Customer Reviews for

The Cat That God Sent

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Cat That God Sent

Just finished reading the sample of this book. It promises to be a great read. I can honestly say the book's cover is what enticed me to try it. The pic reminds me so much of the Main Coon cat I had for 15 years. He was trained to travel and walk with a leash plus p...
Just finished reading the sample of this book. It promises to be a great read. I can honestly say the book's cover is what enticed me to try it. The pic reminds me so much of the Main Coon cat I had for 15 years. He was trained to travel and walk with a leash plus play hide and seek. It seems like the cat's personality in the book is much like the one I had. Now to buy this book as the sample left me at the point of Jake accepting the mouse offered to him for dinner :-)

posted by 2501166 on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

:)

This book better be good,'cause I LOVE CATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 18379219 on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    The Cat That God Sent

    Just finished reading the sample of this book. It promises to be a great read. I can honestly say the book's cover is what enticed me to try it. The pic reminds me so much of the Main Coon cat I had for 15 years. He was trained to travel and walk with a leash plus play hide and seek. It seems like the cat's personality in the book is much like the one I had. Now to buy this book as the sample left me at the point of Jake accepting the mouse offered to him for dinner :-)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jim Kraus in his new book "The Cat That God Sent" publ

    Jim Kraus in his new book "The Cat That God Sent" published by Abingdon Press takes us into the life of Jake Wilkerson.

    From The Back Cover: Meet Petey, your not-so-average cat-on a mission from God

    Disillusioned young pastor, Jake Wilkerson, has just arrived at his new assignment in the small rural church of Coudersport, Pennsylvania. Also new on the scene is Petey, a cat of unknown origins and breed-but of great perception.

    As Jake sets about doing the business of ministry, Petey's continued interference brings chaos to the community of curiously off and eccentric people-residents like the faith-avoiding veterinarian Emma Grainger and Tassy, a young runaway with a secret. An expert at hiding his fears, Jake wonders if all this-and the cat to boot-is more than he can handle. What is Petey's real "mission"? Perhaps something larger than Jake--or even Petey--can possibly know.

    "The Cat That God Sent" is about drawing back to God after we have "lost" our faith. Jake Wilkerson is the new pastor at Coudersport and he is carrying his own burden. "Petey", the cat, is waiting for him when he arrives. Together these two have to deal with not only Jake's problem but the issues of the congregation as well, especially Emma Grainger and Tassy. "Petey" is a joy and I wish that I could have a cat like him. "The Cat That God Sent" is about our fears and what they can do to us as well as our secrets and how they can destroy us if we do not let them go. Mr. Kraus has given us a wonderful story full of fascinating characters that live and breathe on the pages. "The Cat That God Sent" is a highly enjoyable adventure. I look forward to more from the talented Mr. Kraus.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I love his books

    Wish you had more........Thank you †

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    Never Underestimate the Power of a Cat! Pastor Jake Wilkerson's

    Never Underestimate the Power of a Cat!

    Pastor Jake Wilkerson's faltering faith has cost him his job and his fiance. He takes a position as pastor of a small church in rural Pennsylvania, hopeful his past won't catch up with him. Greeted by a stray cat who gifts him with a dead mouse upon his arrival, Jake moves into the parsonage, adopted and accompanied by his new and very vocal feline friend. A wounded paw necessitates a visit to a veterinarian who insists the cat needs a name in order for her to treat his wound. The cat is dubbed Petey. Jake is also visited by a young woman who has nowhere to go, and seeks his advice, complicating his life further. On Jake's first Sunday as pastor Petey slips into the sanctuary and makes himself at home on a chair on the platform near Pastor Jake, causing the congregation to burst into laughter. As word spreads throughout the community regarding the cat who attends church, Jake's congregation begins to grow from week to week, bringing people together in a common bond.




    This very entertaining story of three unique individuals hiding from themselves and the issues that plague them are impacted by one very unique stray cat. Petey talks in various cat sounds and plays a very important role in affecting everyone who encounters him, including numerous eccentric and colorful characters in Pastor Jake's congregation. Petey is confident in his role as a godsend to those in his life, and uses his "voice" to affect those around him in some profound ways. The fact that the cat talks in human language throughout the book is both amusing and entertaining. Jim Kraus has used a lovable cat to reach the individuals in this story, aiding them in their quest for forgiveness, renewed faith and a much-needed support system. You don't need to be a "cat person" to enjoy this wonderful story, but cat lovers everywhere will thoroughly enjoy it!




    Disclaimer: I was given a copy of this book by Abingdon Press for the express purpose of my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own, and I was given no monetary compensation for this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    I am astonished by this book. I expected something much differen

    I am astonished by this book. I expected something much different—something ordinary and sweet, even saccharine—but it brought me to tears, as though I were bearing witness myself. I have never been a believer, but I am now. I was charmed by the story and was nearly unable to put it down. But the miracle at the end is what has prompted this review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    wow

    Looks like a heart warming story

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Is It is awesome

    Good 10

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    I agree with rate 3 below

    Amazing story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Ghost

    I dont have a clsn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Fallen

    Find one please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Hi

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Who doesn't like a good cat book? I love animals, and we have 14

    Who doesn't like a good cat book? I love animals, and we have 14 cats, so this book resonated with me in a very special way. This book has it all. Realistic stories from a small, country town, animals, romance, loss of faith, and even some emotionally-charged scenes. I have to say that I even cried during this book--that is saying something. This book is filled with humor, and I honestly believe there is something for everyone. It is clean and uplifting.

    The most important thing I learned is that God can and will use anyone. This includes people and animals. After all, is God can use a donkey, why can't he use a cat? The Christian message is cleverly woven into the story, and this is one that I would recommend to all. There are some hard issues in the book that many people will relate to.

    I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated, and all opinions are 100 percent mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    To Nightpaw

    My name is Charm. You can come as homeless but have a home at Starclan. This is found at Wishworks. I would just love to see you there.

    I know what you mean by alone. I am a homeless dog but my clan avepts all. You can even stay in the clan and go back and forth. That is what I am doing. Do whatever you think is best my friend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Joke ( funny-ish )

    WHAT IS A CAT LOVERS FAVORITE DAY?

    cat-urday

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Great read

    Very delightful book with a lot to say. Would like a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Hey

    Fan we post again?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Click this if you care

    A little jet blaclk homeless kitty needs a clan please somcat adopt me into your clan and raise me as ur own my name is nightpaw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    Blaze and Sky

    "Oh." Blaze says as he pads out. <p> Sky follows.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    To emberfur

    If u cant find ur family, i can adopt u into emeraldcaln

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Fjshx

    Shsh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3