Customer Reviews for

The Cat Who Came Back for Christmas: How a Cat Brought a Family the Gift of Love

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Cute cute

    Very cute and special story about a boy living with autism and the unbreakable bond that he has with his best friend ben. Ben is the one that breaks through the barriers that exist in children who live with autism bringing forth the feelings of love and the sound of laughter that george never displayed before ben came into his life. Ben is a remarkable cat. This book will illustrate to how important an animal can be to a family an to what measures they will go to recooperate the loss of that loved one. I know there may seem to be exaggerations in this story about the life of the boy but it is totally believable, because my family lived through the same cats and all. Great story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Awesome book

    This was a great book about a kid with adhd that is in need until a cat named Ben helps this poor child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2014

    This book was a real pleasure to read. It's not just a Christmas

    This book was a real pleasure to read. It's not just a Christmas book. It's a book about love and a friendship that changes lives.

    Julia, a single mother, tells of her daily struggles of raising an autistic son. There were many challenges as each day passes. The day a scraggly kitten enters her garden everything changes. The cat named Ben becomes her son George's best friend. The bond they have is inseparable. Julia never expected one cat could make such a change in her son. The day Ben turns up missing was heartbreaking for everyone. George reverts to his old behavior and blames Julia for Ben leaving. Julia will do anything to find Ben to make her son happy again.

    This is not the usual type of book that I read. It was recommended by a friend and given to me as a gift. I am really glad I took the time to read it. It is a beautifully written and emotional story.

    Thank you Julia Romp for sharing your story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    So...................CUTE!!!

    It sounds like a really good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    The book sounds SO cute!!!!!!!

    I have not read it but it sounds amazing and SOOOOOOOOOO cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Lovely story

    A wonderful journey. My heart raced and I held my breath in anticipation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Heartwarming...

    Heartwarming...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    3

    So so so so cute

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    George was a handful at first, crying for hours on end, never sl

    George was a handful at first, crying for hours on end, never sleeping. Julia tried everything to please her son. He then grew to be withdrawn and quiet, in his own little world. George was finally diagnosed as autistic and even with a diagnosis things didn't get any easier. Until one day a small black and white stray cat appeared in their garden and George's face just lit up. He named the kitty Ben and George started to open up to his mother. He was like a different little boy. Until one day when Ben disappeared.





    This was a very heartwarming story. Animals can have a profound effect in people no matter what they may be facing. 




    As a mom with several cats in residence this is very clear to me and when one disappears it can break your heart. This happened to at our house twice this year. Back in the summer heat my cat Sherlock got outside and was missing for about a week. When he came back he was very sick and dehydrated. That was when we were receiving record high temperatures. Today he still has little wombles but he is back at my side every day. I missed him so much.








    Then about 6 weeks ago my daughter's cat Watson went out exploring. He did this a lot and was always waiting on the porch the next morning. But not this time. He has still not come home and we have posted notices, call the vets in the area and the humane society's and posted online at missing pet sites. Last week we were sent a picture on Facebook and we were sure it was our Watson. My daughter rushed to pick him up. When she arrived she knew it wasn't him but the people didn't want this cat so she bought him home. She calls him Watson 2.0. He has not taken Watson's place but he has healed her heart a bit. After reading this story I am still holding out hope the our Watson will make his way home to us. What better time than Christmas.




    Julia goes way beyond anything we did. She never gave up and answered every call and kept searching. My only question I had was how George blamed his mother totally for Ben's disappearance when the cat was in his father's care at the time. His father was not a constant figure in his life so maybe he didn't feel he could last out at him the same way as his mom. There is still so much we don't know about autism but Julia gives us an inside look. 




    Looking for a stocking stuffer for cat lover, this book would make a great gift. You might want to include a small box of tissues.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1