting everyone who encounters him, including numerous eccentric and colorful characters in Pastor Jake's congregation. Petey is confident in his role as a godsend to those in his life, and uses his "voice" to affect those around him in some profound ways. The fact that the cat talks in human language throughout the book is both amusing and entertaining. Jim Kraus has used a lovable cat to reach the individuals in this story, aiding them in their quest for forgiveness, renewed faith and a much-needed support system. You don't need to be a "cat person" to enjoy this wonderful story, but cat lovers everywhere will thoroughly enjoy it!




    Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book by Abingdon Press for the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I was given no monetary compensation for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    I am astonished by this book. I expected something much differen

    I am astonished by this book. I expected something much different—something ordinary and sweet, even saccharine—but it brought me to tears, as though I were bearing witness myself. I have never been a believer, but I am now. I was charmed by the story and was nearly unable to put it down. But the miracle at the end is what has prompted this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    wow

    Looks like a heart warming story

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Is It is awesome

    Good 10

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I agree with rate 3 below

    Amazing story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    Sounds like about a four to me. I know cats that do walk with t

    Sounds like about a four to me. I know cats that do walk with their owner (on and/ or off leash!), and in fact had one myself. So guess I better read it. It may even be a five!

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I LOVE CATS& GOD

    so i must love this book!!

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Ghost

    I dont have a clsn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Fallen

    Find one please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    Scarletfur

    I got us a clan called goldenclan! At time warp res three! Post your bio at res two. Ps. My bio gonnna be posted later.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Hi

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5